We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location great hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo
Ranked #74 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location great hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at Yachiyo. It was my second time and her first. While I believe Yachiyo very much caters to foreign tourists, and perhaps is best regarded as an introduction to this kind of accommodation, it has impressed me with its warm hospitality, and in the case of my second stay, superior rooms. On our recent stay, we booked a 16-tatami mat suite on the ground floor. It was simply magical, with a special outlook upon a private section of the garden, a large private bath with its own patch of private garden, and beautiful decor. We luxuriated in our late afternoon baths, and dressing in the provided yukata (cotton kimono) for dinner in the restaurant. Unfortunately, during our stay my wife came down sick with a cold and fever. The staff couldn't have been more warm in providing her comfort and care. As a result, she was able to rejoin me in sightseeing missing only a small amount of time. We feel deeply indebted to their kindnesses.... This was my third ever visit to Kyoto. On my first visit, some 15 years ago, I stayed at a different ryokan, more centrally located, but a name I can't remember. I sincerely recommend to all foreign visitors the wonderful experience of staying at a ryokan. It is a highly enriching experience, and a wonderful window upon traditional Japanese customs and aesthetics.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    118
    42
    29
    20
See reviews for
94
177
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Springwood, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I booked a traditional room on the second floor at short notice, wanting somewhere very Japanese to relax for my last few days. It was perfect. The room was a bargain (about $45pp/pn, without meals) and the service was courteous and attentive. Our room looked out toward Heian Jingu.

As some of the other reviews noted, it is a little dated in the lounge space, but the cost and having a spacious public bath and a relaxing room was far more important to us than the dated carpet. The public spaces have some beautiful, traditional artworks and the gardens are impressive.

I had the Japanese breakfast at the restaurant and my partner the Western style, both of which were sufficient but a little expensive - just be sure to ask for a table near the garden view. Given the price of the room, I again felt that they really weren't making much on our stay and was happy to pay a little extra on breakfast.

On top of this, there was free sake to be enjoyed in the lounge, bikes (and a skateboard!) and they held our luggage after checkout.

If you need a little R&R, I feel Yachiyo is a great choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vendingmachinequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

The positives:
Yachiyo is in a great location. You really can't beat it. 5 min from the subway, within walking/cycling distance of many of the major temples and sights in east Kyoto.
The food was also excellent. Nothing original, but fresh, tasty, and a lot of it.

The negatives:
We know ryokans are traditional guesthouses, and we knew it would be more basic that your usual hotel, but there were many things they could improve on, starting with the service, which was slow and unhelpful.

We had issues with our local mobile phone and all the staff were seemingly completely unable to assist (in contrast our next Kyoto hotel fixed it straightaway). Checking in and out took a long time and every request seemed a chore.

The hotel itself was labyrinthine, dark, worn, damp and very dusty. Very little had changed since the 1960s. We understand that ryokans are traditional, but the 1960s seems an odd period in time to stop development. All it needs is a bit of refurbishing and it would be a much better place to stay.

The wifi was a welcome modern addition, but was incredibly complex to use. Each room had a different wifi network with a new password.

Staying in a ryokan is a quintessential experience for any traveller to Japan, particularly Kyoto. Sadly, this one did not live up to our expectations, and was exorbitantly priced for what it offered. We felt like we had wasted our money here and would not recommend staying at Yachiyo.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tristanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
187 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We slept at Koyasan in a traditional Tatami, we thought it would be a good idea in Kyoto to stay with the traditional Tatami, Futon.
we reserved 2 rooms for 3 night with private bath.
The hotel is very nice clean, team is friendly and trying to help.
After a sleepless night on the Futons we asked the manger to leave to a normal bed.
They were very nice and helpful and agreed to allow us to leave early.
Just a quick note- the experience is an amazing one, but one night is more than enough for western like us.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mnaor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed at garden ryokan for 5nights,having just returned...it's a great place to stay the staff are all very friendly and nice...everyone there does there very best to help you,even tho not having very good English,soo things do take a while to explain!! Staff serving in the restaurant are really sweet and allways want to please,I don't eat meat but eat fish we had some long chats trying to explain this!!! As my husband does eat meat soo all got a little confusing to say the least!! There is a western breakfast menu too so if you want egg&bacon say so only if you don't say you will only get egg or bacon !!! Yes as previous reviews have said it is a little tired in places but very quaint,we had the room over looking the road at the front it can be a bit noisy,but for us we wanted our own bathroom and toilet,over all it was a very hospitable,welcoming place to stay and kyoto has some beautifull places to visit and is very chilled after tokyo, if you have a bad back this I don't think would be the place for you as it is futons or just a futon base on the floor,all very japanese,my only negative point would be the smoking...smoking is aloud in rooms and in the garden where the only chairs are it is allso aloud in the inside sitting area,soo for me the smell was a bit nasty,but then most eating places and coffee bars in japan all still allow smoking inside,but don't allow on the outside in the street !!! We enjoyed our stay...

Room Tip: Front rooms have your own bathroom and toilet,others you have to share,soo be sure to say when you b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ishamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camptown, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We were in Kyoto for two nights on a last-minute trip. Since many of the popular Ryokan book out quite early, we were lucky to get a room anywhere, and we got the last room available at Kyoto Garden. Kyoto Garden has an exceptional location, near some of the most spectacular temples and the Tetsugaku-no-michi.

Our first night's room was spacious and beautiful, with a nice sitting area overlooking a garden. We switched rooms for the second night and got a smaller, and very inexpensive room in the old part of the Inn, and liked it even more. While neither spacious nor beautiful in a conventional way, it had some charm of Old Kyoto that was unexpected and hard to describe.

The buildings of the Ryokan quite old, and this lent everything a certain air that I think others have described as less than pleasant; for me it was a great compliment to the rest of our brief stay in Kyoto. If Kyoto is criticized for not protecting its architectural legacy, one can stay at Kyoto Garden, visit the nearby temples, and dine in the nearby Gion geisha district, and not feel the crush of modernity at all (but, for a totally different experience of Kyoto, everyone should spend one night at 9hours capsule hotel, where I stayed on a subsequent visit).

Room Tip: If you get the cheapest room (which is what I think we had the second night), and you can handle it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank jannone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We had a wonderful stay- this is a gem of a find in Kyoto, a beautiful old inn surrounded by trees and a lovely garden. Everyone there was extremely welcoming and hospitable and we loved our room with the sliding doors, comfortable futons and lots of green tea. The baths were amazing - very relaxing after a long day's walking and I had them to myself every time. There's also free sake to taste every evening which we made the most of! The deluxe dinner we had was exquisite and the breakfasts were impressive! Overall it was a charming find and we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandana84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Western Kyoto
Arashiyama Benkei
Arashiyama Benkei
#4 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gion Hatanaka
#36 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Matsubaya Inn
Matsubaya Inn
#56 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Watazen
Watazen
#43 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo

Property: Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo
Address: 34 Fukuchi Machi, Sakyo-Ku, Kyoto 606-8435, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional japanese style Ryokan/Inn (Gion Higashiyama / Kita Shirakawa / Kurama / Yase / Ohara Get the best out of a RYOKAN Kyoto, once prospering as the nation's capital for over 1,200 years is the city of arts, tradition and history. Kyoto plays a significant role in the identity of Japanese people. Experience this authentic part of Japan in a Ryokan. Why do Japanese people feel most comfortable on Tatami floors? Why do Japanese people from outside Kyoto praise Japanese food in Kyoto? Why is it difficult for Japanese people on vacation to decide whether to stay in a hotel or a Ryokan when they come to Kyoto? Kyoto is the city where Japanese people can reassure their ethnicity and remember the most important things about being Japanese. In a Ryokan, get more out of the basic necessities in life; food, shelter and clothing. An experience different from the common hotel. A Ryokan is an accommodation facility original to the owners taste, influenced by Japanese culture, style and feel. A service that can't be found anywhere else in the world; only here in Japan. Don't miss the opportunity to experience a deeper Japan. How to take a ONSEN style japanese bath room,large bath room. You are only to go inside the bath tub after you washed your body. First, you are to rinse your body with hot water. Washing beforehand helps to keep the water in bath tub clean. The rinsing and washing of your body with hot water also acclimatizes you to the temperature of the bath tub, which can be very hot. It is not advisable to jump into the water like diving in to a swimming pool. Please use discretion. Please do not put the hand towel into the bath tub water. Most people place the towel on their head. And remember do not use any soap or shampoo or other skin cleansers in bath tub either. Open 6:30AM to 10:00AM , 15:00PM to 23:00PM. Dining & WASHOKU japanese cuisine at Kyoto Garden Ryokan,Auberge, Yachiyo/Kyoto Inn,Hotel/Restaurant Restaurant photosThe Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo began as a WASHOKU restaurant and is still respected as an exclusive restaurant serving the traditional Kyoto style of dining. Our restaurant, called Kyoto Garden Restaurant YACHIYO(Dining & Garden Yachiyo) is right next to our ryokan, and serves Japanese culinary art. -Yachiyo`s cuisine is known as "Kyo-kaiseki"and drawson the rich traditions of Kyoto style multiple-course dining. Kyo-kaiseki represents one of the pinnacles in Japanese cuisine, a highly stylized manifestation of the principles of in-season produce and enjoyment of seasonal variation. Ryokan Yachiyo/Auberge/ Inn is a famous (RYOTEI) WASHOKU restaurant in Kyoto.KAISEKI and WAGYU Beef can be chosen through standard course, deluxe course, and luxury course and SUSHI,TEMPRA,SUKIYAKI,SHABUSHABU ,A vegetarian dinner courses . From JR Kyoto Station to Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo By taxi It is about a 25 minute ride (Approx.1800 JPN) by Taxi from the JR Kyoto (email hidden)ease tell the taxi driver to take you toUkyo-ku, Nanzenji Ryokan Yachiyo. By train (Subway Line) It is about 40 minutes by train.From the Kyoto station, take the Kyoto KARASUMA subway line traveling to KOKUSAI (website hidden) the Karasuma Oike Stn, change the train to the Tozai Subway Line traveling to Rokujizo. Get off at Keage Station.If you walk straight, along the Niomon Dori Street for 5 minutes, you will see the Yachiyo Ryokan on the right side. The entrance of the Ryokan is on the approach lane (Sando) that leads to Nanzenji Temple. By bus From JR Kyoto Station, it is about 50 minutes by bus.From the bus terminal A-1 at the JR Kyoto Station Karasuma Exit, take the bus No.5 And get off at the bus stop called Hosshoji-cho. Walk east, then take a right turn. If you walk 5 more minutes, you will find the entrance of the approach lane leading to Nanzenji Temple.Ryokan Yachiyo is just on the right side of the lane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yachiyo Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing