We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a no non-sense accomodation with everything near its doorsteps”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Sunroute Kyoto
Ranked #64 of 376 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2011

The very ideal thing about this hotel is it is very close to where the action happens in Kyoto. The entrance of the hotel also is the buses for Kyoto station thus very accessible. You can also view the east mountain where important Kyoto temples are. And the canal with restaurants

Check in was very easy and the staff were courteous in spite of the fact my check in time was at 1130 pm. The rooms are adequate for a good night's rest, supplemented with regular amenities you can find in a business-type of hotel in japan. in short you can have a night without having to worry about luggage. Each room has flat screen TV, internet LAN, dehumidifier, tea and coffee set. I am also delighted that this hotel is not lacking for sockets... For people who bring in a lot of gadgets like me, you need not to worry for extensions chords.The bathroom though modular is amply spaced, fit for a western standard size. They offer competitively priced buffet breakfast, ala carte sandwiches, juices and coffee.

Though my comment is i think they operate heaters too early... the hallways are too warm. And the air-conditioning is set too centralized and set too high i think. I wanted my room to be moderately cool. As a foreigner, I observe that they assign me most of the time to rooms with the ominous number 4. I think this was also the reason they were too kind enough to offer me a non-smoking floor doubles in lieu of my original reservation. They even called me for that which I find cool.

All in all the hotel is a pleasant place to dock...

Room Tip: select a room with view of the canal, the river and mountain... upper floors too. double rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NeilHTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 110 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2011

Booked this hotel through Agoda..Great service and good location. Its about a 7 minute walk from Hankai station.Bus stop to Kyoto Station at front door. Close to all the sites in Kyoto.Reception staff very professional, friendly and speak good english too.Rooms bigger than normal for Japan.Very clean.We had a room at the back of the hotel which looked on to a small canal and the historic temples on the nearby hills.There is a small coffee shop on ground floor.Lots of good restaurants nearby.A great find.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suzanne-john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

The staff in the hotel was great, I had to change my reservation due to problems with my connecting flight and they fixed it right away with Agoda, both companies rocked. The hotel is clean, room sizes are ok, great if you come from Tokyo, the linen is good and beds are comfy enough. There are plenty of power sockets and a flat tv. I missed more tv channels tho, but you could buy a tvcard. There is a bus stop in front of the hotel and there are several convinience stores in walking range. There is also a supermarket in the maind road you take when coming from the train station. If you walk a kilometer you are in the Gyon area, the classic Tokyo and in 500 meters in Shijo St. where the main shops are.

Don't expend more days than necessary , Kyoto area doesn't deserve more than 5 days unless you're a temple fanatic.

Pros.
bus stop in front of hotel, nice staff, good room size, free internet , great beds, excellent gels

Cons.
Small pillows.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noimporta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

The room was small but included all the necessary inclusions including, double bed, shower, toilet and free interent.

Location was good with only a 5 minute walk to the train station with direct access to the Shinkansen. A bus stop close by that allowed us to jump-on-jump-off and see the city.

My highlight was the monkey (iwatayama) park at Arasiyama. You have to walk up a small mountain that takes about 30 minutes. It was very hot when we went but it was a great experience when we got there. Take plenty of water if it is warm

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael_BGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We spent 3 nights here. The service was good. Staff were kind and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable (TEMPUR-PEDIC bed). It locates close to the Kamo river (鴨川) and is one bus stop or 10 mins walk from Shijo-Kawaramachi (四条河原町). The bus stop was just in front of the hotel entrance. Restaurants in hotel provide meals at reasonable price. There is also a convenient store across the street.

Room rate is comparable to rate of the Japanese style hostel (shared bathroom) we lived in before we moved to the Sunroute hotel, and we got better quality stay here. If you do not need to experience a Japanese style hostel, this is the hotel we recommend. We love it very much.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaiming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We stayed at the Sunroute for 3 nights. Although the staff didn't speak great English they tried and were very helpful. The rooms are small, we stayed in a semi-double and the bed was a bit small but comfortable. I would stay here again. The location is great.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We got a great deal and stayed here for a week. Yes, the rooms are not big, but we stayed in the smallest room (a corner twin) and even with two beds PLUS a 'sofa bed' for our son there was still enough room for all of us, luggage, and breathing.
There is a small bar fridge, kettle (great for making instant noodles from any of the convinience shops nearby) and a small but functional bathroom.
The reception staff always went out of their way to help us.
The location is excellent - within walking distance of many of Kyoto's most famous sites (or most of them if you are 'walkers' like us) and within walking distance of the main train station. If you don't want to walk, it is a short, cheap taxi ride away.

Room Tip: Ask if you can get a deal for a longer stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoBeatenPath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Hearton Hotel Kyoto
Hearton Hotel Kyoto
#63 of 376 in Kyoto
724 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Urban Hotel Kyoto
Urban Hotel Kyoto
#100 of 376 in Kyoto
342 reviews
City Center
Hotel Gimmond Kyoto
Hotel Gimmond Kyoto
#72 of 376 in Kyoto
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto Shijo Karasuma
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Hotel Grand Bach Kyoto Select
Shimogyo-ku
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunroute Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunroute Kyoto

Address: 406 Nanbacho, Matsubara-sagaru, Kawaramachi-dori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8027, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku , Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 376 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range: £47 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sunroute Kyoto 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Booking.com, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Agoda, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sunroute Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing