We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient retreat in Kyoto”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Westin Miyako Kyoto
Ranked #56 of 407 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Good ryokan in Kyoto is not readily accessible so we decided to try both western style and trad Japanese rooms at this hotel that did not disappoint. The metro was only two minutes by foot, easy to negotiate and cabs are plentiful and inexpensive so all touristy sites including Gion district were easy to get to. After doing the daily slog, it was nice to know that our hotel up in the nearby hillside was ready to welcome us back. Food was good with bonus views of the surroundings and lobster and hida beef teppanyaki was hard to beat (although a little extravagant). Kyoto is a must for any visitor to Japan and the Shinkansen makes day trips to Hiroshima and Takayama all too effortless.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LGRL100313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for staying with us while you were in a beautiful city, Kyoto.
We trust you brought back home great memories to remember.We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying our western and japanes style room.For your comfort and good rest, all rooms are equipped with Heavenly Bed and Heavenly Futon. Heavenly Futon is availble at the Japanese style room, this is our original Futon that created by Westin Miyako Hotel Kyoto.
We continue to make space where guests could enjoy a relaxed and satisfying experience. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,608)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

732 - 738 of 2,608 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed in 2 Deluxe rooms for 3 nights. The hotel has high quality and large sized rooms. The amenities in the rooms are of a high standard and provide everything that one might need during their stay.

The shuttle bus that the hotel provides is very convenient for tourists as it stops at major sites as well as Kyoto station. The only slight improvement could be to use a larger bus as we often saw the bus becoming full within a few minutes.

The hotel's location is ideal for tourists as it is a 2 minute walk from the subway station and a 5-30 minute walk to various shrines and temples.

The hotel has a shop located on the lower ground floor. To our surprise the food/snack items for sale were cheaper than those in the city.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms at the front of the hotel have a good view across the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank griggstraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for taking time to write your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. Thank you for a lot of good comments. We continue to make space where guests could enjoy a relaxed and satisfying experience. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I chose this hotel for a family vacation primarily since it was on the periphery of Kyoto. We stayed 7 nights, and I wanted some place quiet and calm to return to after a days of sightseeing. Since we rented a car while in Kyoto, I can't speak to the hotel's shuttle service (which they have). I did note that the Keage metro station is less than 50 yards from the property. Parking for the rental car was fantastically convenient and only 1000 yen per day (about $10) with full in-and-out privileges. The property looks like it was probably amazing about 25 years ago - it's a bit dog-eared now. Not ratty, but replacing all the carpet throughout could definitely help its appearance. They have several on-site restaurants that were all insanely expensive (I have 12 year old twins and wasn't going to waste time and money trying to convince them to eat something new at those prices). There are excellent restaurants in walking distance down Sanjo Dori, especially turning right on Jingu-michi. There is a Lawsons and a 7-Eleven down that way as well where you can get good options for breakfast in your room (yogurt, juice, pastries). 7-Eleven ain't what you'd expect if you're coming from the States. In the US you can't go to a 7 Eleven, no matter what the neighborhood, without feeling like you might get shot. In Japan they're amazing. Great packaged foods (the staple of the Japanese diet) - from sushi to sandwiches. And SAKE! But most importantly, their ATMs are the ONLY ones that currently accept foreign debit cards. So knowing where your nearest 7-Elevens are is very important. To help with that, get "Japan 7-11 Locator" for free on iTunes - fantastically handy. Anyway, I digress. We were very happy with this hotel as it served our needs well - without forcing us to pay for what we didn't want (their food). It was comfortable and quiet and the kids were thrilled to have a pool to go to after walking around all day, following their parents through temple after temple in near 100 degree heat. (That said, its proximity to Nanzen-ji across the street was great - I highly recommend going through that temple complex).

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Sanjo Dori for a view of East Kyoto and the hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank v0ce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for taking time to write your positive feedback on your recent stay with us. We are pleased to read that you have chosen The Westin Miyako Kyoto for your conference. We appreciate your feedback in regards to our concierge as it will assist us in further improving our service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Great location, the room had a very nice view, the hotel shuttle to the train station and back was very convenient. Unfortunately the hotel restaurant left a lot to be desired (we are vegetarians), otherwise the stay was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KavitaSatwalekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for staying with us while you were in a beautiful city, Kyoto.
We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoy enjoy the splendors of nature view. And also there are many historical sites for exploration around hotel so that it is very enjoyable and relaxing to take a walk in a greenery area outside of hotel.
Regarding our restaurants,our all restaurants is able to arrange vegetarians dishes. However we
regret that our service did not meet your expectation in the restaurant.We continue to make space where guests could enjoy a relaxed and satisfying experience. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The rooms were very nice and the staff very helpful. The concierge was not extremely helpful in making reservations and in fact made it difficult at times. The bedding and cleanliness was great. It is too far from the Gion district to walk.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you want to walk to town
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheaston5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for taking time to write your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor.We trust you brought back home great memories to remember.
We value your feedback and appreciate and appreciate the thought you have put in. We regret that our service did not meet your expectation in our concierge. We sincerely apologize for the attitude of concierge staff. I told them your feedback. We will improve our service and make an effort to welcome guests more.We hope we could welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

You can call it a "grand dame", a "classic" whatever - but in the end, this is just a massive hotel in need of significant renovation.

Advantages:
- Location is really convenient for various temples, Gion, etc in Higashiyama
- Service was at times quite good - really friendly and the English skills you'd expect for this size of a large western hotel.
- Free shuttle bus is offered to Kyoto Station as well as other stops in the city on the way
- At least when I was there, substantially cheaper than most of the other big western-branded hotels in town
- Variety of room styles could be convenient for some; Japanese Tatami rooms (why wouldn't you stay in an actual ryokan?), family Western rooms

Disadvantages:
- Room really needed renovation. Banged-up/scratched walls; old-fashioned bathroom fixtures, etc.Old carpeting, flooring, etc - mostly cosmetic, but this was in a room that likely was more "renovated" than others.
- Apparently Al Gore stayed here during the Kyoto Protocol negotiations. Is that why there wasn't an individual thermostat in my room? (perhaps I missed it, but if so, certainly not easy to find)
- As an SPG Platinum member, I had club lounge access. While I didn't expect much at a big leisure-traveler place like this, the quality of breakfast lagged say a Super 8 in the US. Absolutely atrocious eggs, bakery items that trailed what you might get on an airplane in coach. Also a shortage of seats. Evening service was more competitive but still nothing to get super excited about.
- Location perhaps a bit less attractive other than temple-visiting; those wanting to be more in central Kyoto for restaurants etc might consider it a bit of a disadvantage.

If you're wedded to a large Western hotel experience at a lower cost than some of the other options, this will work. If you're looking for higher quality, check out the Hyatt or perhaps for a good bit more the Ritz. If you're looking for a local experience, lots of great ryokans built for Western travelers will probably be more memorable.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank travelworld1170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you very much for staying with us while you were in an ancient city, Kyoto.
We regret that we did not meet your expectation. Your feedback had been reported to general manager after checking out. We sincerely apologize that this stay could not make you comfortable and relax. We will improve our service more to provide our guests with delightful comfort for their stay. Thank you for your feedback again.
Hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I traveled to Japan with my 10 year old son and my parents. I had wanted to experience a traditional Japanese Room, but they wanted a Western Style Room. This hotel was able to accomodate both types of rooms, in a 4 star manner. My parents room was in a newer part of the hotel, with a balcony looking over the city of Kyoto. So beautiful. My room was traditional tatame style in a separate traditional area of the hotel, with a beautiful garden and such a peaceful feeling, nestled at the base of the mountain, with beautiful hiking and bird watching trails right outside our door.
We were very pleased with the service, and the hotel had many restaurants to choose from and a wonderful breakfast buffet. Much of the staff spoke english and helped us plan our sightseeing locations.
I would defenitely recommend this hotel, and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: They have rooms with wonderful views of Kyoto, with or without a balcony, and they also have Traditi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nimotae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for staying with us while you were in a beautiful city, Kyoto. We trust you brought back home great memories to remember.We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. Kasuien, is an outstanding example of traditional noble Japanese house, has 20 Japanese rooms. Its gardens and guest rooms give a true sense of refined harmony within nature. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Centre
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#26 of 407 in Kyoto
1,322 reviews
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#8 of 407 in Kyoto
2,529 reviews
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#15 of 407 in Kyoto
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#13 of 407 in Kyoto
3,174 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
City Centre
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Miyako Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Miyako Kyoto

Address: 1 Awadaguchi Kachocho, Higashiyama-ku | Sanjo Keage, Kyoto 605-0052, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#10 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#12 Spa Hotel in Kyoto
#18 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#25 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: £120 - £369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Miyako Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Western-style 11-story Hotel located amid Japanese gardens, 5 miles from train station & 31 miles from Kansai Int'l Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood, Agoda, TripOnline SA, JAPANiCAN, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Miyako Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Miyako Kyoto Hotel Kyoto
Westin Miyako Kyoto
Westin Kyoto
Kyoto Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing