We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Don't go past this beautiful house!”
Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
Welcoming Entrance Way to Gion-Kyuraku Beautiful Garden at Gion-Kyuraku (Designed by Tomoatsu Sano, Photo by Kodai Masuda)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Living Room
Welcoming Entrance Way to Gion-Kyuraku
Beautiful Garden at Gion-Kyuraku (Designed by Tomoatsu Sano, Photo by Kodai Masuda)
Wood curved sign at entrance
Beautiful illuminated garden at Gion-Kyuraku
Front Entrance
Display area in living room - 1st floor
Living Room looking from the garden
Antique light-fixture in Living Room
Living room looking into the garden
Kitchen - 1st floor
Antique light-fixture in dining area
Dining Room - 1st floor
Antique shoe box
Looking into the garden from the living room
2nd floor hallway with handmade rail
Balcony
Main Bedroom - 2nd floor
Fusuma Design
Sitting area in main bedroom with cathedral ceiling
Sitting area in main bedroom - 2nd floor
2nd Bedroom - 2nd floor
Beautiful weaved wooden ceiling - 2nd bedroom on the 2nd floor
Bathroom facing the garden
View from bathroom at night
Handmade Shigaraki Ware Sink
Working desk in the den - 1st floor
Den - 1st floor
Den can be turned into the 3rd bedroom
Antique light-fixture at entrance hall
Balcony
Looking into the Tsuboniwa Garden from the Balcony.
Designed by Tomoatsu Sano, Garden Designer
Washer/Dryer
Eco-friendly Toilet
Exterior details on the 2nd floor
Fall foliage in Kyoto
One of the many temples in the area
Our Garden Designer was selected as one of the top 100 gardeners for the book published in 2014
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MaryandHe...
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't go past this beautiful house!”
Reviewed 16 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed six nights in this machiya and it is truly beautiful. Everything is so authentically period Japanese - tatami mat floors, gentle lighting in the alcoves to enhance the artwork, gorgeous deep bath, lovely peaceful garden - yet at the same time it has all the necessary mod cons, from a washer/dryer to high speed internet. The owners had left operating instructions that were easy to follow, and on our first morning Rieko dropped by to say hello and answer any questions we had. We were six adults but we never felt cramped - two toilets were a real bonus. The location is fantastic. Thanks Rieko and Thomas, we really loved our time in Gion.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Dec 2013
Thank you for your genuine review. We at Gion Kyuraku are delighted that your party of 6 found the machiya had enough space, and the modern conveniences like the high speed Internet made your stay comfortable. In keeping with the authenticity of Gion Kyuraku as a genuine Kyo-Machiya, the Tsuboniwa (Garden) will be renewed and redesigned. The expected date of completion is early spring 2014 just in time for the Cherry Blossom Season.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Reviewed 29 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
5
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Nov 2013
We are delighted that you had a fabulous stay at Gion Kyuraku. Thank you for noticing all of the little things that the designer and we have thought of to make our guests stay in this machiya as authentic as possible, but without compromising any conveniences.
The expense of staying at Gion Kyuraku is offset by the true experience of being able to live in a licensed Kyo-machiya for ones’ stay in Kyoto. To have our guest fully appreciated the machiya living experience most of what you find in Gion Kyuraku is original art work, not reproductions. In addition, we are determined to make one's stay better. This year, we added an Apple TV, for our guest use. We are in the process of having the tsuboniwa (the garden) redesigned to better express the true beauty of a Japanese Garden. We hope to have this project finished by the end of 2014 for our guest to appreciate.
Thank you once again for your wonderful recommendation.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Awesome-S...
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful machiya”
Reviewed 24 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

This place is a centrally located to many places of interest. It is located along a back alley and maybe challenging to locate in the dark. Love the home. It is beautiful and very well maintained. Highly recommended for those who like to avoid commercial hotel and enjoy the Japanese culture.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Nov 2013
Thank you for an interesting review. We at Gion Kyuraku are delighted that you “Loved the Home [Machiya]”, and enjoyed the Japanese culture. Just to clarify a few points for our future guests; Gion Kyuraku is located on a side street that is well lit by Japanese standards. Being in an unfamiliar neighborhood, let alone a country can be daunting. For this reason, we provide a map of Gion Kyuraku in English and Japanese, with photos that act as marker to locate the Machiya. We also provide a google map with the marker of the location of Gion-Kyuraku. Furthermore, when designing the doorway and entranceway we included the extra lighting which is activated by motion sensors to provide additional lighting at night. We hope that you will come back and visit us again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Reviewed 14 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013
4
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Nov 2013
Thank you for a delightful review, and taking care of Gion Kyuraku during your stay. We believe that all of the little touches are part of a true machiya experience in Kyoto. Our guests appreciate the balance of a properly restore machiya to its true beauty, and the modern convenience that are tastefully implemented like the high-speed Internet, the washer/dryer that are hidden away, and the recently added Apple TV. We are delight that your entire family had a wonderful time. You are most welcome!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MiokLee
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This exquisite machiya made our stay in Kyoto!”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Just back from our family vacation in Kyoto and we are so glad we found this beautiful machiya. My husband and I stayed here with our two young children and my parents-in-law and everyone was exceptionally pleased. I wanted them to have the experience of living the "old" style Japanese way (something you will not find at hotels) while still having the modern conveniences and this place did not disappoint. The place was immaculate, beautifully appointed, exceptionally clean and really in the heart of where you want to be in Kyoto - within walking distance to major sights and restaurants. A small grocery just down the street was a major plus. Rieko and Thomas were very hospitable and wonderful to deal with.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Impeccable, beautiful machiya that retains its charm
Liked least: I would not change a thing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2013
Thank you for a lovely review. We are so happy that your family, along with your in-laws were able to experience true Kyoto living at Gion Kyuraku. As mentioned, a Kyo-machiya stay is nothing like a hotel stay. We agree that Gion Kyuraku is “immaculate” and “exceptionally clean” because it has to be, for the reason that natural material are used throughout this authentic Kyo-machiya. However, no modern conveniences were forgotten, everything from the fully equipped modern kitchen, environmentally friendly toilets, to high speed fiber optic Internet connection. Once again thank you for a great review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Reviewed 15 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Aug 2013
Thank you for an honest and pleasing review of Gion Kyuraku. It is very much a Japanese trait to understate almost all elements that are being present to guests: especially, in a historical city like Kyoto, where the residence hold to time honored traditions. We did not want to overstate, promote, or exaggerate what our guest will experience at Gion Kyuraku. Instead it was a concise decision to build up the guest list, repeat customer base form the ground up, and let our guests experience the true beauty of what Gion Kyuraku and Kyoto have to offer.

We do have to apologize that we have not listed everything that is available in the machiya, only for the reason that the list would be too long. Also, many of the art pieces are changed seasonally, and we are constantly upgrading items for future guest.

To let you in on a family secret about Rieko’s concierges’ skills, she got lots of training, watching, listening, and doing chores around a traditional Ryokan that her parents and brother run; which just happens to be in the Michelin Guide. She believes it is all of the little things that truly, really, and honestly makes her guest stay at Gion Kyuraku that much more special.

It is our wish and hope that we will get many repeat guests. Again, thank you for a fantastic review, and we will definitely keep a spot open for you on your return visit to Kyoto and Gion Kyuraku.

Thomas and Rieko
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Houston
Reviewed 7 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Jul 2013
Thank you for a delightful review of Gion Kyuraku. The Master Carpenters that restored this century old Kyo-Machiya tirelessly selected the wood, and painstakingly planed the replacement timbers to match the original finishes; this has created an authentic Machiya feel which “inspires relaxation”. Also, I would recommend the small garden (tuboniwa) at Gion Kyuraku to experience a little Japanese greenery in the heart of Kyoto. However, we have included many modern conveniences to make our guest stay more comfortable including a modern washer/dryer, high speed Internet just to mention a few. Lastly, Gion Kyuraku is situation in the heart of the Gion District which makes seeing authentic maiko’s possible, along with a modern supermarket/grocery store only a minute away.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$330
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing