We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto
Ranked #20 of 374 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Kyoto is lovely!
We spent 2 days, touring and staying at this hotel as part of the Trafalgar group.
My impression here: an old style establishment, large room, old but comfortable furniture.
The breakfast can be tumultuous and we had to wait to be seated because the lounge was full.
Good internet, good location, staff more than helpful.
Not my style, but still a good hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank brazilian2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikkoprincesskyoto, 支配人 at Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you so much for reviewing us.
Whilst we appreciate your kind comments following our staff and the room, we feel sorry that we have made you wait for the breakfast. I have passed on your comment to our team and it allows us to improve our service.
Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,073)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 159 of 1,073 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

I highly recommend the Nikko Princess Kyoto. It was excellent in all ways: service, cleanliness, price and size. I still cannot get over how cheap it was give what I got.

Service: I arrived before check in and not only did they hold my bags (honestly, every hotel does this), but when I came back to the hotel in the evening the bags were already taken up to my room. I don't even get that level or service at the W. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful.

Location: Most of the tourist spots are on the other side of the Kamo River and in the northeast part of the city. All are easily accessible from the hotel via bus.

The Kamo River is lined with restaurants and bars -- about a ten minute walk.

If you're coming from/to Osaka, several of the local trains stop within 3 blocks of the Nikko.

The main train station where you catch the Shinkansen is approximately 2 km south of the hotel. If you don't have luggage it's an easy walk, otherwise, it's a cheap taxi ride.

While the hotel doesn't have laundry machines, there is a coin laundry about 5 minutes east (towards river) on Takatsuji Dori (the street the hotel faces). On the map the hotel gives out they only list a laundromat on Takatsuji Dori. The coin laundry is several blocks past it. It's cheap and the machines automatically dispense detergent -- no need to buy it.

I will definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank von_levi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
princess_kyoto, 支配人 at Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for your detailed and complimentary feedback following your recent stay with us at Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto.
Our aim is to ensure we only deliver the best service to our guests so it was pleased that we met your expectations.

We are absolutely delighted to read that we will see you again and look forward to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed in a three person room which was really great size with all the things you could ask from a great hotel. Free fast WIFI, great Japanese bathroom, minibar (fridge big enough to put your own drinks in) safe and very gracious staff. The staff's english was enough to get what you wanted and everybody from the hotel manager to the bellboy were going out of their way to help you, also it was a great feeling to always be welcomed back by staff. Location is also good, most attractions are walkable and otherwise only a small taxi ride away. There are enough restaurants in the neighborhood to have dinner in the evening, so we never used the restaurant in the hotel.
This hotel is a great choice when in Kyoto!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Leo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikkoprincesskyoto, 支配人 at Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review following your recent stay at Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto.

I was really happy to hear that you liked the facilities and service we provided you with, and the location.
We do strive consistently to deliver the higher level of guest service and I sincerely hope that we will get the chance to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Three of us stayed here for five nights in May this year. We were impressed by the courtesy and helpfulness of the staff and the welcome we received each time we returned from our trips out.

The concierge was particularly helpful as were the restaurant staff who made a point of asking about allergies and remembered throughout our stay that one of our party has a nut allergy.

The rooms are a good size and very comfortable and the bathroom has a huge shower space as well as a bath.

The ground floor retaurant has really good western food; we didn't try the Chinese and Japanese restaurants upstairs but there are many good restaurants nearby.

The style is 'fin de siecle' which was a nice change from the ultra-modern hotels we stayed in elsewhere in Japan. The location is quiet but close to good shopping.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely use it again if we return to Kyoto.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikkoprincesskyoto, 支配人 at Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you very much for your complementary review.

Our team who are trying their hardest to deliver better service were really happy when they read your great comments on their service.
It was pleasing to hear that you liked the room, location and our food. I was delighted we met your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay.

We all were very happy to read that you will come and visit us again soon and look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile


I had a room on the executive floor (not my usual category) so I don't have a clue about the regular rooms. However, if you want a stylish and spacious (to Japanese standards: huge) room with a view and every comfort: recommended. Nikko is a classic Grand Hotel with excellent service and gracious staff. Of course, all the extras come with an assorted price tag, so you might want to skip breakfast and head to the Starbucks around the corner.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank ClemRobyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikkoprincesskyoto, 支配人 at Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you very much for staying with us at Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto.

I was so glad to hear that you liked the spacious room and enjoyed your stay with us. Our aim is to ensure we try our hardest to make all of our guests feel at home and meet their expectations.

Thank you for your kind feedback and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stay there for six days.

Location of hotel is good. Close to MTR station. Quiet environment but only minutes away from the lively shopping district.

I love the bath room because it has a large shower space.

Buffet breakfast does not have too many choices but quality of food is good. But I don't quite understand why they only provides omelette. Fried egg is not available.

The hotel produces a map which is very useful for tourist. It even shows where to board buses to major sightseeing spots.

The pity thing about this hotel is the lack of English TV channel. Only CNN and the rest are Japanese channels.

Also be aware that they don't have a gym.

Overall I still rank it as an extremely nice hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dusty747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikkoprincesskyoto, 支配人 at Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us at Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto.

I was happy that you found staying in the local area convenient, and that you enjoyed the quiet environment surrounding our hotel. It was also great to hear that you liked the bathroom.

Thank you for your comments about the breakfast and TV channels which we truly appreciate to improve our service and facilities. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important for us.
We are sincerely looking forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Although the hotel seem outdated when entering into the reception area, the rooms are very clean and spacious. Shower area is huge, they have a large bathtub and a spacious area for a japanese style shower (plastic chair and bucket to shower while sitting).
Buffet breakfast has a large selection of pastries, eggs, juices etc....
Location of hotel is about 10-15 minutes by taxi to the main train station and about the same to the nice area of Gion. Wifi available in the rooms. A 7-eleven store is right by the corner of the hotel with ATM machines inside.

Room Tip: there isn't much to see from the room windows on either sides of the hotel, but better choose ro...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 159Holiday159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikkoprincesskyoto, 支配人 at Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you so much for your very kind words following your recent stay with us at Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto.

I was delighted to hear that you liked our Japanese style bathroom with a large bathtub that pleases many of our guests. I was also happy that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet.
As you said above, we are in 10-15 min drive away from Kyoto station and Gion area, with a good transport links for bus and subway.

We appreciate your feedback and sincerely hope you will come back and stay with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#17 of 374 in Kyoto
3,039 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#24 of 374 in Kyoto
1,243 reviews
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#21 of 374 in Kyoto
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#13 of 374 in Kyoto
2,405 reviews
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto

Address: 630 Takahashicho Karasuma Takatsuji Higashi-iru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8096, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#8 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#12 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: £116 - £1,471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel nikko princess kyoto is located in the heart of Kyoto City, close to major subways, private trains and major banks. The city's business and shopping centers are just around the corner, and major sightseeing areas are only a short distance away, including the Nishiki food market, Bukko-ji Temple and other traditional small shops and buildings. Additionally, you can find many historical aspects of Kyoto to enjoy within walking distance of the hotel. Our 216 guest rooms are very comfortable and equipped with all the modern conveniences you could expect. We proudly offer our excellent service and Kyoto's warm hospitality to all of our guests. We welcome you to stay at the hotel nikko princess kyoto and enjoy a wonderful time in Kyoto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Agoda, Odigeo, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko Princess Kyoto
Kyoto Nikko Princess Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing