We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto(Kyoto)(Great Value!)
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Ibis Styles Kyoto Station(Kyoto)(Great Value!)
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Monterey Kyoto(Kyoto)(Great Value!)
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$281
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Ryokufuso(Kyoto)
US$318
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
Reviews (955)
Filter reviews
955 results
Traveller rating
503
350
69
21
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
503
350
69
21
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsimperial palaceshuttle bussubway stationlarge atriumshuttle serviceresidential arearooms are spaciousmatcha teaquad roombreakfast buffetlounge barteppanyaki restaurantbit out of the waywagyu beeflovely hotelquiet locationnice amenities
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
248 - 253 of 955 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

The food is way over priced. I cannot believe this hotel continues to get such great reviews. It's in a residential part of Kyoto. Horrible location to be at on your vacation.

When we go back to Kyoto, there is absolutely no way we would consider staying at this hotel again. It is a very inconvenient location.

Stayed: March 2014
7  Thank BBBBBRYAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We had three nights at the Brighton and it's a nice hotel, some reviews I had read mentioned that the location wasn't great. Ok it's not in the middle of the city but with the shuttle bus service it really isn't a problem, and more than makes up for this. You are also only a few mins walk from the bus stops and the metro and also the imperial palace. The rooms are well appointed, clean and modern. The only thing that let's the hotel down are the restaurants. They are expensive, and the restaurant staff paid more attention to the cutlery than to our needs. If I am paying over the odds for my breakfast or dinner I do expect a decent level of service. We were opting for the continental breakfast each morning as it was a cheaper option, having to wait half an hour for croissants and coffee to arrive was just a little extreme to me. We also had the evening Buffett two nights out of the three and it was exactly the same food both on the Wednesday and Friday. The concierge (sorry I can't remember her name only her wonderful British accent) however was excellent and couldn't have been more helpful. Overall a great little hotel just eat out if you can

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CraftyDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I was there with my husband and my twins.
Beautiful hotel, spacious rooms, really exceptional service.
Was a little pricey for a hotel outside of downtown.
Breakfast was expensive, especially the continental breakfast;and is was so poor.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ayumi_1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

first hotel we stay in Japan on this April trip and the best as well. The warm welcome from the staffs when we arrive make us feel like we just come to Kyoto to visit our old friend. Best service and facility!!!
Even it is a little far from Kyoto station, the shuttle bus from hotel to Karasumaoike Station make up it. Love, love, love it.

Room Tip: We just got a normal double bed room. It is great already. Don't need to worry about the noise, the hotel is on quiet street. Specious room, clean and good facilities.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneDong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were fortunate to have been in Japan while the cherry blossoms were in bloom, but the downside was that getting a hotel in Kyoto was extremely difficult. One of the few hotels with rooms was the Brighton, which is a little inconvenient and in a residential neighborhood (not a great shopping or eating area), and also pricy based on the location and service.
The staff at the front desk were helpful, but in several cases there was no one at the front desk or no concierge. Also, because it is removed, the tour we were taking did not stop at the hotel.
The hotel and the room were otherwise nice, clean and the staff were pleasant.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Charlie_Hotlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews