We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$48
View deal
Hotels.com
US$48
View deal
FindHotel
US$39
View deal
Free cancellation until 24/10/21
PricelineUS$43
Booking.comUS$53
Orbitz.comUS$48
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (605)
Filter reviews
605 results
Traveller rating
288
243
48
13
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
288
243
48
13
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nishiki market japanese spa nice hotel side street nearest subway front desk staff walking distance restaurants and bars buffet breakfast japanese hotels onsen english backstreet toiletries
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 605 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2019 via mobile

Nice hotel. Has a modern Japanese style interior, everything is crisp clean. Our room was quite small, but we managed. There is a Japanese bath house on premises, which was a nice experience. Staff speaks English and were really friendly. The hotel is situated on a quiet street but lots of small restaurants can be found within walking distance. Comfortable stay!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fronts6, マネージャー at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2019

Thank you very much for sharing reviewing your recent experience at our hotel.
We are modern and make cleanliness a priority. We understand that every detail - no matter how small - is important and essential to your time with us.
It is artificial carbonated water which surely makes your whole body relaxed.
The public bath is well supplied with various amenities such as skin toner, moisture lotion, make-up remover especially in women’s public bath.
We are happy to hear you liked our public bath.
The location is perfect, very convenient to go to most of the main sightseeing spots in Kyoto city by bus and train.
There are tons of choices of restaurant and cafe in our area, and we all are happy to recommend our favorites.
The street called Shinmachi, which our hotel is located on, absolutely makes all gests stay pleasant as it is a small and historical street.
And we really pride ourselves on providing only the best service for our guests and we are glad you were able to enjoy that.
It is great when guests provide great feedback because it helps motivate us to strive harder.
We hope to see you back one day again, and until then, from all of us here wishing you all the best and of course safe travels.

Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2019 via mobile

The hotel has a tradutional feel. As soon as you pass the curtains you can smell the lovely scent of flowers. The whole atmosphere is one of tranquility.
We stayed in one of the Deluxe Twin rooms (2 adults and 2 children). It was definitely spacious as it has a separate sofa area. As with other hotels in Japan there are no drawers or shelves to put clothes but there was enough room to organise our suitcases.
The barhroom is again traditional with a modern twist and I loved the Pola cleansing liquid and moisturising milk.
The breakfast had a wide range of eastern food and western so good for everyone.
Staff is always very helpful.
It is located in a quiet neighbourhood with many small restaurants and bars. It is close to buses and subway stations so you can easily get everywhere.
We loved our stay and will certainly recommend.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Veronica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fronts6, マネージャー at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2019

Thank you so much for having stayed at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei and taking your time to write a wonderful comment.
As you mentioned, our property is beautiful and sophisticated, both outside and inside of our hotel. Our hotel is conveniently located on a small historical street called Shinmachi and is a good mixture of modernity and tradition. We are designed as a Kyo-machiya style hotel; Machiya means a traditional wooden townhouse found throughout Japan and typified in the historical capital of Kyoto. That would make our hotel much more unique and special when compared to other hotels and make you feel right at home.
Also, our on-site restaurant IZAMA serves the best breakfast in town and is worth trying.
They have wonderful buffet, mostly Japanese, partly Western. They offer a wide selection of Japanese cuisine prepared with the absolute freshest, exceptional quality Kyoto vegetables from local farm.
The location is perfect, very convenient to go to most of the main sightseeing spots in Kyoto city by bus and train. There are tons of choices of restaurant and cafe in our area, and we all are happy to recommend our favorites. The street called Shinmachi, which our hotel is located on, absolutely makes your stay pleasant as it is a small and historical street.
Once again, we sincerely appreciate the comment you gave us. We certainly hope to welcome you back again very soon.
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2019

Top tip; make sure you understand there are three Mitsubishi garden hotels in Kyoto. So if taking a taxi make sure you give full address. This hotel is within 5 - 10 minute walk of two different metro stations Shijo and Karasumawhich made it easy for planning sightseeing. There are also some really nice very individual little restaurants in the adjacent back streets so we enjoyed experimenting with very different types of Japanese cuisine within less than 10 minutes walking distance. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There was excellent keycard security. No-one could get beyond the lobby, or. Use the lifts without a key card. Breakfasts were a splendid buffet of Japanese and European dishes. We enjoyed the spa. The lobby had comfortable sofas and there were pretty gardens and roof gardens giving the hotel a traditional feel. Luggage storage very handy. We were delighted with this choice of hotel.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Chrissie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fronts6, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2019

Thank you for having stayed with us at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei and high rating to our hotel. We hope this Kyoto trip becomes unforgettable and exceptional memory for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again on your next opportunity to visit Kyoto Japan. Again, thank you for your assessment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2019

Small-Medium hotel on a side street near Karasuma station. Looks nice on the outside and has a modern lobby and well decorated rooms (love the 'window' that looks like a sunrise ;-) )
Room was fairly small but well designed and the beds were comfy.
Close to shops and easy to travel around the city from.
Staff were a stand out, my 5 yo daughter lost her favourite hair clip, she mentioned it in passing to the receptionist . She made a real fuss over her and contacted the cleaning team and when they cleaned the room they had obviously searched it high and low and even left a note apologising that they could not find it! (we found it that day inside the hood of her coat!!) This was a really nice touch, that they didn't need to do and it really made her feel special. Thanks to the staff!

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thespoo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fronts6, 支配人 at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2019

Thank you very much for such a great review.
Our hotel is located on a quiet lane from which you can explore interesting small side streets or go quickly to the main shopping avenues and subway.
As you mentioned, our property is beautiful and sophisticated, both outside and inside of our hotel. Our hotel is conveniently located on a small historical street called Shinmachi and is a good mixture of modernity and tradition.
And also, it is great to hear that your daughter found her precious things.We are delighted to read that your experience and encounter with our staff was pleasant.
We look forward to you and your family returning over and over and it is wonderful to see the changes in everyone year after year.

Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2019 via mobile

This is a really lovely small to medium sized hotel in a convenient part of the city on a quiet street relatively (10-15 min walk) close to shops and restaurants. Lovely staff. Incredibly hospitable. Scented lobby. Great value. Room compact but ok for a couple traveling light (as with most of Japan - no huge rolling suitcases!). Anyway you won’t need to pack PJs! Lovely onsen (gender split). Cycle rental next door. A taxi ride
$16) from Kyoto station but you can walk from a closer Shijo subway station (10 min). Highly recommended.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank BallaghMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fronts6, マネージャー at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2019

Thank you so much for having stayed at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei and taking your time to write a wonderful comment. We really appreciate your complements on our staff, we hold several types competition every year for the best Omotenashi (Hospitality) improvement. In generally, Japan is fantastic country for hospitality, we assure you that we will continue to strive to provide better service. And we are glad to hear that you have enjoyed sightseeing a lot. As you know, our hotel is located at very convenient place to many sightseeing spots and easy access to public transportation such as city bus, train and subway. Nearest stations is just 6-7 minutes walking from our hotel. Thank you very much again for your time providing us your feedback which is very important to all of us. We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your future trip to Kyoto. Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews