We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect Kyoto hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Ranked #21 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The perfect Kyoto hotel”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

For anyone nervous about visiting Japan because of the language, fear not as this hotel will make you feel so welcome and at home in luxury surroundings. The hotel itself is well placed on a beautifully quiet street for a great night's sleep but right in the centre of tourist attractions like the Imperial Palace and gardens, the Nishijin Textile Centre (both walkable) and only a 3 minute walk to a major bus route (Bus 12) to lots of the temples and gardens such as the Golden Pavilion, Daitokuji and the Nijo Castle or into the city centre to the bustling Gion area if you want to spot Geisha and authentic Japanese haute cuisine restaurants. It is so near to everything that we actually got taxis some evenings and only paid $15 NZ dollars to Gion if we felt too lazy to get a bus although the buses are really cheap and very frequent (about 2 NZ dollars per trip whatever the distance or you can get a one or two day bus pass for about 5 NZ dollars a day and you can get on and off all day long for 24 hours. You just ask in English on the bus and they even give you a bus map in English).

The hotel is beautiful with a restful atrium full of plants and a water feature surrounding a lounge that serves drinks, non-alcoholic or alcoholic and delicious, authentic French patisserie that we sampled after a day of temple and garden visiting to rest our weary feet. We ate quite a few evenings in the hotel restaurants, mainly the buffet restaurant. The set course menu is amazing value if you are hungry and includes a massive (and I mean massive) range of European and Japanese starters and amuse bouche. The standard is very high and we are incredibly fussy and picky about our food. The chefs prepare all the food that day and it is stunningly presented in glass cabinets that are chilled and on hot plates that keep food piping hot and fresh. Absolutely nothing was tired or dried out as we have experienced with other buffets in other hotels. The other courses were to a high fine dining standard. I ate a lamb rump perfectly cooked to my liking (pink in the middle and tender) wrapped in Parma ham and dressed with a lush flavoursome herb and wine jus and crispy tender vegetables. My partner had steak one night and fish the other and both were fresh, tender and just cooked maintaining their moisture and flavour, gorgeous with interesting and inventive east meets west, fusion sauces. To finish all this off you just have to try the huge selection of truffles, fancies and petit fours (especially the home made Macarons). You don't have to eat all of this if you are not as hungry and any part of the menu can be eaten a la carte.

If you want authentic Japanese food there is a separate Teppanyaki restaurant serving among many other things, the famous Wagyu beef which is something you have to try (even though it is pricey) as it is an exceptional experience for anyone who likes meat. There is also a Chinese restaurant serving fun and tasty dishes to suit anyone's tastes. Breakfast is just as luxurious, with a large buffet of hot and cold dishes, including light, fluffy pancakes and syrup, crispy bacon, tiny hot salmon bites rolled in panko crumbs which I particularly enjoyed, eggs done in 4 different ways, all kinds of fruits, mousses, flavoured gels (this is not as weird as it sounds, the gels are flavoured with things like grapefruit or melon and are absolutely delicious first thing in the morning) and then of course just about every type of croissant, brioche, breads, cakes and pastry that even the fussiest child would eat. We did see a lot of children and they all were tucking in and enjoying the food. They were also well behaved, quiet and non-obtrusive, both Japanese and Western.

The rooms are cleaned to perfection and there is a good selection of teas (including Japanese Green teas if you like them), coffees and a mini bar with snacks and well known alcoholic and soft drinks. We are extremely fussy about bathrooms and there wasn't a speck of dirt or dust and the room was polished and cleaned as if we were the first people to ever use it. The sheets were always crisp, white and fresh smelling and there is a large range of white fluffy towels each day and readily stocked shelves with shower gels, shampoos and hair conditioners. We used the laundry service which is cheap and our clothes were beautifully washed and pressed. The hair drier in the room is powerful and quiet. We used the room safe (instructions in English) which is great but never felt worried about security at any time.

Overall, the facilities and services provided were exceptional but the over riding positive has to be the staff. We can honestly say we have never experienced such polite, respectful, helpful staff that speak English, work very hard to make you feel welcome by saying "good bye" and "welcome back" every time we went through the door. The staff are genuine and ask you about your day without being pushy or invasive and when asked a question are so gracious and polite finding just the information you need without fuss or attitude in an efficient speedy way. An example of this was we asked the delightful concierge to help us book some tickets to the Miyako Odori (Geisha Cherry Blossom theatre show) as we speak no Japanese and in 10 minutes she had negotiated the best seats in the house at a great price and booked a tea ceremony for my partner's birthday which made it a wonderful celebration. Everyone smiled and bowed (which is a wonderful experience) and waved and you are made to feel like you are a member of the family.

Saying good bye was difficult for us as we had such a happy stay for a week and when people are so lovely it is quite a tug to leave, but we will be back for my birthday as we know the standard will be high and we commented consistently that you can actually learn to rely on this standard which waxes and wains in other places. Thank you Kyoto Brighton Hotel, you deserve the praise.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank popsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    331
    66
    20
    10
See reviews for
325
285
44
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

After booking online at last minute, we chose this hotel for its location, ratings and value for room. I can honestly say I have never received and witnessed better overall service. Everyone whom we approached was extremely welcoming! The room was impeccable and very comfortable with very nice decor. The breakfast buffet was excellent with a nice variety of food choices. Honestly left with tears in my eyes. Lobby is open and beautiful as well! Strongly recommend it!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annis03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for five nights and really enjoyed my stay. My room was super comfortable, with big windows, a good sitting area and bathroom with 'rainforest' shower. My room was booked for me, so I'm not sure whether this was a standard or upgrade room, but either way it was so much more space than most hotels in Japan. I could see snow-covered hills from my room also. The staff service was great also, for example on the day I arrived it was late and I was tired and hungry, and the staff suggested a really cheap but good ramen restaurant, popular with students, that I'd never have found myself. I had both the Japanese and Western breakfasts at the Brighton. I preferred the food and service of the Japanese breakfast, but it wouldn't suit everyone, and the Western breakfast had tons of choice also. The bar was not outrageously expensive, but there's more atmospheric places to drink in the area if you go searching.

Although the hotel is not close to Kyoto main station, it's 5-10 mins walk to a metro station and a similar distance to a bus stop that takes you to some of the temples. The hotel runs a free shuttle bus to a central metro station. If you're a tourist, the sights in Kyoto are pretty spread out and so having access to the metro is useful.

Overall, I really liked the Brighton an would stay again. There's a lot of atmospheric ryokan in Kyoto, but if that doesn't suit, the Brighton is a really good choice.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank DesertVampire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed in a quadruple room with our two kids. The room had four beds out of which two were moved next to each other. More like the European experience with a "gap" between you and your spouse rather than the American experience with a big single mattress. The Brighton is one of the few hotels in Kyoto that can sleep 4 people in one room. It worked very well for us. We had enough space and the room was very comfortable.
We arrived a bit early and they would not let us in our room until check-in time which I heard was not uncommon in Japan.

The staff was very nice and helpful. The hotel is in good condition and there are a few restaurants around. Ask the concierge for a map of local restaurants. A convenience store is one block to the North. They offer free internet which works at a good speed.

Room Tip: We had a west facing room on the 4th floor. It was very quiet. Cannot say much about the other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alfred L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Overall our three day stay at the Kyoto Brighton as a couple was ok. Several reviewers have mentioned the location as being a negative and I would have to agree if you'd like to be close to the major Kyoto attractions. You have to walk a number of blocks to get anywhere, be it transportation, restaurants, shops or sights. Except for the Imperial Palace, which is only a few minutes walk on foot from the hotel.
Pros:
- Rooms relatively spacious
- Clean, including the bathroom
- Complimentary tea - as in most Japanese hotel rooms - set was a nice touch
- Quiet residential neighborhood
- Internet connection worked fine
Cons:
- Remote location
- Look and feel of the hotel are somewhat dated
- Staff we dealt with spoke very little English which is unusual for a business hotel
- Breakfast buffet was hugely overpriced, selection and food quality low
- Other food at the restaurants in the Kyoto Brighton Hotel was also very expensive and ok, but not great. It was disappointing, because wherever we went during out trip to Japan we enjoyed the food very much, including the breakfasts. Some hotels offer Western cuisine, some serve traditional Japanese foods which we also appreciate a lot. That said, the breakfast buffet which was supposedly an "International" offering of foods was definitely not very good quality. Since we did not care for canned cubes of fruit we tried the smoked fish which tasted old and rancid. Despite this, overall our stay was not terrible, but I would select a different hotel for our next visit to Kyoto.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaloAltoCALady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2014

it is a wonderful and luxury place. Staff are very kind and helpful people. Nice place with convenient transportation means for the whole city and for Kyoto too. Next visit to Japan I will try to book in the same hotel

Name: Ali
Country: Saudi Arabia

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliElGamal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in April. Excellent service throughout the hotel. Complimentary english newspaper every morning. Walking distance from Imperial Palace. Biggest rooms we stayed in on our trip through Japan. Very modern and comfortable.
Complimentary shuttle bus will take you into Kyoto centre and pick you up again every 40 min.
Taxis always on hand and it is approx. £5.00 into town centre.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarnakorTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#23 of 369 in Kyoto
1,203 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#17 of 369 in Kyoto
2,961 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 369 in Kyoto
570 reviews
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyoto Brighton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyoto Brighton Hotel

Property: Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Address: 330 Shiteicho, Nakadachiuri, Shinmachi-dori, Kamigyo-ku | (West side of Gosho), Kyoto 602-8071, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Nishijin District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kyoto Brighton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award Winning HotelLocated at heart of Kyoto with newly renovated Atrium lobby and bar. The hotel has won 4 Black Pavilion on Michelin's guide in 2012 and is located near Nijo Castle, Nishi-jin and other must see tour spots. Facilities and servicesFree shuttle bus to Karasumaoike is available. Also there are 6 restaurants/bars offering cuisines from traditional Japanese to contemporary Western with chef from International Culinary Olympics Japan team. Spacious Guest roomsRenovated in 2010, all rooms include hotel's original brand Dream Journey Bed, large size bathtub and a cotton waffle bathrobes with night shirts. Flat-screen TV is viewable from both the bed and dining area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Ebookers, Priceline, Rakuten, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kyoto Brighton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing