We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A thousand reasons”

Sanjusangendo Temple
Book In Advance
More Info
US$91.97*
and up
Private Highlights of Kyoto Tour
Ranked #5 of 1,082 things to do in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Originally named Rengeoin Temple, this site has taken on the name of the great hall within which houses 1001 life-sized, wooden statues of Kannon, the goddess of mercy.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A thousand reasons”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

The bodhisattva is compassionate and dedicated to our survival and spiritual well being. I hope you sense it while you are there. Go slow..... there are a thousand things to observe besides the statues.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hoffster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,822 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,790
    808
    197
    20
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Statues”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

The rows of statues in this temple is truly something extra. The surrounding area is nice and peaceful.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank froderik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saitama, Japan
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“No photo no life”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Visited this temple for the first time since 1983, i.e. after nearly 30 years absence. I didn't know they didn't allow photographing or video recording of the Amitābha statues inside the building. 'Tis such a pity.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank xapaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A little awe inspiring”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

There's something about 1000 golden wooden statues, with dozens of arms on each, lined up, almost like a frozen army. It's a shame you can't take photographs in the hall itself, because it is difficult to describe properly why this place is so unique and interesting. This was in our top couple of Kyoto sights.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank 4leaf1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“always on the agenda”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

everytime I visit Kyoto, I come back to this special temple

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ralph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sanjusangendo Temple also viewed

 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Sanjusangendo Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing