We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location & affordable” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kyoto Guest House Lantern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kyoto Guest House Lantern
Ranked #167 of 259 Speciality lodging in Kyoto
Asia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good location & affordable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

Room is facing the door and next to the street so a little noise to be expected (as well as from the dining room crowd above). Tatami room size is big, usual by Jap standards for its pricing.. The guesthouse experience may be a tad too biosterous/rowdy... a first for me, while overall experience is not bad but would choose somewhere with more privacy in future. For the location and room size, it's quite value for money (if don't mind sharing toliet facilities).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank zeiAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    12
    3
    2
    7
See reviews for
2
3
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

I stayed there because I could not get on an overnight train to tokyo. The hostel is around 15 minutes walk from the Kyoto station. Do print a map out from Google Map because it is not easy to find it.
Even though I reached the hostel after 11pm(the designated check-in timing), the owner was very kind and helped me with the check-in.
I stayed in a mixed dorm with futon. It is not that bad but it really depends on your roommates because when I was there, my roommates were awake at around 1am.
I recommend this place if you are going to catch a shinkansen early in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bncc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

Stayed here for 8 nights with family at the family suite room. It is a Japanese style room, pretty spacious and enough for 4-5 people.

Arrived at Kyoto station and took a cab there (5 min drive). The place is not exactly well-known so I suggest to print out a map and showed it to the driver.

Check-in was smooth, the owner is friendly and helpful. Was taken to our room and found it to be rather lovely. The kitchen is right in front of our room so it is convenient BUT noisy! Fortunately, our noise tolerance is pretty high. If noise bothers you, I suggest to get rooms at the 2nd or 4th floor.

With shared shower room and toilets, it can be pretty hectic at 'peak' hours. Note that there are only TWO shower rooms serving approx. 20+ people, so yeah..

Luckily there are more toilets!

There are coin-operated washing and drying machines on the 4th floor. And there is this quiet ramen place downstairs. The ramen was pretty nice!

Overall, we love this place. Feels like living in a huge house with friends and relatives. There was sense of togetherness as we share things with others. Friendly young travelers and occasionally family stay there.

Recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HYY_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

We spent 8 days in tokyo and we stay in Lantern for 4 nights. It's really good. Clean and warm guest house and owner can speak fluent Mandarin!! Excellent haha. And location is close to Kyoto station. Highly Recommend~

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FU WING L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ra'anana, HaMerkaz, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

We definetely recomment this place! We stayed at a BEAUTIFUL and spacious japanese style twin room. The guesthouse itself is really spacious and very well kept. There are comfortable air conditioned Common areas like fully equipped kitchen, dinning room, living room with big screen tv, laundry room and several nice bathrooms).
Whatever you need... staff is great.
The place is well located and you are really getting your price's worth. Must say that we saw a few other hostels which offer much less for a higher price...
Anyway, really recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalieoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

Two Aussies travelling through Japan. Can recommend Lantern.
Clean ryokan setting, friendly vibe, not too crowded.
Close to the main attractions and the station.
Nice bathrooms and tea room.
Wishing everyone happy travels,
Max

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank maxgvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Tomato Guest House
Tomato Guest House
#146 of 259 in Kyoto
3.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Gion
Kyot Guesthouse Lantern Gion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Khaosan Kyoto Theater
Khaosan Kyoto Theater
#21 of 259 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Nishijin District
Hostel Mundo
Hostel Mundo
#78 of 259 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Southern Kyoto
J-Hoppers Kyoto Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyoto Guest House Lantern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyoto Guest House Lantern

Property: Kyoto Guest House Lantern
Address: 152 Nishiyaoya-cho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8269, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 259 Speciality lodging in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Kyoto Guest House Lantern 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Rakuten and HostelWorld so you can book your Kyoto Guest House Lantern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing