We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On of the best hotels-EVER!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Ranked #54 of 374 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We selected the Rihga because of its proximity to the Kyoto rail station but we got much more than we anticipated. Our room was very generous and comfortable. But the best part of the Rihga was the excellent service provided by everyone we came in contact with. The front desk could not do too much for you. They were very helpful getting our luggage stored until after we finished our afternoon tour. While their English was limited (as well as our Japanese), they tried very hard to accommodate our needs. Great service makes a huge, positive impact on travelers and this hotel has found the key.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rod & Vicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,234)
There are newer reviews for RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

250 - 256 of 1,234 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

It was very dark outside the hotel when we arrived at night time, feeling a bit creepy. But upon check in, you will see lots of tourists enjoying the free wifi in a cozy and relaxing space. Our room is clean, but a little bit old. Enjoyed the 100yen massage chair. Dinner is ok.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tboyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We arrived around noon, but our rooms weren't ready until 5:30pm.

The rooms were supposed to be non smoking (which we confirmed twice to make sure) but they stank of smoke. It hurt our noses!

Arriving home at night the hallways smelt of rotten sewage. It made us gag.

The breakfast (which we got for free because of the late checkin) was so bad we didn't eat anything. I was going to have simple poached eggs on toast but they don't do poached eggs. The orange juice was a huge fail - yuk.

Don't bother asking for anything from room service. They can't speak English.

We have been travelling around Japan for a couple of weeks and have stayed at lots of hotels. This place is a dive. Stay away.



Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Jayness33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I could only recall that the hotel was green in color, since I walked from the station. Rihga Royal was more expensive, I was hoping that they did an upgrade to the property. I liked that they had a shuttle bus service to the station. The staff was not very helpful and could not speak English when trying to forward our luggage by takkyubin. I heard the New Miyako Hotel is better and it is right across the street from the station. I will be staying there the next time.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank HonoluluMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Excelent location, although very close to the station, they offer free transportation, staff very helpful, room very comfortable and clean. We liked very much the tea house of the hotel. The tea and cake were delicious after a day exploring many temples.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank CSK73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

A great hotell in Kyoto , well placed close to the railway station, polite personnell, some great restaurants inside the hotel. On the surface it gives every impression of beeing a luxury hotell. But when you look closer, the polish cracks. The door safety lock of the room was broken, the extra pillow missed its cover, and the pillow was teared, the floor carpet was dirty, the so called air conditioning sounded like a tired stean engine, to mention a few observations. My low score of the hotell should be judged against the obvious pretentions that the management obviously try to maintain

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gustav61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed at the Rihga Royal Hotel for nine days, The staff were very hard working, welcoming and helpful and most of them were able to speak English to a reasonable level which was a relief as neither of us speak Japanese! The rooms were comfortable in the main but beds in Japan have a tendancy to be on the firm side which I did not find it conducive to a decent nights sleep the room was also a bit too hot, but it didn't spoil our stay unduly.This hotel is very central close to the railway station and many bars and eateries are within walking distance.However if you are feeling lazy there is a very good shuttle bus service to the station which runs every fifteen minutes. The breakfasts were really tasty with a variety of Japanese and English choices lots of fruit and salads available.The highlight of our stay was a meal at the top of the hotel where there is a French restaurant situated in a rotating tower which has the most wonderful views of the city at night, an experience not to be missed!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bathlivvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Southern Kyoto
New Miyako Hotel
New Miyako Hotel
#46 of 374 in Kyoto
2,135 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#17 of 374 in Kyoto
3,041 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Tokyu Hotel
Kyoto Tokyu Hotel
#49 of 374 in Kyoto
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Century Hotel
Kyoto Century Hotel
#32 of 374 in Kyoto
880 reviews
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#21 of 374 in Kyoto
897 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto

Address: 1 Taimatsu-cho, Shiokojisagaru, Higashihorikawadori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8237, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku , Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#22 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#29 Family Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: £83 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 489
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easily accessible to the Kyoto Station, only 7 minutes's walk away , RHIGA ROYAL HOTEL KYOTO is located within walking distance to World Heritages such as Toji Temple, Nishihonganji Temple and Higashihonganji Temple, and "Kyoto Aquarium" where you will have an exciting time with your family and friends and which is also popular spot for a date. You can enjoy truly relaxing time in our rooms equipped with an air cleaner with humidification function and free Wi-Fi. We are pleased to keep your luggage before your check-in as well as after your check-out, so that you can fully explore and discover Kyoto. We offer free shuttle bus service between Kyoto Station and our hotel and free parking facilities. We have Lounge & Bar and 6 restaurants where you can choose out of a variety of cuisine such as French, Japanese and Chinese. Amongst of those ,"Top of Kyoto" on the 14F which is the only one and unique French restaurant in Kyoto ,slowly turning around to command a beautiful and panoramic view of the townscape of Kyoto not only in the daytime but also in the nighttime, offers you a luxurious and delightful dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Rakuten, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rihga Royal Kyoto
Kyoto Rihga Royal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing