We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mexican food in Kyoto”
Review of La Jolla

La Jolla
Ranked #105 of 12,287 Restaurants in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$36
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: City Center
Description: WE RECOMMEND YOU TO CALL US OR SEND US AN E-MAIL BEFORE COMING TO THE RESTAURANT.We serve delicious california style mexican food! Only the natural and fresh ingredients. We recommend you to make a reservation.
Honolulu
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food in Kyoto”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Japanese food is great in Kyoto but after a few days you like to try something familiar like Mexican food. The reviews on Trip Advisor were good but who could of guessed that good Mexican food could be found in Kyoto. All of us were amazed with the taste and quality of their Mexican food.
Everything is cooked to order and delicious . We loved the guacamole and nachos La Jolla. Try the chicken enchiladas ,beef burritos and salsa. You'll be surprised.

La Jolla recently moved to a new location so it's best to call or take a cab. The atmosphere, food and service was outstanding. They don't have a sign or number address in front. Look for the Budweiser sign and cactus in front!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon0008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    27
    8
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We can absolutely agree with the good reviews. Who wants to eat something else than Japanese and likes mexikan food, definitely didn´t make a mistake at this restaurant!

Only the cocktail menu should be also translated in English as the food menu.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Armi79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“As Mexican as you can get!!:)”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My husband and i have been in Japan for almost a week , and as we are mexicans, we REALLy needed a break from sushi, sashimi and raw fish. We found la jolla and we had a GREAT surprise! Excellent totopos, great salsa (recommend roasted salsa) , guacamole, very tasty and good food! We really loved it! Try chicken quesadillas, enchiladas, and ask for grilled peppers. Way more mexican taste than many places in US. Friendly service and though small it is a cozy place . Totally recommended :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dianapaulina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nishinomiya, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
407 reviews
280 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Wrong address, no signage however its a packed house”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

According to management, they can't change the address with TA because if they do, they lose all the TA rankings and they start from scratch again.

Problem with this is, it's human nature to rely on the address at the top of the page. Who takes the time to read every review and confirm the restaurant location via their website? Their new address is closer to downtown proper where all the streets are those narrow one way streets. With minimal signage, it's a tough find.

You need to make a reservation or you are not going to get a seat. They turned away 5-6 parties of people because they didn't have a reservation the short time we were there.

Now the food, pretty darn good. Freshly made tortilla and salsa, Cobb salad (they got the dressing right) assorted tacos, both tortilla and flour. It was pretty good.

Why we can't say it was fantastic because they were missing the lime flavor. Maybe it has to do with the world lime shortage but for us, Mexican food needs limes. There was no limes in the margaritas, no limes in the salsa, no limes juice on tacos.

We were not disappointed with our trip to this place. Next time we are in Kyoto, we probably are coming back because the food is good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CanuckJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing Mexican, by any standards”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

**The restaurant moved and isn't where TA says it is. Not even close. The nearest subway station is Karasumaoike. Visit La Jolla's website and consult the map there before going.**

Cannot say enough great things about the restaurant and the service we received. We went to the old location and had to cab over to the new location. The owner paid for our ride!

Now to the food. We started off with margaritas. Great! I had the chicken main course and my boyfriend had the enchilada (daily special menu). All were very tasty and something we'd expect at a much higher priced restaurant.

The decor is SoCal Mexican with a distinct Japanese flare. It's authentic without being hokey.

I will be back the next time I'm in Kyoto. For sure!!

Helpful?
2 Thank boudret
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers who viewed La Jolla also viewed

Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing