We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Palace Side Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Kanra Kyoto(Kyoto)
US$391
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$332
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$484
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$424
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$241
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
Gyozanen(Kyoto)
US$533
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$252
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$324
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Monterey Kyoto(Kyoto)(Great Value!)
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (354)
Filter reviews
354 results
Traveller rating
101
174
65
12
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
174
65
12
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsimperial palacesubway stationbudget hotelenglish tv channelslaundry facilitiesshort walkbreakfast buffetthe hotel staffrooms are smalllocation is greatenglish speaking staffwestern foodbus stopstayed here for nightscentral locationsmall kitchenyen
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 354 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The hotel has am amazing location and easily accessible by subway. I stayed here for 6 nights ad had a nice experience. The staff speak reasonable English and they are extremely helpful. The rooms are good size. There is a communal kitchen and space to have your own cooked meals if you wish. You may also rent a bicycle for an hour free to get to the supermarket. Full day bike rentals are very reasonable. Self aundry sevices and dry cleaning aavailable. Awesome stay I had.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rozanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed at the Palace-Side for four nights at the end of a ten-day stay in Japan, after experiencing both a fancy hotel in Tokyo and a range of traditional Ryokans in other places. The Palace-Side was our favourite because the room was comfortable and quiet, the desk staff were amazingly helpful (and speak good English), and we could get anywhere in Kyoto quickly using subway and bus. Breakfast isn't fancy, but it's adequate to get you going. Wifi (fast and reliable) is included for free, as it should be at every hotel above the most basic. And the price is very reasonable. There's even laundry facilities, very helpful if you're on a longer trip. The pre-fabricated bathrooms are on the small side, scaled to Japanese proportions, so that could be a bit of a problem for larger nationalities. The only other downside is that there aren't many restaurants within a quick walk other than the hotel's own, Cafe Ganko (good for quick cheap "family" food if you need a break from the traditional Japanese) and McDonalds.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norbert_Halibut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I give this hotel five stars because of the price-to-location ratio. Don't get me wrong--the rooms are nice and clean and the hotel staff is helpful (though they're a bit weird about the keys--you have to give them the keys when you leave the place), but the main thing is it's sooo much cheaper than equivalent hotels in the area. I don't know how they manage to charge so little compared to other Japanese hotels. They seem to hire a lot of foreign immigrants, but that's fine by me, as they need jobs too. Great location, convenient to subway and all the major tourist destinations. No frills, but highly recommend if on a budget.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We booked a room with kitchenette for 6 days as a family during our visit in Kyoto. All was clean, efficient service, staff very pleasant. There were two computers for guests to read emails, washing machines laundry. Very convenient location, good transport links. All for very reasonable prices. We had a wonderful time here and sincerely we didn’t missed home all that much. We do recommend it especially if you are traveling as a family!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LopezSha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed here, as part of a group tour, for eight days. The rooms are very small but we managed to store most of our clothes in the three small drawers provided and closet, so we could stash our suitcases in the corner to move around more easily. So it was manageable, even after 8 days of "togetherness." Bathroom is exceptionally small (and has annoying shelf you have to cross to enter, posing a potential danger if you're not careful), but the water pressure and shower is great.
The hotel staff is very helpful and friendly (the waiters in the restaurant win especially high marks) without being super obsequious as some employees were at other Japanese hotels we visited. It was nice to have a restaurant at the hotel for breakfast (decent and generous array of food for both Westerners and Easterners, although it was same day to day, which --a challenge to eat something different after a while) and dinner after long days touring the gardens and temples. Dinner was adequate, not stellar.
There's LAN connection in room for Internet or wifi in lobby and both worked very well. The laundromat was also easy and cheap and a very nice convenience to have.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vatravelingbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews