We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small room and no air condition”
Review of Kyoto Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kyoto Tower Hotel
Ranked #79 of 407 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

1st time travel Kyoto, and 1st time have bad feeling in hotel stay.The room is small and no air con . in room, can't sleep whole night. The staff is not very well in English, and i don't think they are nice when i check in, my flight has been delay for 3 hours so i checked in around 6pm, when i show my passport to check in, she asked me why i check in so late, i don't understand why i can't check in late, i have made full payment for the
room. i really don't understand is this attitude they should give me. i will not stay in this hotel, NEVER.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaUra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

171 - 177 of 576 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel based on availability and price as there wasn't much choice around Sakura season. I was a little worried what we were going to get based on some of the reviews, so when we arrived and saw our room I was very relieved! Small,yes, but no worse than other japanese hotels. The breakfast was very good, helpful staff and good links to the north/south metro line, trains and especially the busses. The free ticket up the tower was also a nice touch and worth doing. Next time we'll stay in Osaka as the prices are more reasonable and you start in kyoto at the same spot as this hotel (the train station) but this is no reflection on the hotel. Just a lesson learnt from experience ;)

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hodgsojv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Kyoto Tower Hotel has nice well equipped rooms with ok beds in them, public bath available in the next building (entrance via hotel lobby shop), and good tourist information service at the front desk. They offer smokers room and also smokers salong in common areas. Despite somewhat hard beds and some traffic-noice at night, top rating 6 i given for overall impression and considered the location, excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Kyoto Station are excellent if you wish to study this sculptural building. Rooms no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WildChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I stayed here for a couple nights during my trip to Kyoto. The hotel is in a pretty good spot, since Kyoto station is directly across the street, and there is a fair amount of shopping nearby as well. When you check in, you get a free voucher to go up to Kyoto Tower, which isn't that great, but still worth doing. The staff here was very pleasant. The rooms are pretty small, but I guess that's to be expected. I'd probably stay here again if I was stopping over in Kyoto again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Older hotel so close to the station. Not a lot happening around the station area, but very convenient if you have luggage, and limited time in Kyoto. Room was exceptionally clean, and although compact, was exceptional value at less than $AU50 a night. There was always at least 1 staff member at reception who spoke English, and even those who did not, tried so hard (their English was always better than our Japanese). Booked 2 rooms and requested that they be close together, unfortunately being a long weekend in Japan the hotel was very full and we ended up with rooms at opposite ends of the hotel which was a little inconvenient, but for the price we paid, can't complain. The free tickets to the tower was a nice bonus. Certainly not a luxury hotel, but you can't beat the price of this place!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WendyAnn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

we arrived Kyoto at 10 pm at the JR Kyoto station. The hotel is just across the street from the station, extremely convenient for a stopover as well as a abase for exploring Kyoto. The bus station is just one traffic light away.
the front desk staff were efficient and friendly, the rooms were comfortable, and the price was very reasonable. I

Room Tip: ask for nonsmoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aycl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This hotel is really convenient especially if you have lots of luggage in tow. It is situated right in front of the station and has direct access to it by crossing the road, or passing through the pedestrian subway with the entrance right outside of the hotel. Front desk speaks English well hence no problem with check-in and check-out. Nice touch on the free entrance ticket to the Kyoto Tower. A Lawson convenience store is located one block away, and Starbucks is right around the corner of the building. Rooms are small but adequate. At this rate you cannot really expect a five-star hotel accommodation. Nice and comfortable stay, amazingly quite even with all the trains and buses right outside the window.

Room Tip: pick a room facing the station... it is really nice to look at the movement at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nino Ruel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Century Hotel
Kyoto Century Hotel
#31 of 407 in Kyoto
944 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto
Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto
#84 of 407 in Kyoto
545 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Tower Hotel Annex
Kyoto Tower Hotel Annex
#114 of 407 in Kyoto
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
#58 of 407 in Kyoto
665 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Hotel Keihan Kyoto Grande
Shimogyo-ku
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyoto Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyoto Tower Hotel

Address: 721-1 Higashishiokoji-cho, Shichijoo-sagaru, Higasinotoin-dori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku , Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 407 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range: £58 - £305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kyoto Tower Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Expedia, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Kyoto Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyoto Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing