We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Delightful and relaxing visit”
4.5 of 5 bubbles
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Very good
24 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013
2
people found this review helpful
5 of 5 bubbles Value 4 of 5 bubbles Rooms
4 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
dewan84
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cockroach infested”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
3
people found this review helpful

During our travels in Japan, we had a 4 day stop in Kyoto and though the cottage would be a welcome change from the hotels we had stayed at.
At first, it seemed like the perfect cottage, small and cosy. However upon returning to the cottage on the first evening, we were greeted with 2 large cockroaches scurrying across the kitchen (keep in mind, we had no food in the cottage). This made us feel uncomfortable but we still tried to ignore them and fall asleep. The next day, we unfortunately had the same experience and there was another cockroach in the kitchen. We were not happy, paying the rates charged by windows to japan for a cockroach infested cottage, was not what we had expected at £80/night.

I was keen to move to a hotel but we still wanted to give the hosts a chance, so we emailed them and asked them to advise how to proceed, given that on the first 2 nights we had come back to cockroaches in the cottage. We also included photos of the cockroaches, as proof.

To our surprise, the hosts completely ignored our email and did not respond at all, not within 24 hours or for the remainder of our stay. On the 3rd night, unsurprisingly, we experienced the same problem, but this time the cockroach was on the bedroom wall.

To put this in perspective, in my 3 weeks travelling around Japan, I saw 8 cockroaches in total,6 of which were in this apartment, and the other 2 were on the streets when roaming Tokyo. It is unfortunate to have to leave a negative message of this kind, but it was bad enough having to sleep in a cockroach infested cottage, but then to be completely ignored by the hosts, was beyond disappointing.

I would recommend any hotel over this cottage, even the 3* accomodations we were using during our stay in Japan were of a far higher standard than this cottage, without a single cockroach or insect in sight.

In general, I was highly impressed at the levels of cleanliness in Japan, so it was upsetting to have such a bad experience in Kyoto.

Stay here at your own risk or if you dont mind sharing your room with cockroaches.

1 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property 3 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
1 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 1 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
1 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 1 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The first afternoon we arrived, before we were aware of the cockroach problem
Liked least: The huge Japanese cockroaches which we found each evening in the cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2012
We are really surprised and feel bad of receiving this comment. Our aim is to give people who come to Japan a truly unique experience in staying in beautify and well preserved town houses, Shirakawa cottage is not exception and one of my favorite as for its cozy feeling and garden.It rarely happen-this July is the first time in the few years we running Machiya rental!!! and we will do our best that it will not happen at all
We really apologize for the guests unpleasant experience this is the our last wish- and we are willing to compensate them right away! One thing to make clear! We have never received ANY mail from the guests. Because we are also a travel agent we keep 24/7 online and response to guests almost immediately – If we had received this we would be there immediately.
If you check comments of our other houses you will see that many mentioned our swift replies.

As for the cockroach issue – We give carful attention and put lots of effort in keeping our places spotless clean.We do periodically cockroach and bags treatment in each house to eliminate this.
These guests case was an unfortunate circumstances as if we have got their mail we would take care of it right away and it will be over (I assume they saw the same 2 cockroaches for 3 days and it is not that the house is full of them running around).
We received this feedback one month after the stay, we re do ALL our houses bags and cockroaches treatment and will do that in higher frequency specially in the warm months to avoid these unfortunate incident again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary T
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Infested with cockroaches.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
3
people found this review helpful

What began as an otherwise pleasant stay at the cottage ended upon discovering this property filled with cockroaches. The 'cottage' was ideally located for our stay during Gion Matsuri (local festival) within minutes of central Kyoto. Our first day was good, as we enjoyed the pseudo Ryokan motif of the cottage before making our way into town. After a day of sightseeing we returned to the cottage late in the evening. Upon opening the door we were greeted by a 1/2 dozen cockroaches scurrying away from the sink & kitchen into the walls. I managed to smash one of the pests on the kitchen sink (as seen in pictures), before we uneasily settled into the bedroom. While I wish I could say it was a one off, the 2nd and 3rd nights brought more of the same... with the added bonus of cockroaches in the bedroom. Unacceptable.

On the 2nd night we emailed Wendy (property owner/manager) explaining the situation. She never had the courtesy to respond, despite even a subsequent email. She will likely disparage this review based on her prior behaviour, but the truth is simply that this place is crawling with pests. The complete lack of customer service is a stark contrast to the rest of Japan, but this is also no surprise given Wendy is not Japanese nor is her husband (who took our deposit). I can say in good conscious that I saw 1 other cockroach during our time in Japan (3 weeks) and it was on a street in Tokyo. I would not consider this property nor any of the others they offer through their company (www.windowstojapan.com) despite being recommended in Lonely Planet. Please see my pictures or contact me to verify the validity of my experience.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 3 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
1 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Cockroaches
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2012
First of all, we never got any mail contact from this guest regarding coachroaches. If we got, we would definately do sth with it. As we always always try our best to our best service to our clients.
I was surprised to hear about this coachroaches issues, as its the first time we hear about it.
Its very frustrating to see the guests so easily deny all the effort and good intention we have.
Its hot and humid summer here, and we cannot say that we can avoid coachroaches completely, but if we have heard from the guests, we would definately come and deal with it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
koko4747
Vancouver BC
2 reviews
“Loved It”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012

The cottage is so cute, it was absolutely perfect. After coming from Tokyo and Nagoya, it was a nice change of pace to stay in the "suburbs" the location is super convinient, Gion, Kiyomizu, and Heian Jingu are all within easy walking distances. There is a supermarket a 15 minute walk away to buy groceries so we cooked for ourselves some nights. It was really cool to stay in "traditional" style place instead of a hotel.

The directions that we were given were excellent, with street photos so we could identify landmarks for where to turn too.

Wifi was being put in the day we checked out :( but future vacationer's can look forward to it!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The feel on being a house not a hotel, the location, all the work that went into renovating it so it still has the old feel but with modern amenities.
Liked least: Nothing, we loved it.
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$102
/
Night
Week
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing