We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Sunroute Kyoto
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Kanra Kyoto(Kyoto)
US$391
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$332
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$484
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$424
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$241
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$248
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Gyozanen(Kyoto)
US$534
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$331
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Monterey Kyoto(Kyoto)(Great Value!)
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$324
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (353)
Filter reviews
353 results
Traveller rating
88
205
49
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
205
49
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbus stop right in frontmassage chairthe buswithin walking distancereasonable breakfastexcellent locationgion districtaffordable hotelmemory foamshort walkcosts yenmid range hoteltea bagsground floorjapanese standardsbottled waterspent nights here
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 353 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

Comfortable beds, a coin operated laundry room, reasonably priced cafe and restaurant, friendly and helpful English-speaking staff. Rooms very clean and also quiet despite being on a main road. 5 mins walk to main shopping area with convenience stores situated just outside the hotel.

Room was quite small and bathroom tiny, but overall excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clarkini30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed two nights at this hotel in our recent trip to Kyoto. The taxi fare from Kyoto station (after arriving from Osaka Kansai by the airport limousine bus) to the hotel was 800 Yen. It was a short ride of under 10 minutes.
With lower exchange rate for Japanese Yen these days, we are quite pleased with the rates of JPY 7,800 for twin and JPY 8,900 for triple which we got from Travel Rakuten.
The rooms are of reasonable sizes, clean with the usual hotel amenities such as hot water jug and bathroom items. We booked our light breakfast set at 350 Yen per person the night before at the reception counter, otherwise it would be 500 Yen. There is a more pricey breakfast buffet available on the 2nd floor for 1200 Yen I think. We had to get to Kyoto station in the morning for our day tour so just taking the 350 Yen breakfast set was fine for us. It included coffe/tea, toasted sandwich, salad and an hard-boiled egg. There are also other items available on the cafeteria menu, not too expensive.
On the third day before we left for Osaka, we found a Japanese fast food chain type of restaurant (I can’t remember the name) that is to the left direction of the hotel, if you are standing in front of the hotel facing the road, about 5 minutes walk. Reasonably priced and we love the beef rice.
In terms of location, the hotel is not right in the middle of happenings, but it is not too far from the Nishiki market, Takashimaya departmental store and the Kawaramachi-Kyoto station of the Hankyu line, all within 10 – 15 minutes leisurely walk. We paid 620 yen for the Hanyu express to Osaka with journey time of just under an hour.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LemonJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

This hotel is a great location very clean, staff could speak better English and be a little bit more helpful, there was only one staff member who spoke the English. Is a great place to go walking from though as is directly overlooking the river.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fairyfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We recently spent 4 nights here as we took in the sights of Kyoto and its surroundings. While a little bit off the main transit areas of Kyoto station and subways, the hotel was a stone's throw from the Kamogawa River which winds through most of the city. When we arrived in Kyoto from Kansai Airport, we dropped our bags at the Carry On Service in the basement of Kyoto Station before moving off to Nara. When we checked into the hotel at 5pm, our bags were all there safe and sound.

We got a really decent rate of USD120 for a corner twin room with a sleeper sofa (Rm 811) which housed 2 adults and 2 kids (10 year olds). While space was constrained, the room had a small enclave at the door where we dumped all our luggage. The twin beds were very comfy and while the husband had to sleep on the sofa, there were not many complaints coming from his side so I guess sleep quality was okay too. The toilet was tiny but as in most Japanese hotels, it had everything from bathtub to electric bidet toilet bowls and decent toiletries. The kids had good long soaks in the tub after long long hours of trekking and climbing the attractions around.

We did not have breakfast included but found the little cafe facing the main road quaint and adequate for our needs. I had the thick toast which came with a layer of yummy cheese. I did not want the egg so opted not to buy the set. There are also discounted breakfast coupons for the next day that you can buy from the front desk if you want the set. We bought most of our supplies from the convenience store next door where we stocked up on awesome yoghurts, onigiris (seaweed wrapped rice with various fillings) and bakery items. If thirsty in the middle of the night, there are vending machines on most floors with an ice machine.

The area is pretty quiet with back streets leading to the river lined with little wooden houses from another era. The kids fed the ducks and pigeons by the river in the morning while largely ignored by the larger kingfishers that scoffed at their bread bits. Nature at our backdoor is something appreciated by weary city-dwellers like us.

If you face the main street from the hotel, Kiyomizu-Gojo station on the left is a shorter walk than Kawaramachi Station on the right. However, it is not as central so check up on www.hyperdia.com for all connecting trains before you set off. From the hotel, we walked to Kiyomizudera (it's a good 30 minutes or more with kids) and the excitement of basement food halls can be found at Kawaramachi (where I went a bit mad in Takashimaya trying out all sorts of Japanese goodies).

By the 3rd day, owing to sore calves from climbing the 10,000 torii gates at Fushimi-Inari Shrine, we decided to take the bus from the bus-stop right outside the hotel to Kyoto station where we set off for other places such as Arashiyama and the Iga Ninja Village. From Kyoto station, go to the bus terminus and look for No. 2A berth where you can take most of the buses to the hotel. The bus-stop you are looking to alight for the hotel will be Kawaramachi Matsubara and it costs 220 yen per adult, 110 yen for kids.

All in all, it was a comfortable and relaxing stay here with the family.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lagoontan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews