We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Watazen
Nearby Hotels
US$488
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$428
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto(Kyoto)(Great Value!)
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$255
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$312
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$281
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Kanra Kyoto(Kyoto)
US$392
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$334
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (303)
Filter reviews
303 results
Traveller rating
172
99
25
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
99
25
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnishiki marketryokan experiencepublic bathjapanese breakfasttatami matsjapanese style roomkaiseki dinnershabu shabutraditional kyotohired bikesbasement levelshared bathtraditional innown bathroomquiet streetfree breakfastspeak english
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 303 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Upon arrival we entered a prize draw game and won some free bits which was a lovely welcome touch! Shown to our room, loads of advice from the staff on things to do, places to eat, and friendly service. We chose a traditional room and it was our first stay in a Ryokan and it was exactly what we were hoping for. We had dinner one night in our room which was good, we ate better food out, for the price but the experience was very special and the service and there were lots of little plates to try. Our room was big, comfortable and very good for the price we paid. Would stay here again definitely.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 2nd floor at the end, it was one big tatami room.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank virginia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watazen, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Watazen, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you so much for your comment.

We are happy you liked here in Watazen.

And we are waiting for you to visit us again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Our one-night stay at Watazen was very relaxing and comfortable and was a great way to have some quiet time and a traditional Japanese accommodtion experience in the middle of our hectic nine-day holiday to Japan. The service was outstanding, room and facilities very comfortable and meals delicious.

The location of Watazen was the first thing that impressed us on arrival - it is in central Kyoto and just near Nishiki Market, a vibrant arcade of fresh produce and wares. We dropped our bags off early and spent the afternoon exploring.

We returned to Watazen at the 4.30 pm check in time as we didn't want to miss a minute of our first ever stay in a ryokan. We were not disappointed! After a welcoming green tea in our rooms we headed off to the basement for an onsen bath as we were tired from all our shopping. After donning the yukata robes, we set about relaxing until dinner was served to us in our room.

The traditional Japanese dinner was spectacular in taste, appearance and variety and was exceptional in terms of quality and quantity. Breakfast the next morning in the dining room was also delicious and I would thoroughly recommend selecting the meal option at Watazen.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kylea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watazen, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Watazen, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you so much for you comment.

We are happy that you enjoyed stay in Watazen and Kyoto.

Hope to see you again.

Thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This was my first stay at a Ryokan and it was exactly what I was hoping for and expecting. The location was in a quiet part of town that you could walk around in and enjoy the culture. The service from the front desk and the servers for the meals was top notch. If you reserve here, add the dinner and breakfast plan to your stay. It is definitely well worth it. I highly recommend this Ryokan, if you would like to experience a traditional Japanese Inn. It was really one of the highlights of my week in Japan.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watazen, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Watazen, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for staying at Watazen and your comment.
We are extremely happy to hear that you were satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay. :)
We hope you had fantastic travel in kyoto.

It was so nice to meet you guys.
we are loooking forward to seeing you again.
Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed in 1 big tatami room with 5 people. The room get quite smaller when have the futon prepared. We had sukiyaki prepared for us. It was so goodd~. The public bath was the basic japanese onsen in door bath. Was crowned sometimes. The staffs were very nice and speak quite good english. There is a temple nearby and you can walk to sanjo/shijo-dori where all the shopping places are .

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Earnie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watazen, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Watazen, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your staying at Watazen.
Did you enjoy Japanese food?
There are many interesting places in Kyoto.

We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Location
It's about a 15 mins taxi ride from Kyoto station, well "hidden" in some small streets. Within walking distance from Nishiki market.
It's a 4 storey building with traditional japanese rooms.

Rooms
We took the 8+4 Tatami Mats guest room with private bath. It's big and spacious with a small balcony with a small desk and 2 chairs, perfect to enjoy the winter breeze and do some reading or surfing.
Futon beds are laid out after dinner.

Service
Staff is always helpful. Despite the language barrier, they tried their best to understand and help.

Since the Ryokan is not near the main road, you could request them to call for a taxi for you at no extra charge. Alike most hotels in Japan, the check-out time is early. Upon checking with the front desk, they could help to arrange for luggage transfer + storage to Kyoto station for Y750 per luggage and that really save us the trouble of travelling to Kyoto station to store it before moving to other places.
The elderly lady owner make an effort to come to our room and wish us a pleasant stay in Kyoto!

Meals
2 meals everyday are included in our room package and we certainly enjoy and appreciate the opportunity to try a full Japanese course. Dinner is served in your room whilst breakfast is served in the dining room on the ground floor. We had Japanese traditional dinner on the first night and everything is so fresh especially the raw fish. 2nd night dinner was "Miyabi Nabe" which is Watazen Ryokan's original cuisine that is offered only during the winter season.

Breakfast is small pickled dishes with grilled fish which is really a wonderful experience trying their traditional food culture with a nice little garden as the background.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wintero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watazen, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Watazen, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for your staying at Watazen.

We are so happy to hear you that you enjoyed Watazen's dishes.
Many guests feel our location is very convenient to go to sight seeing places in Kyoto.

There are many small temples and shrines in Kyoto. And also, many interesting places.
Please try to explore "deep Kyoto" next time.

We are looking forward to seeing you soon again.
Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews