We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Felt like home”
other travellers have booked this property
Japanese Style Mainroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Japanese Style Mainroom
Entrance House Front
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Japanese Style Mainroom
Entrance
House Front
Dining Room
Kitchen
Bed Room
Utility Room
Laundry Space
Bath Room
Toilet
Garden
Heian Jingu Shrine 3minutes walk
Philospher's walk - 10minutes walk
Ginkakuji Temple( silver pavilion) 20 minutes walk
Imperial Palace - 15minutes walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MapleDi
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Felt like home”
Reviewed 30 April 2016 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Mid way through our month of travel arpund Honshu, we stayed for 5 nights. It felt like being a local, went to different local coffee cafes for breakfast while the children (aged 14-20) slept in. Supermarket just around the corner which made shopping for,home cooking funny and fun when trying to understand what some of the packages were. The machiya was snug but vey comfortable with 2 rooms and a western dining setting and trad Japanese table in other room. Rice cooker was handy as was fully equipped kitchen. Easy to get around and close to Heian temple.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being in the 'suburbs' and in a home rather than hotel
Liked least: Nothing really.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xipotec
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Kyoto historic Machiya, The only way to visit this great city!!!!!!”
Reviewed 3 February 2016 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

When visiting Kyoto, a magical city, one should get out of the hotel scene and stay in a local neighborhood, with locals.

Accommodations: This is MUCH larger than any hotel room you could imagine. We stayed with 2 adult and 2 children, and we had so much more space than any other places we stayed in Japan. 3 large rooms, 2 that double for bedrooms, 1 large bathing area and dressing area, a separate toilet room, kitchen, and even an entrance area and small back garden area. In traditional Japanese style you sleep on the tatami mat floor on feather beds and foam pads. The entire party said that it was the best sleep we had while in Japan. My son wants to adopt this sleeping method here at home! Kitchen was well appointed for small meals , but you wouldn't really cook large meals here. Low ceilings were a bit hard on my 6 foot frame, but over all not a problem. If you have a arthritic conditional the raised rooms and need to sleep on the floor might be an issue. The bathing area is traditional also, so there is a seat, which you soap up on, then rinse off in the tub. You can do a more traditional shower if you prefer, but the tub is very deep, which again might be an issue for people with mobility problems.

Amenities: Wi-fi was available and worked well. Plenty of bedding and chairs. all utensils plates and cookware was in good condition. Umbrellas were available. In short just about everything you could need was here

Cleanliness: One word...spotless.

Location: The Machiya is located a block away from the back of Heian Shrine ( A Marvel!) and has several bars and restaurants in the area. (see other reviews) You are about 5 blocks from the Keihan line (very inexpensive) which will take you north and south to walking distance of most major tourist sites. Buses are very close by, and easy to use. And a local grocery and convenience store a short block away. Taxi from Kyoto station was about 16 USD at the time. It was nice to go back to a quieter section of town for the evening. Directly across the street is a Japanese Sword designer, definitely worth a look.

Service: I cannot say enough good things about Nobu San. He was there for our late arrival in Kyoto (8:30pm!) in the rain, waiting to help us get settled. His wonderful instructions and warm manner was a great introduction to the incredible people of Kyoto. He was always available from the time we booked till we left. His English is fantastic! Thank you Nobu San!

Value: Overall you will be hard pressed to find an authentic , spacious spot to make your home base that is better than this. I HIGHLY recommend you stay here (or at the sister property next door which our friends stayed in) Both were excellent value and an experience we will never forget!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RueA985
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place to stay in Kyoto”
Reviewed 11 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Great place to experience living in a Japanese style house with everything required. Off the main road so quiet and easy to access. Could have stayed longer to enjoy more of Kyoto and the house. Nobu san met us and was very helpful in showing us the house and tips on the places to visit and local places to eat at. Would stay here again without hesitation and highly recommend this place for an authentic experience.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janice-g...
kent, england
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A nice experience”
Reviewed 7 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Having toured Japan and stayed in western style hotel rooms it was a nice experience to stay in a machiya townhouse. The pictures on the website show it as it is. There were only two of us so there was plenty of room to move around. As there was no storage space we were able to use one of the rooms for this. We had good communication with the agent Nobu and he met us at the house after our arrival to go through the facilities there with us. There are bus stops nearby and also two supermarkets. You can buy a one day bus pass at Lawsons supermarket for 500 yen which was convenient for us.
All in all the house was a nice experience for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tarnleech...
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for Family Vacation”
Reviewed 9 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We have a lovely stay at the Nanako House, it's like a home away from home - the type of holiday we truly enjoy. A convenient location to get to Gion, Shijo, and the Imperial Palace.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A home away from home
Liked least: Perhaps the little garden could be spruced up
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 19 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: dealing with the owner, and living in a traditional style house
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rigseismi...
Jindabyne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay in a quiet area”
Reviewed 14 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed nearly 2 weeks so feel we know this place well.
Nobu San runs this service very well, with lots of info left in the house for guests. We have kids with 3 to a room out front working well with us adults in the living room- moving the small heated table each night to lay our futons out.
The house has everything you would want and a good supermarket very close by.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing