We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Ranked #61 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Washington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The Hotel location is very convenient for shopping and sight seeing , it is within walking distance to the metro and they also rent bikes so it is very convenient. We stayed there for 4 nights and had a very good time, the spa is also very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandritaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsWest, Manager at Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Sandritaru,

Thank you for your comments about your stay at our hotel.

We are glad to hear that you appreciated our location, the service from our staff and that you enjoyed the services at our Spa.

You may have noticed that we are located in a very exciting area with easy access to all means of transportation, great shopping and exciting places like Nishiki market.

Perhaps when you return to Kyoto you can try our classic Lounge Haven and relax in our leather sofas while you sip one of our famous cocktails.

We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
General Manager
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    703
    331
    96
    37
See reviews for
341
596
125
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel just one night based on recommendation of a friend.
Service is not as per Japanese standard. You do not feel you are welcome.
Rooms are so-so.
We would not stay in this hotel, if we ever visit Kyoto again....unfortunately.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nighttrain66Riyadh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsWest, Manager at Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear nighttrain66Riyadh、

Thank you for your comments about your stay at our hotel. We apologize for the fact that you were disappointed with your stay with us.

You may have noticed that we are located in a very exciting area with easy access to all means of transportation, great shopping and exciting places like Nishiki market.

Perhaps when you return to Kyoto you can try our classic Lounge Haven and relax in our leather sofas while you sip one of our famous cocktails.

We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
General Manager
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I usually stay at budget hotels that aren't particularly fancy but found this one for a budget price and was amazed at how fancy it was! The room was very big, clean, and overall very nice. The staff were friendly and I had no problems. Location was very good, within walking distance to the river, the geisha district and nice restaurants. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank halliharibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsWest, Manager at Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Halliharibo,

Thank you for your generous comments about your stay at our hotel.

We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed our location, service from our staff and found value for money.

You may have noticed that we are located in a very exciting area with easy access to all means of transportation, great shopping and exciting places like Nishiki market.

Perhaps when you return to Kyoto you can try our classic Lounge Haven and relax in our leather sofas while you sip one of our famous cocktails.

We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
General Manager
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This was my second time staying at this hotel. I remember it being a nice basic but not particularly memorable place to stay. I choose to return because it fell into my price range for last minute accommodation. I was pleasantly surprised with what I found- what ever changed in the past two years has made it one of the best hotels I’ve stayed-in in Japan.
Location- it’s in the heart of the Downtown Kyoto district. It is on the main road for shopping and eating. There are an overwhelming amount of places to eat and drink in the surrounding area. It’s a one/two block walk to the riverside. A two-minute walk to the local train station or to the bus stop, making it a greatly accessible part of the city. There are also convenience stores located nearby for water, ATM, etc.
The rooms- I stayed in a double room which was much more luxurious than I remember. The bed was covered with beautiful linen and was very comfortable to sleep in (note: a little bit firmer than standard). The room was a great size, with room to unpack. There was a little seating area, as well as a large desk. Huge TV with only one English channel- BBC world news. Bathroom- spacious by Japanese standards and very clean. Free Wi-Fi in the rooms and lobby. The only criticism I would have was that there was no in room safe.
The hotel- a sleek lobby with plenty of space to sit. The bar was cigar salon style with large comfy leather couches to enjoy the 4-7pm happy hour. There is also a souvenir shop in the lobby. I enjoyed a pancake breakfast in the restaurant and was pleased with the food. Fresh and delicious. You can rent a bike from the lobby- Y1300 for a day, which makes it a great economical way to explore Kyoto.
From my initial visit I had no intended to return, however after this recent visit I would happily stay there again and highly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Ask for an outer facing room which will have views. The inner circle have frosted glass windows that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JennFlo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsWest, Manager at Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear JennFlo123,

Thank you for your generous comments concerning your stay at our hotel and for noticing the improvements in our facilities.

We are thankful that you appreciated our location and size of your room and free Wifi. If you should decide to return to Kyoto may we suggest that you explore Teramachi dori with it’s great shops and restaurants and it will lead you directly to the Imperial Palace which is only a short walk away.

You may also want to try our Kotoran spa and enjoy one of it’s relaxing treatments.

Again we thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we hope to get to serve you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
General Manager
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This hotel is in the best location in town, close to transport, close to many restaurants, shops and close to the river. We booked a twin room, it was spotless, larger than the double rooms and the quietest place we have stayed in Japan. The staff were really helpful too.
At night, it was lovely to walk down the side streets near this hotel as there are temples, restaurants and the area has a fantastic feel about it. It is a little more expensive than some of the hotels but for the price it was good value for a Japanese hotel.

Room Tip: Book twin rooms they are larger and usually at the end of the corridor, although that can mean a lon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wattamillsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsWest, Manager at Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Wattamillsy,

Thank you for your generous comments concerning your stay at our hotel.

We are thankful that you appreciated our location, size of your room and neighborhood. If you should decide to return to Kyoto may we suggest that you explore Teramachi dori with it’s great shops and restaurants and it will lead you directly to the Imperial Palace which is only a short walk away. You may also want to try our Kotoran spa and enjoy one of it’s relaxing treatments.

Again we thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we hope to get to serve you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
General Manager
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel and a great location. The rooms were small, of course, but still nice and fresh. The location is great, being close to the city centre and Gion and more. The hotel bar feels like walking into an old movie with its fancy atmosphere and serious looking and proper bartenders.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank johannesw318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsWest, Manager at Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Johannes,

Thank you for your generous comments concerning your stay at our hotel. We are thankful that you appreciated our location and comfort of your room.

If you should decide to return to Kyoto may we suggest that you explore Teramachi dori with it’s great shops and restaurants and it will lead you directly to the Imperial Palace which is only a short walk away. You may also want to try our Kotoran spa and enjoy one of it’s relaxing treatments.

Again we thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we hope to get to serve you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
General Manager
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here during the Gion Festival and Parade. The hotel is located on the parade route and within a 20-30 min walk to the events leading up to the parade. And that is where the good review ends.

This hotel is rated 4-stars so I expected above-average facilities as well as good service. What little we used of services was A+. The facility was a 2-star at best. And yes, I put aside my western expectations and still, at least our room was barely pushing 2 stars... especially based upon pictures and previous reviews. Our room was a decent size, the beds were fine. The bathroom was where it all fell apart. It was tiny which was fine. But it never shook the odor of mold and urine. There were little mold spots on the tile in the shower area although I don't think that was causing the smell. The shower curtain on the tub didn't appear dirty but it was the only thing I could think of that could generate a smell. The western automatic toilet appeared clean but again, where was the urine smell coming from? I even went down the block to a Family Mart and bought some cleaning supplies and that still didn't do the trick. Strange.

Our room was on the damp side in general but that is hard to avoid in hot, humid weather without an elaborate HVAC system.

Based upon pictures both on the hotel's website and by other reviewers, there appear to be renovated or at least updated rooms there. We didn't score one (we had room 953). But, in all fairness, the hotel was not our destination, it was simply a place to sleep while in Kyoto for the festival and to see the sights.

Knowing what I know now, I would suggest booking a room at a local ryokan to enjoy the whole Kyoto experience.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank cgiessler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsWest, Manager at Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear cgiessler,

Thank you for your comments about your stay at our hotel.

We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and neighborhood. We apologize for the fact that you seem to have gotten a room with a less than perfect bathroom. I wish that we would have been made aware of this, for we could have found you something better. We do apologize for the inconvenience you endured.

You may have noticed that we are located in a very exciting area with easy access to all means of transportation, great shopping and exciting places like Nishiki market. Perhaps when you return to Kyoto you can try our classic Lounge Haven and relax in our leather sofas while you sip one of our famous cocktails.

We thank you again for your comments and hope to get the chance to serve you again in the future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
General Manager
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#33 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
City Center
Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Hotel Monterey Kyoto
#36 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo
Shimogyo-ku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa

Property: Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Address: Sanjyo Agaru Kawaramachi, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8005, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center , Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#30 Family Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Rakuten, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Hotelopia, ACCOR, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyoto Royal Hotel And Spa
Kyoto Royal Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing