We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£134
Fully refundable before Thu, 30 May
Priceline
£119
Fully refundable before Thu, 30 May
Go to your Happy Price
Skyscanner.com
£100
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Larisa M
Glendale, California

Wonderful hotel

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Aug 2019
I felt in love with this hotel. On our trip to Japan we’ve stayed at 6 different hotels and Nikko Princess in Kyoto was the best one. Exceptional service, attenenion to details this hotel had exceeded our expectations! Excellent location. Very close to metro and JR lanes also to JR buss stop. The only one regret I have... I wish we stayed there longer and spent more time in Kyoto.
Just a small recommendation to people traveling. If you face this hotel there will be a small street on right side (I don’t remember the name). Walk through this street and you will see a small family owned gift shop with all the souvenirs you need from fans to make up brushes with great prices. Check it out.
Date of stay: July 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£222
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £246
  • Agoda.com
    £192
  • Hotels.com
    £230
0.7 miles from Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£146
  • Priceline
    £130
  • Vio.com
    £118
  • travelup.com
    £146
1.0 miles from Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
£88
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £75
  • Vio.com
    £66
  • Hotels.com
    £83
0.7 miles from Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£66
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £59
  • Skyscanner.com
    £52
  • Vio.com
    £59
1.2 miles from Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£226
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £214
  • Agoda.com
    £171
  • Hotels.com
    £282
0.5 miles from Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto
Restaurant
Room service
Booking.com
£104
  • Priceline
    £116
  • Agoda.com
    £86
  • Expedia.com
    £109
1.2 miles from Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto
Free Wifi
Restaurant
【蓮花の湯】瞑想の湯(男性)
Booking.com
£90
  • Priceline
    £90
  • Agoda.com
    £84
  • Vio.com
    £87
0.8 miles from Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£59
  • Priceline
    £54
  • Vio.com
    £46
  • Expedia.com
    £67
1.1 miles from Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£40
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £33
  • Agoda.com
    £30
  • Vio.com
    £35
1.4 miles from Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£61
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £68
  • Hotels.com
    £58
  • Vio.com
    £62
4.2 miles from Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kyoto
Reviews (1,579)
Filter reviews
1,579 results
Traveller rating
863
571
109
25
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
863
571
109
25
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews daimaru department store shijo subway station buffet breakfast minute walk smoking room reception desk would highly recommend this hotel sitting area amenities japan concierge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 1,579 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2019 via mobile

We spent three days in Kyoto at the Nikko after 1 day at a Ryokan. I have been emailing the concierge desk and in particular Ms Yamada went above and beyond. They directed us to the correct place to schedule personalized tours to Fushimi Inari on our schedule. She helped to schedule a massage at a local place I reviewed and changed my hotel reservation so I could spend a night at the Nikko in Osaka.
I mentioned it was my birthday and they sent a lovely rose to my room.
The BF is fine not exceptional- the Nikko Okura has an excellent Breakfast.
The room is small but bathroom spacious with care to include everything possible you might need.
I would stay here again- walking distance from shopping and dining. Short subway from the main train station and Gion district.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Vacationer613699
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 July 2019

Our family of 3, two adults and one teenage boy stayed at the Nikko Princess for two nights.

Location is good in a safe and quiet area near a subway station. About 15 minutes walk from the Teramachi-dori shopping center.

Room was okay, enough space with a large bathroom, Everything is clean but a little old fashin starting with the room key which is a tradional key, not electronic (only one is given). The beds are not super comfy but I am starting to think this is Japanese standards. No bad smell, no humidity, very comfortable room. The room includes a safe, complementary bottles of water, complementary coffee (Nespresso). I agree with other comments on the number of electrical outlets is limited to recharge your computer and phone.

Service: Although everyone was super nice there are things to be improved. When checked-in around 4h00pm and the room should have been ready. We were asked to wait while they prepare the keys, understanding that they are physical keys, not sure what they meant by that other than getting us to wait while they were finishing preparing the room. The hotel also made us wait for the breakfast in the morning when people's time is precious on vacation having so many things to see in Kyoto in a very short time for most people.

Food: We had breakfast at the restaurant in the lobby. You have a little bit of everything for a western breakfast. You can also have Japanese breakfast which we didn't try.

Language: we found level of English to be very limited by the staff. As a result, I believe this is what caused the concierge to misinformed us on where to get the bus.

Internet was easy to setup, and just worked. Even using high demanding apps like Netflix worked.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 July 2019 via mobile

Nice size rooms for Japan and very convenient for seeing the sights of Kyoto. Staff are very friendly, welcoming and helpful. There are nearby shops and convenience stores, and taxis are readily available.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank martincS4837NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 July 2019

Hotel location is very good if you like to wander around on foot. Rooms are large, clean and well eqipped - with large enough table for work but not really enough electrical outlets to plug in the computer and phone charger.
Staff was very professional and nice.

Room tip: My room was quite high, but the view was not really great - just to the adjacent buildings.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ESV02
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 July 2019 via mobile

I'm not sure why this place got so many stars. We based our reservations on that, and while location was ok and taxis readily available from the lobby, we were disappointed. Services and amenities mediocre and the bed was super uncomfortable. Very poor sleep here.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank terrycos
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews