We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In front of Central Train Station”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
Ranked #50 of 373 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“In front of Central Train Station”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I really appreciate japanese hotels high standard of cleaness. Staff welcoming and helpful, very professional. Super location in front of the station. Breakfast was not included. Business room with pc and free wifi. recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cosmopolitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    328
    119
    18
    9
See reviews for
104
265
111
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Great location, very close to JR station. Like literally across the street. Wifi works everywhere, staff was nice. Good value.

Windowless room sucked a bit, but I knew it was going to be windowless before booking.. Never again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikvaroto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto is the best hotel we stayed at during my July 2014 trip. Located right across the north exit/entrance of Kyoto station and the Kyoto bus terminal, it is the best option for JR Pass holders traveling on the bullet train who want to stay near major transportation hubs.
We were only there for one night but immediately noticed how decent the staff's English was and how clean and spacious our room was compared to the other hotels we stayed at in Hiroshima and Osaka. We had two luggages on the floor but still had enough space for an extra twin bed if we had a third person with us. Like most Japanese hotels, free green tea, coffee, slippers, toothbrushes, combs, etc. were provided in the room. The A/C was very powerful and cooled the warm room quickly. WIFI is provided free of charge and was not difficult to access as English instructions were provided. The only downer about the hotel is the lack of view; the hotel is located right next to another building so expect to see the side of a building outside your window.
The hotel lobby also has several binders/guides/brochures in English of popular places to visit in Kyoto and how to get there. Additionally, it did not have that business-hotel vibe that I had at the other two hotels I stayed at prior to arriving in Kyoto. Many of the guests were foreigners instead of salarymen/women, which made me feel less like an outsider.
There is a restaurant on the first floor, but the hotel is located near so many shopping centers, restaurants, and convenience stores that it seems impossible not to find food.
I would stay at this hotel again the next time I visit Kyoto.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mlutao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights with my husband. The location is superb, on the opposite side of the main railway station. The hotel restaurant is a bit expensive, better try one of the many restaurants in the underground Porta passage just outside of the hotel. Post office and an ATM good for foreign cards are next to the hotel too. The rooms are spotless. The staff is very nice. In the lobby, you can find folders for guests with 4 different sightseeing plans and separate sheets with details of key sights in Kyoto, along with explanation how to get there. Nice! This was the most expensive hotel I have stayed in so far, but I was very pleased.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Just across Kyoto station, it's a pretty good location. A lot of good restaurants around the hotel. Rooms are small, very clean tough. The most positive aspect is the staff: they are very helpful and kind.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beatriz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed here for 3 days during our stay in Kyoto.
The location here is so great!
It's right in front of the Kyoto station, we could easily access the public transportation in this hotel.
We stayed in the small double room, the room is a little bit small but acceptable.
The staff are all nice and we do enjoy our stay here.

Room Tip: 4F has the coin laundry and the vending machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerYu J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Griffith, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This hotel is in an ideal location. The rooms are tiny and clean. The free lady gifts are a nice touch, as was the origami crane courtesy of the cleaner. The "window" was a little odd.

The laundry facilities are a little limited.

Staff were always courteous and spoke excellent English.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penultim8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Tower Hotel
Kyoto Tower Hotel
#66 of 373 in Kyoto
549 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto
Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto
#78 of 373 in Kyoto
514 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Almont Hotel Kyoto
Almont Hotel Kyoto
#22 of 373 in Kyoto
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae
Southern Kyoto
Ibis Styles Kyoto Station
Shimogyo-ku
APA Villa Hotel Kyoto Ekimae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto

Property: Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
Address: 579-16 Higashi Shiokojicho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Kyoto
#28 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hokke Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing