We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unimpressive, dated ryokan in a great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo
Ranked #63 of 407 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The positives:
Yachiyo is in a great location. You really can't beat it. 5 min from the subway, within walking/cycling distance of many of the major temples and sights in east Kyoto.
The food was also excellent. Nothing original, but fresh, tasty, and a lot of it.

The negatives:
We know ryokans are traditional guesthouses, and we knew it would be more basic that your usual hotel, but there were many things they could improve on, starting with the service, which was slow and unhelpful.

We had issues with our local mobile phone and all the staff were seemingly completely unable to assist (in contrast our next Kyoto hotel fixed it straightaway). Checking in and out took a long time and every request seemed a chore.

The hotel itself was labyrinthine, dark, worn, damp and very dusty. Very little had changed since the 1960s. We understand that ryokans are traditional, but the 1960s seems an odd period in time to stop development. All it needs is a bit of refurbishing and it would be a much better place to stay.

The wifi was a welcome modern addition, but was incredibly complex to use. Each room had a different wifi network with a new password.

Staying in a ryokan is a quintessential experience for any traveller to Japan, particularly Kyoto. Sadly, this one did not live up to our expectations, and was exorbitantly priced for what it offered. We felt like we had wasted our money here and would not recommend staying at Yachiyo.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank tristanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

212 - 218 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

We slept at Koyasan in a traditional Tatami, we thought it would be a good idea in Kyoto to stay with the traditional Tatami, Futon.
we reserved 2 rooms for 3 night with private bath.
The hotel is very nice clean, team is friendly and trying to help.
After a sleepless night on the Futons we asked the manger to leave to a normal bed.
They were very nice and helpful and agreed to allow us to leave early.
Just a quick note- the experience is an amazing one, but one night is more than enough for western like us.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mnaor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed at garden ryokan for 5nights,having just returned...it's a great place to stay the staff are all very friendly and nice...everyone there does there very best to help you,even tho not having very good English,soo things do take a while to explain!! Staff serving in the restaurant are really sweet and allways want to please,I don't eat meat but eat fish we had some long chats trying to explain this!!! As my husband does eat meat soo all got a little confusing to say the least!! There is a western breakfast menu too so if you want egg&bacon say so only if you don't say you will only get egg or bacon !!! Yes as previous reviews have said it is a little tired in places but very quaint,we had the room over looking the road at the front it can be a bit noisy,but for us we wanted our own bathroom and toilet,over all it was a very hospitable,welcoming place to stay and kyoto has some beautifull places to visit and is very chilled after tokyo, if you have a bad back this I don't think would be the place for you as it is futons or just a futon base on the floor,all very japanese,my only negative point would be the smoking...smoking is aloud in rooms and in the garden where the only chairs are it is allso aloud in the inside sitting area,soo for me the smell was a bit nasty,but then most eating places and coffee bars in japan all still allow smoking inside,but don't allow on the outside in the street !!! We enjoyed our stay...

Room Tip: Front rooms have your own bathroom and toilet,others you have to share,soo be sure to say when you b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ishamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We were in Kyoto for two nights on a last-minute trip. Since many of the popular Ryokan book out quite early, we were lucky to get a room anywhere, and we got the last room available at Kyoto Garden. Kyoto Garden has an exceptional location, near some of the most spectacular temples and the Tetsugaku-no-michi.

Our first night's room was spacious and beautiful, with a nice sitting area overlooking a garden. We switched rooms for the second night and got a smaller, and very inexpensive room in the old part of the Inn, and liked it even more. While neither spacious nor beautiful in a conventional way, it had some charm of Old Kyoto that was unexpected and hard to describe.

The buildings of the Ryokan quite old, and this lent everything a certain air that I think others have described as less than pleasant; for me it was a great compliment to the rest of our brief stay in Kyoto. If Kyoto is criticized for not protecting its architectural legacy, one can stay at Kyoto Garden, visit the nearby temples, and dine in the nearby Gion geisha district, and not feel the crush of modernity at all (but, for a totally different experience of Kyoto, everyone should spend one night at 9hours capsule hotel, where I stayed on a subsequent visit).

Room Tip: If you get the cheapest room (which is what I think we had the second night), and you can handle it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank jannone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We had a wonderful stay- this is a gem of a find in Kyoto, a beautiful old inn surrounded by trees and a lovely garden. Everyone there was extremely welcoming and hospitable and we loved our room with the sliding doors, comfortable futons and lots of green tea. The baths were amazing - very relaxing after a long day's walking and I had them to myself every time. There's also free sake to taste every evening which we made the most of! The deluxe dinner we had was exquisite and the breakfasts were impressive! Overall it was a charming find and we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandana84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We re-visited Yachiyo with our son and his family. We first visited in 1984 when we lived in Tokyo.

Although meals are now served in the restaurant rather than in your room, it still has a wonderful feeling. Don't go if you are looking for a fancy hotel room, but do go if you want the serenity and courtesy of a traditional Japanese inn.

Expensive but worth it (except possibly the restaurant- food and service were ma-ma).

Room Tip: We had rooms 15 and 16- in the old(est) section overlooking a beautiful garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Alfred V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I wish I could write a better review - I was really looking forward to a traditional Japanese experience while staying at Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo but was very, very disappointed. The ryokan has seen better days and reminded me of a Japanese version of the hotel in "The Shining". The rooms, carpets, furniture and bathrooms are very shabby - frankly for the cost I expected much higher quality. I didn't find the staff very friendly either except for one lovely man - I think he was the handyman - he gave us directions and tips while the others were very cool. I was planning on having dinner there as I had heard that the restaurant was good but decided against it due to the less than friendly attitude. The litmus test is whether I would recommend staying at this ryokan to my friends and I would have to say no.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6 which is described as a garden room but in fact overlooks a tiny corner of the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maoiliosa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keen18311831, オーナー at Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you for staying at Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo the other day.

We make your review and picture help of the improvement in the future.

It is all about the guests! "KAIZEN"continuous improvement!!

We are waiting for your next stay.

Thank you.

Best regards,

Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 407 in Kyoto
640 reviews
City Centre
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Gion Hatanaka
#32 of 407 in Kyoto
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Ryokufuso
Ryokufuso
#17 of 407 in Kyoto
291 reviews
City Centre
Nishiyama Ryokan
Nishiyama Ryokan
#22 of 407 in Kyoto
431 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Honganji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo

Address: 34 Fukuchi Machi, Sakyo-Ku, Kyoto 606-8435, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: £128 - £698 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Descriptions of rooms and facilities, The "HONKAN"main building and the "BEKKAN"annex building. Kyoto Gaden Ryokan Yachiyo/Kyoto Inn,Hotel is located near the Nanzenji Temple in the Gion-Higashiyama area of Kyoto. It is just a short walk along a lane from the famous Nanzenji Temple. With a relaxing ambience, HONKAN 6 suite rooms and 2 rooms,BEKKAN 9rooms are fitted with TATAMI (woven-straw) flooring and FUTON bedding. A flat-screen TV and Apple TV is provided. Bicycle is lent free. "HONKAN" main building,rooms and restaurant have views of the garden. JR Kyoto Station is about a 25-minute drive or taxi ride away. Nanzenji Temple, Eikando Temple and Heian Jingu Shrine can be reached within a 5-minute walk from the property. Famous Kiyomizu-dera Temple is a 15 minute taxi ride away. Arashiyama area is about 40-minute Subway Keage Sta and Randen. Fushimiinari area is about 30-minute Subway Keage Sta and Keihan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Rakuten, Hotels.com, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yachiyo Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing