We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional ryokan experience but quite expensive”
Review of Motonago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motonago
Ranked #13 of 373 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Traditional ryokan experience but quite expensive”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

This isn't a bad place to stay, but there wasn't really anything about the experience I found noteworthy enough to justify the price. The location is certainly good. The garden downstairs was quite nice. The food was good, not amazing. The atmosphere was fairly plain and authentic. It felt like like staying in a place fifty or a hundred year ago. Which may not really be what you're looking for. The service was good but not especially friendly compared to some other places we stayed in Japan. Not unfriendly, but just not especially warm. Maybe it was because we came here after a pretty amazing experience at a more modern, luxurious ryokan, but we were disappointed. I think we would have felt different if it were inexpensive.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jade R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    62
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
81
180
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ise, Japan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The attention and the service were great. The western breakfast was delicious and served in a particular way where you could cook your own egg in a traditional Japanese pot. The location is perfect, it is in the middle of a zone full of temples, restaurants and little stores.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danav8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This ryokan is perfectly located for exploring Kyoto: near many temples and Gion as well as close to bus roar to take you to the rest of the city. The ryokan itsrlf is calm, clean and the staff super friendly and helpful. We had Japanese breakfast and dinner, both delicious. And don't be put off by the public bath: the staff will book one of the two bathrooms for your desired time, so no issues with privacy. Overall we had a lovely time and wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: Genuine Japanese experience in great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank podvodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

If you are travelling in Japan you must stay in at least one Ryokan. We stayed in two during our trip and this was by far the best.
The service is exceptional - there is always someone greeting you at the door and grabbing your shoes for you or waving you off in the morning. They are also very helpful with directions.
I also recommend trying their traditional Japanese dinner and the breakfast at least once - the food was amazing.
It was very cold when we were there but the room is cosy and the beds are exceptionally warm. We didn't have our own private bathroom but the baths are lovely and beautifully relaxing after a cold day and its nice because you can book them out in advance for your private enjoyment.
The Ryokan is very well located - about a 15 min walk to down town but it is located right in the Gion district which is well worth a wander around this historical area.
We felt exceptionally well looked after in this Ryokan!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maysiem78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed 2 nights in March 2014. The reception we received during our stay was better than any other place we've visited. Someone is aways there when you arrive take your shoes and give you slippers. They are also there to give your shoes back and pass and umbrella if needed for the day. They bring green tea to your room in the afternoon and also in the evening. There is a late check in of 4pm but they mind your bag and give you a detailed map of what is worth seeing in the area. It is tucked away in a quiet area with plenty to see and do. It is in close proximity to a real tourist area surrounded by temples and shrines. I cannot speak highly enough of the food, we had dinner and breakfast here and it was our most memorable meals whilst in the country. Plenty of local knowledge and someone always willing to assist you. Whilst in Japan we stayed at other Ryokans in other areas but none compared to this one!! Definitely worth booking.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarzanfail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Tucked away is this delightful ryokan. You feel more like an honoured guest in someone's house than an hotel guest. The rooms are comfortable and the whole place is spotlessly clean. The public baths, which you can reserve for your private use are well equipped and very relaxing. If you have any dietary requirements be sure to let them know in advance. The set menu is only flexible with prior notification. The food is delicious and abundant. You can choose a western style breakfast or a Japanese breakfast, depending on how adventurous you are feeling. The staff are helpful and extremely courteous and keen to help if need assistance making reservations or recommendations of places to visit. If you haven't stayed in a ryokan before be sure to read the guide in your room explaining how things work. If you are looking for an authentic Japanese ryokan experience while staying in Kyoto this is definitely a great place to stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in Feb 2014. We were made to feel at home at the point of checking in although the check in time was abit late, but because it was so strategically located, we managed to stroll around the surrounding areas (Gion). When we finally tucked into our room, we were served tea snacks. The room itself was rather small with an attached washroom. The host was very gracious and attentive to our needs. We looked forward dinner every evening. As for breakfast, there was an option given for western or japanese breakfast. We had the traditional japanese breakfast which was pretty standard. Nonetheless, the hospitality was overwhelming throughout our stay till we checked out. I will certainly return on our future visit to Kyoto.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anhydrous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 373 in Kyoto
581 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Hokkaikan Ohanabo
Hokkaikan Ohanabo
#9 of 373 in Kyoto
232 reviews
Western Kyoto
Arashiyama Benkei
Arashiyama Benkei
#5 of 373 in Kyoto
315 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motonago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motonago

Property: Motonago
Address: 511 Washio-cho, Higashiyama-ku | Nene no Michi, Kyoto 605-0072, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Motonago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motonago hospitality With Kyoto flavor a homy feeling. Motonago nestles in a quiet, nostalgic scene, completely apart from the hustle and bustle of the city. Once you step outside, you can sense the overflowing taste of Kyoto - Japan's old capital. All the charm of Kyoto is gathered here, where Motonago stands. On entering through a door with a tiled roof while seeing a tasteful earthen wall made using traditional techniques, Motonago welcomes you with a warm hospitality that only a humble inn like ours, with its 11 rooms, can offer. Guests can relax while enjoying dinner and breakfast in their rooms, and our staff wear traditional kimonos as they serve the meals. Kyoto style cuisine made with special seasonal ingredients succeeds in bringing the Kyoto taste, with our chefs' sophisticated skills and selected menu, to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Ikyu Corporation, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Motonago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motonago Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing