We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, Service and so much more” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kyoto Hotel Okura

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Ranked #21 of 363 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Ridgefield, CT
Level Contributor
748 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 421 helpful votes
“Location, Service and so much more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for several nights as we traveled through Japan. It is a large hotel with a terrific staff.It is easy to find because it is right across from the city hall so you always have a large landmark! There is assistance everywhere you look; from the front desk, to those who get an elevator for you,to the great concierge for sightseeing and other recommendations to the restaurant staff. The room was clean, quiet and wonderful.The hotel is situated in a perfect spot for walking to most of the main attractions, restaurants and shopping areas. The city of Kyoto is safe, friendly and filled with possibilities. Starbucks was right down the road,and the river walk was right next to it. Restaurants abound along the river and the walk is quite nice. Breakfast was in a large restaurant on the top floor of the hotel. It offered views of the city and the white buddha. Breakfast was a buffet with anything and everything available. Western style eggs, bacon, pancakes, cereals, fruit, yogurt and Japanese style salads, rice etc. I would recommend lining up for the restaurant a bit before they open at 7AM because it fills up quickly and if you come @ 8, you may need to wait a bit.. The rooms were a nice size. The hotel doesn't have king beds but two doubles for couples who asked for a king. The bathroom was also satisfactory and had a full compliment of sundries e.g. toothbrush and tooth paste combs, make up pads, Q.tips, shampoo, mouthwash etc. The lobby was quite large and one day when we were there they had an orchestra performing! There are shops up the stairs from the lobby and an internet center. Wifi was available in the rooms. Our Chamber maid left us a folded paper crane each day which was really special. Another really great thing was that sub level of the hotel was the metro station and also a mall area and an area with a bakery, restaurant, specialty shops and hairdresser. The hotel had a snack- lite meal restaurant right off the lobby and one evening we ate upstairs for a Teppenyaki dinner prepared at a grill in front of us! While there may be fancier hotels in Kyoto; I doubt they can come close to the convenience and hospitality we experienced at Hotel Okura!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank larkenRidgefield_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    599
    407
    91
    26
    10
See reviews for
333
363
101
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We spent four days at Hotel Okura with our two daughters in late May. The hotel is very welcoming. Staff very polite and helpful. We have connecting rooms, very large and comfortable, nice view too. The location is great, we walked a lot and use taxi to travel to more distant areas. Taxi is easily available and very convenient indeed. As we have four travelling together, it is not as expensive as one expect, save a lot of time and hassle to find the way. We love Kyoto, great place to walk around, beautiful scenery and excellant food.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
115 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

My husband, myself and our 3 college kids stayed here for 2 nights while in kyoto. We are on a 6 week vacation of Asia and stopped in kyoto for peter Macintosh geisha tour and dinner. The hotel was clean and the staff was helpful, although their English was not great, they understood most of what we said. The bell service attendant we had was much better that front staff. We had our luggage sent ahead to hiroshima for us and they were very efficient and helpful for filling out the forms. We took bullet train to hiroshima and did not want to carry our luggage. We shipped ahead for 10.00 usd per suitcase. Great service in japan. The only bad meal we had in our two weeks in japan was at the japanese restaurant in the hotel. The breakfast was delicious but anything else was not good food. The hotel has a wonderful location and if you go to the very bottom floor there is a wonderful bakery/ bread shop. The hotel is also hooked to train system. We also did a lot of shopping and were able to ship packages back home to USA from hotel. One of the downfalls is they still use very large bulky key chains with huge keys in them, wake up and use nice slim key cards like every other high end hotel in the world.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mutton1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

The location is great here. You can get pretty much anywhere central by walking, and the little streets very near the hotel, are great to explore. I stayed for five nights, and it was simply great. My room, on the 10th floor had a great view of Kyoto skyline. The room is good size, and very clean, and good looking. Equipped with anything one would need.
The service is excellent. Attentive, professional. The concierge service is very helpful, and friendly. They have mailing service on site, so it was super convenient sending packages overseas. (Well, and easier to shop)
I did not get any breakfast there, thought it was pricey for what I need for breakfast. But there is coffee in the room.

The best place I stayed in Japan. I loved it here. Very recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank liat-geographic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
129 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Kyoto Okura is a grand old hotel located centrally, next to the City Hall of Kyoto and within walking distance to Gion. It's one block away from the River and many restaurants, bars and shops are around. We stayed 4 nights in a corner twin room in the 7th floor with a nice side view to the river and the mountains and the front to the Main Street.

Hotel basement level 2 is directly connected to the subway and the underground shopping complex Zest. Check-In was efficient and fast. Concierge service was excellent providing information to the guests. The room was 53 SQ meters and bathroom was spacious.
Only min point was not having a single English Chanel on TV. It could have been better if there was a power point near bed to plug my mobile phone or PC. This hotel is highly recommend, my choice of stay if I return to Kyoto.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Dr_Rohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
207 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed here for a few nights whilst in Kyoto. There is a welcome lounge and shuttle service from Kyoto station which was very convenient although it took us a bit of time to find. You have to walk out of the station and along a little bit. The staff in the hotel were excellent, very friendly and welcoming. The location is great, near to some great restaurants and walking distance to some of the temples and shops. The hotel rooms and lobby are a little outdated, but overall it was a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sismith17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

It was at the end of our spectacular journey and we spent here the last 4 nights in Japan.
And probably this is why - after all those out of the ordinary places, I found the hotel a bit short of a character.
The lounge looks ok but the rest of it is somehow common.

We get a room viewing the river and it was quiet, big and pleasant; maybe because of the carpet it was always a bit dusty.
Good amenities, didn't try the minibar but you had to pay for the instant coffee left on the table.

As already said, nice location within walking distance to Teramachi shopping arcade, Gion and the river- with all those restaurants.
The hotel is also connected with the subway station (direct connection to Kyoto train station) and with an handy underground shopping mall; plus, exit hotel and on the right hand you will find taxi and a bus station that s make it easy for visiting about anything in Kyoto.

Didn't try the breakfast, there were so many option around!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jilo_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#13 of 363 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,795 reviews
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#11 of 363 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,200 reviews
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#5 of 363 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyoto Hotel Okura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyoto Hotel Okura

Property: Kyoto Hotel Okura
Address: Kawara-machi Oike, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8558 , Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center , Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#4 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kyoto Hotel Okura 4.5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seventeen-story Hotel with impressive lobby of European architecture reminiscent of the 1920s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Odigeo, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Kyoto Hotel Okura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Kyoto
Kyoto Okura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing