We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kyoto Central Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kyoto Central Inn
Ranked #138 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Shah Alam, Selangor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

For value stay good location. * * * * *
Convenient to travel to other parts of kyoto by subway and bus. * * * * *
Shopping Nishiki market and departmental stores nearby. * * * * *
Helpful receptionist (especially one, Hashimoto-san) * * * * *
Rooms maybe small but clean. * * *

Room Tip: Stayed on the 6th floor, cant make comparisons with other rooms. But we got what we wanted. For two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leechewyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    69
    50
    15
    1
See reviews for
20
30
46
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Dated rooms but spotlessly clean and comfortable enough for a stay in Kyoto. Fantastic location right near Takashimaya department store and right on the main shopping street of Shijo-Kawaramachi. Very friendly and helpful staff make this hotel a great place to stay as a cheaper option in Kyoto but in the best location. Recommended

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaschmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
94 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

Hotel is right above Hankyu Railway lines with direct trains to Osaka or Arashiyama and had Loads of bus stops near it. It s also directly opposite Takashimaya and loads of other shops and covered walking streets near it. For people who like Starbucks, its on the GF of the hotel.

Taking a taxi from Kyoto station would be the most convenient way to get to the hotell and the cost was ¥1040.

Room itself is simple but good enough for a night or 2. Service at the reception was prompt and good. They gave us 1 room at 12pm to check in when asked which was nice. Only complain is the check in time is only at 3pm. Way too late.

But having said that i Would stay here again if I am back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a higher floor to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyrix_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights in april 2013. Before we had read the average reviews, so we didn't expert that much. Friendly receptionists during check in, got a room on the 8th floor. Hotel is older, so was the room. Furnish dated, we had 2 beds, mattress a bit worn, small lcd tv, furniture also older. Bathroom is like in most Japanse hotels a cabin, not that big but very clean. But the room was very clean, and the maid did her job very good: room was cleaned on a daily basis and very good.

A nice Starbucks is at the entrance of the hotel.

Many bus stops near the hotel from which you can visit many attractions/temples around the big city. We bought al day pass for the bus almost every day.

Overall a good choice if you (like us) don't spend much time at the hotel but want a good location to explore Kyoto.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SpongeRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

The hotel is well located in the heart of kyoto, just next to the main streets and the river. The room was a bit small, but thats very typical of Japan. facilities were neat and clean. One could availa breakfast at a neraby cafe ( paid), and that was good. Overall, recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Artistique_main
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2006

The foyer was always smoky fume smell and staff was friendly but not go out of their way to service, GOOD location as after shopping return back to room to put our belongings and continue again. Room size is just right, although tiny size bathroom by western standards, can't complain, BAD do complain about the stain carpets in the cooridoors with terrible old odours and the room had carpet stains too. GOOD bed was made with fresh towels and supplies each morning. We stayed in Tokyo Washington Hotel which the same price about $500 AUD for 3 nights, however GOOD the carpets were clean and modern decor and even had a massage chair and ironing pants machine in the room and large flat screen tv and most staff can speak clear conversational english. So clearly the price paid at Kyoto Central Inn was too expensive for the condition of its room and furnitures.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank princesssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batavia, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2006

We recently stayed at the Kyoto Central Inn. The location was great with plenty of shopping, restaurants, etc. nearby. The price was right for budget conscious travelers. The staff was very professional, helpful, friendly, and spoke English well enough so that we could communicate with them. Our room was small, but clean. We also had a small refrigerator and hot water for tea was provided in the lobby--plus plenty of green tea bags were available. Our bedding and towels were changed everyday and the sheets were pressed and looked very clean. However, the carpeting in our room looked dirty. It was a bright yellow in color with dark spots around the walls and a dingy look in the center. Some of the other rooms had a darker colored carpeting which looked much better. We could hear the noise from the street, but it wasn't terrible. You can reach a nearby coffee shop directly from the hotel, however the coffee shop was so filled with smokers that it made the hallway leading to the coffee shop very smoke filled. This same hallway led to the elevators, so you really couldn't avoid the smoke.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DianeIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kyoto hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Super Hotel Kyoto Shijokawaramachi
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Hotel Grand Bach Kyoto Select
Pontocho
Hotel Ponto
Hotel Ponto
#182 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Hotel Vista Premio Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Court Hotel Shijo
Court Hotel Shijo
#163 of 366 in Kyoto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Gion
Sasarindou
Sasarindou
#124 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyoto Central Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyoto Central Inn

Property: Kyoto Central Inn
Address: Shijo Teramachi Higashi Iru Otabicho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8002, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shinkyogoku Shopping District , Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kyoto Central Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kyoto Central Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyoto Central Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing