We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to Kyoto station; slightly dated but clean. Friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Kyoto Century Hotel
Ranked #29 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Close to Kyoto station; slightly dated but clean. Friendly staff”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I picked this hotel as it was close to Kyoto station and convenient to catch the bus and subway for sight seeing. Staff were friendly but most had limited English. We were lucky to meet a lady staff member at the concierge desk who speak fluent English on our first day. She helped us with advise on public transport and restaurants. Hotel is dated but clean. Our room had an electric jug. Food wise we went to the Food hall in Isetan at Kyoto station to buy cooked or prepared sushi/sashimi as well as desserts.

Room Tip: Ensure you ask for a non-smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank homesyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
京都センチュリーホテルBL, マネージャー at Kyoto Century Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear homesyd;

Thank you for your nice review!
We're glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It is great to know that you found our bell desk staff is fluent in English, friendly and helpful. I will definitely pass your good words on to her.
At the moment, not all of our team are very good at speaking English, but we are trying as hard as possible to give our foreign customers a better service.
Also we're proud that we have Chinese, Thai, Spanish, and German speakers in the front office in order to welcome people from all over the world.

We look forward to seeing you on your next stay.

Warm regards,
Hironori Ohara
Front Desk Manager
Kyoto Century Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    371
    111
    16
    12
See reviews for
260
273
53
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The location is central right next to the train station almost close where you get off from Shinkansen . Step away from all the buses you need to get to most places to see in Kyoto . for the value of what you pay for your money is excellent. Beautiful hotel. The photo on the internet doesn't do justice. Clean ,great breakfast,amazing staffs, especially the lady at the concierge was very friendly and helpful, inside the train station there's a tourist information. Which is very helpful and friendly staffs. I will certainly return to this hotel without any hesitation. I like their pillow so much that I order it. Ms. Konoko Yamauchi arranged to the company to have it deliver to our next destination. She promised to have the pillow deliver . And ,arrived exact date she promised. Highly recommend the place to anyone. I work in a hotel and The General manager need to commend their staffs, for their amazing hospitality. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
京都センチュリーホテルBL, 宿泊課 at Kyoto Century Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your comment on trip adviser.
I was relieved to hear that pillow reached you safely. I hope that the pillow does you comfortably for a long time. We are glad to be able to help with the making of memory of your trip. In addition, please use a hotel by all means in Kyoto century when you come to Kyoto.
FRONT RECEPTION YAMAUCHI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here last month during a holiday to Japan. We booked this hotel as it was a really good price and in a really good location. The rooms in the hotel are a bit outdated and worn looking but are clean. As other reviewers have said, the room had a rice cooker but no kettle, safe or iron which would be more practical. There is also a digital clock behind the bed which is very very bright - we put tape over this so it did not keep us awake at night! I would consider staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bandaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
京都センチュリーホテルBL, マネージャー at Kyoto Century Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear banda UK;

Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your opinion upon us.

I'm afraid there might be some misunderstandings.
We don't have any rice cookers in our guest rooms. Instead we have an electronic kettle and two types of Japanese tea (complimentary) prepared in every room.
We can keep your valuables in the safety boxes in the receptions. Also our housekeeping staff will bring an iron as well as an ironing board to your room by order.

I'm very sorry about the issue of the digital clock. If you had let us know about it, we would have solved the problem. I'll take your feedback seriously and I promise you that I'll take action on it.

I hope that we would be one of your choices in Kyoto when you visit here again in the future.

Warm regards,

Hironori Ohara
Front Desk Manager
Kyoto Century Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Right next to Kyoto station this hotel is great for getting around town and doing day trips to Nara & Osaka.

The rooms are comfortable and clean.

The staff are very friendly and extremely helpful.

Would recommend this as a great place to stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank NJDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
京都センチュリーホテルBL, マネージャー at Kyoto Century Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear NJ Daniel;

Our team and I are so delighted to read your post and to know that you had a great stay overall.

Enjoying our strategic location, most of our foreign customers travel not only in Kyoto but also to the other cities by JR lines and Shinkansen bullet train.
Recently Universal Studio Japan in Osaka became even more popular because of the inauguration of "the Wizarding World of Harry Potter".
Nara and Hiroshima are basic choices because of the world heritage sites such as Todaiji-temple, and Miyajima.
We are more than happy to help our guests with touristic information outside of Kyoto, too.

Thank you again for choosing us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards,

Hironori Ohara
Front Desk Manager
Kyoto Century Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

we are 3 persons stayed for 3 nights , due to my mum health conditional it is required wheelchair , the hotel staff is willing to give helping hand , like e.g let me check in early to let my mum to have a good rest after we have night flight. and every email I sent to them , they have fast replied and told me in detail to share the information. I feel warm touch in the hotel. lastly I will like to recommend this hotel to all of u who are read my review.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgals_ys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
京都センチュリーホテルBL, マネージャー at Kyoto Century Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear travelgals-ys;

Thank you very much for your lovely review. I am so glad to know that you had such an enjoyable stay with us.

We have some wheelchairs for our guests. The number is limited, so it's highly recommended
to inform us about the use of a wheelchair beforehand like you did.
How is your mother doing now? I hope she feels much better and keeps on traveling all over the world.

I will definitely share your good words with our team, and all of us will be very happy if we can welcome you and your mother here again very soon.

Warm regards,

Hironori Ohara
Front Desk Manager
Kyoto Century Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights. As we arrived before our check-in time, they kindly put our bags into the storage area so we could go out and explore. When we returned, we were greeted so warmly by all the staff and our bag was in our room. Our room was clean and tidy and we felt the decor was fine. There was sufficient room for us to move about, and as we were only sleeping there, I can't see why everyone has an issue with the size of hotel rooms!!! We did not use the restaurant for dinner as we had friends we were meeting elsewhere, but we had the buffet breakfast and it was a sumptious array of yummy food!!!! On our check-out they once again let us use the baggage storage until we caught the train later that day. It was so handy to have the Hotel so close to the Railway Station. Every bit of service we received from the staff was imppecable and their English was very good too!!! We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting this beautiful city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
京都センチュリーホテルBL, マネージャー at Kyoto Century Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Robyn T;

Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your experience here.

It is always so delightful to receice a positive comment like yours. It cheers up our team a lot!
It is an acknowledgement of our service and effort that we make every day in order to make every stay memorable. I am also glad to know that you enjoyed your room and breakfast.

Free luggage storage service before check-in and after check-out is one of our basic services.
Most of our guests use it and enjoy the full use of our convinient location.

I believe that after two days you still have a lot more to explore in Kyoto. All of us look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Hironori Ohara
Front Desk Manager
Kyoto Century Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel is in a great location, right next to the station and bus depot. The bus is by far the easiest way to get around Kyoto so this is a real plus. We did hear the trains a little from the room, but this didn't detract from a good night's sleep.

Staff were very friendly, and while the rooms was very dated in it's décor, it had all the things you need to make a stay comfortable.

Room Tip: I'd try pick a room not overlooking the railway to ensure that the trains don't disturb you
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vaderag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
京都センチュリーホテルBL, マネージャー at Kyoto Century Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear vaderag;

We really appreciate that you stayed with us and you took time for writing this review.

Just as you indicated, the rooms on the standard floors are a little dated, but we make our best effort to maintain the cleanness and tidiness every day.
The 7th and 8th floors are redecorated as the "Comfort floor", and you might get totally different impression if you stay there.

We are looking forward to seeing you on your next stay.

Warm regards,

Hironori Ohara
Front Desk Manager
Kyoto Century Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#15 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,891 reviews
Southern Kyoto
New Miyako Hotel
New Miyako Hotel
#43 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,998 reviews
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Southern Kyoto
Ibis Styles Kyoto Station
Shimogyo-ku
Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyoto Century Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyoto Century Hotel

Property: Kyoto Century Hotel
Address: 680 Higashi Shiokoji-cho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku , Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kyoto Century Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
【Hotel Service Wi-Fi is available in all guest rooms】Kyoto century hotel is pleased to announce you all that Wi-Fi is available in all rooms and lobby.Free internet is not available in the banquet rooms , chapel and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Expedia, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Fastbooking, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Kyoto Century Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing