We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good reviews = lies. Stay someplace else nearby. Couldn't be worse.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Westin Miyako Kyoto
Ranked #53 of 376 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We were staying here on SPG points.

Day 1 : arrival. Booked a king in one of the newer renovated rooms. Upon arrival, it turns out we were "upgraded" to two separate beds in one of the un-renovated rooms. The staff was confused that we were upset about this.

The delay in getting rooms switched to something slightly resembling our reservation (twin beds pushed & made up together in a room that might have been renovated in the early 90's) caused us to miss closing time for the decent in-house restaurants. Aggravating.

Day 2 : After a long day touring the conveniently located temples (despite the property and service, this place does have great *location*), we arrived back to find 1) housekeeping had separated our beds and made them separately, 2) the outdoor pool (a point that caused the decision for this hotel) drained with no explanation, and 3) a gym that you have to pay extra for (normally included, even at Starwood's Sheraton line).

To sum up, the staff did their best to make our stay awful. The property was dirty, and had bad restaurants. The location was good, but we saw many hotels nearby walking around town...

Room Tip: Here's a tip : stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank benbliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you for taking time to write on your recent stay with us on tripadvisor and also thank you for your loyalty towards Starwood hotels.
We regret that our service did not meet your expectation in the room, restaurant and fitness.
Your feedback had been reported to general manager after checking out. We sincerely apologize that this stay could not make you comfortable and relax. We will improve our service more to provide our guests with delightful comfort for their stay. Thank you for your feedback again.
Hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,514)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

723 - 729 of 2,516 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

The hotel is located at the upper right hand corner of the map. Shuttles to/from hotel can be quite full at times and need to queue up for. The facilities are a bit old and functional. Not the kind of new "5-star Westin" you may generally expect in other Westins.

Next time I will probably try something nearer to JR or shopping area.

The hotel can be reached by bus; if you take JR, it could be tricky as the location is next to a main flyover where you may need to take underground tunnels (can easily lose your way)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaterHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you for taking time to write your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor.
We value your feedback and appreciate and appreciate the thought you have put in.
We will improve our service and make an effort to welcome guests more.We hope we could welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The rooms are a little tired, stains in Carpet, simple Decor and the bathrooms were not great in terms of functionality.
Staff were very friendly and beds were comfy, breakfast was ok.
This is definitely a hotel aimed at businesses and not as luxurious as those you will find in tokyo.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kylie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thank you very much for staying with us while you were in an ancient city, Kyoto.
We trust you brought back home great memories to remember. For your comfort and good rest, all our rooms are equipped with the Heavenly Bed. We value your feedback and appreciate the thought you have put in. We shall discuss internally. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

As others have noted, this hotel is not up to Westin standards and would never stay here again. The rooms need a serious makeover starting with the dated furniture and soiled carpet. The bathrooms are a bit better with heavenly shower and nice robes, but marred by cheap shower curtain, thin towels and that awful green soap. The balcony was not too usable without furniture and had nice view ... of the HVAC system (but can't hear it over the loud street noise). Time for earplugs. I went downstairs to register my displeasure staff was unwilling to change room because hotel was allegedly at capacity. I travel overseas a great deal for work and this is probably the worst property I've seen in a year which is even worse given the high quality we found at every other hotel we visited in Japan. Embarrassing to see Westin name on the door.

Positives:

*Heavenly bath and bed
*Free water bottles restocked daily
*In room refrig
*Generally good in-room wifi
*Laundry prices are not absurd
*Shuttle every 1/2 hour to Gion and main JR train station
*Very close to subway stop
*PJs/turndown service
*Excellent concierge

Negatives:

*Cigarette smoke in hallways (not a single non-smoking floor)
*Bars unusable due to heavy smoke
*Wifi requires daily login
*Dated furniture and carpets
*Traffic noise in rooms facing street
*No bus service
*Thin towels
*No convenient coffee (e.g. starbucks) or convenience store nearby (e.g. 7/11)
*Mediocre staff attitude across-the-board (exc. Concierge)

Don't be fooled by the low rates - you get what you pay for here. Also check orbitz as you may find a lower rate than on spg website.

Practice pointer: For free shuttle to hotel from train station, exit towards Hachijo Central. When you get to curb turn right until you are in front of Harves store, then walk to center island. You will see Ibis hotel across street to left. About 5m before shuttle arrives a staffers appears with a Westin sign. Shuttle leaves every 1/2 hour on the hour from train station and at :15 and :45 from hotel.

Room Tip: Unless you pay for executive floor you are rolling the dice. Street facing rooms are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Boraxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you for taking time to write your feedback on your recent stay with us.
We regret that we did not meet your expectation. Your feedback had been reported to general manager after checking out. We sincerely apologize that this stay could not make you comfortable and relax. We will improve our service more to provide our guests with delightful comfort for their stay. Thank you for your feedback again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The hotel is near the subway station and they have a shuttle that goes to the train station and Gion area every half an hour. Rooms are very nice and staff is outstanding. They are everywhere asking if you need any assistance. Concierge also very helpful.

Room Tip: We ended up getting upgraded to a suite, so ask about availability.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pepperonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for taking time to write your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor.
We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant staying in The Westin Miyako Hotel Kyoto.
We hope that you had a memorable stay with us and appreciate your feedback again as it will assist us in further improving our service.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Chose this hotel mainly because the one I was in (Brighton) was full for the 2 extra nights I needed. Compared to other hotel where we just came from, the difference was night and day! The only room they offered me here for 3 persons had a (you could say) nice view of nearby mountain greenery and balcony (big but not inviting due to run down furniture and dirty mildewy floor, but for a huge, not worth it at all, price....!!! The bathroom is not spacious and old decor (never expected from a Westin), the carpet old and soiled, the desk, the bar, even the closet (depressing), old looking lobby, stinky with cigarette smoke, and to top it all, the worst Concierge young lady whom treated us as if all of us were dumb after kindly asking suggestions for dinner on Saturday evening! The only nice thing was the free (one way) shuttle to nearby areas and the lady bell captain!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank annis03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you very much for staying with us while you were in an ancient city, Kyoto, and taking time to write your feedback. We regret that we did not meet your expectation. Your feedback had been reported to general manager after checking out. We sincerely apologize for the attitude of concierge when you asked information for restaurant. I told them your feedback. We will improve our service and make an effort to welcome guests more. Thank you for your feedback again.
Hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Hotel is well located. A nearby metro station and the hotel's shuttle bus provide easy access to the main parts of the city. The public areas are quite attractive and modern appearing; the staff is very friendly and helpful. The on site restaurants include a choice of "western" and Japanese food. The food was ok, but the service was slow. The concierge was quite helpful arranging off site dinner reservations. The down side is the rooms: ours was small, had no view, and likely had not been refurbished in 20 years! We could also hear noise from the hallway and room next door. After the Westin Tokyo it was quite a let down.

Room Tip: Try asking for a view; we certainly didn't get it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for taking time to write your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor.
We regret that we did not meet your expectation. We sincerely apologize that this stay could not make you comfortable and relax. We will improve our service more to provide our guests with delightful comfort for their stay. Thank you for your feedback again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#11 of 376 in Kyoto
2,434 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#25 of 376 in Kyoto
1,264 reviews
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#22 of 376 in Kyoto
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#16 of 376 in Kyoto
3,066 reviews
City Center
ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Miyako Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Miyako Kyoto

Address: 1 Awadaguchi Kachocho, Higashiyama-ku | Sanjo Keage, Kyoto 605-0052, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Kyoto
#10 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#14 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#17 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#25 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: £135 - £397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Miyako Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Western-style 11-story Hotel located amid Japanese gardens, 5 miles from train station & 31 miles from Kansai Int'l Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Westin Miyako Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Miyako Kyoto Hotel Kyoto
Westin Miyako Kyoto
Westin Kyoto
Kyoto Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing