We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just okay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Aranvert Hotel Kyoto
Ranked #64 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just okay”
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

Moved from the royal spa hotel to this one and regretted it somewhat.
Location not convenient , but subway very near. No wifi in the room which I think is a little dumb now that lots of guest carry tablets-result is that guest have to Internet in the charmless lobby of the hotel-Skype there for is a embarrassing unless you don't mind everyone hearing you talk.
The room we booked was ok,spacious and clean -apart from stained carpet.

The breakfast buffet at 1700 yen is a bit expensive.

The great thing about the place is the lovely onsen on the top floor.
Staff is helpful and speak English .

It's just an ok hotel-but for me price quality wise not the best choice.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chehegi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    253
    75
    21
    11
See reviews for
89
146
64
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We slept here for 3 nights. Basic twin bed room, but clean and with everything we needed. Small bathroom, but larger than the japanese standard. Wi-fi free available just in the hall at the ground floor and not available in the rooms. Very good position in Kyoto, walking distance from the centre and Gion Area and walking distance (20 minutes) from the station (or a subway stop - 210 yen).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dschubba13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I stayed here for a couple of nights for a short break in Kyoto. The hotel is well located near a subway station, and not far from the major train station. Not that many restaurants nearby but enough to get food, although there are local supermarkets nearby which were handy for water and snacks.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ewan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
129 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

To me, a good location means walking distance to the subway. This hotel is located about 400m from Gojo station, which is one stop from Kyoto station. Therefore, getting around to see the sites are pretty easy. There are also restaurants, cafes and convenience stores along the way to Gojo station. The price is a little steep in my opinion, but hey, trying to book a hotel 3 months before the cherry blossom period is pretty challenging. To get a cab to the hotel from Kyoto station doesn't cost much too. By the way, correct me if I'm wrong, if you try to tell the cab driver the hotel, it should be pronounced in this way - Hotel "Ah-ran-veru".

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

I stayed at the hotel during a 2 night tourist trip to Koyto. The hotel is very conveniently located - it is <5 min walk from the local train station & local bus station. The major transport hub (Kyoto station) is <20 min walk away. Of course, there are also good local train & local bus connections to Kyoto station.

Here are the good things about the hotel 1) Convenient location to transpot hub & local attractions 2) Professional & courteous staff 3) Spotless room 4) Japanses style bath on top floor (free access) 5) There are several convenience stores & grocery stores nearby. There is also a Macdonald store. All <2 mins walk from the hotel.

Here are some things that you need to be aware of, 1) Although the hotel building is sufficiently big, it is not well marked with signage. If you are arriving late at night then you need to look out carefully for the hotel 2) The staff is professional but most speak basic English. Do not expect to have an involved conversation 3) The room & bathroom size is small. Not convenient if you are planning to spend lot of time in the room 4) Breakfast is ordinary & I would advise skipping it.

All in all, I liked the hotel & will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aditya_Oli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
564 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

This hotel is in a good central location and is a 15min walk from JR Kyoto Station.

That in itself is great for a backpacker like me but don't get me wrong. This is NOT a backpacker type hotel and I felt positively under-dressed and out of place in a nice and charming hotel like this!.

The foyer is welcoming and reception staff were welcoming and full of Japanese charm.

Some previous reviewers have complained about the size of the rooms but this is normal in Japan for hotels of this calibre.
What mattered to me was that my room and bathroom were clean and functional. I actually spent very little time in the hotel because I was more interested in the sights of Kyoto. I am sure that there are much better "Luxury" hotels in Kyoto but what I wanted was a functional hotel.
In this I was not disappointed.

The breakfast was good and the restaurants and the bar were good. If desperate for western type food, there is a McDonalds around the corner! There is a Lawsons and a 7/11 nearby.

From the hotel it is a short taxi ride to the Geisha District and the must-see Kiyomizu Temple.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gyanfernando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

The three good things about the Aranvert hotel are the lobby (which is grand), the public bath and its location (very central). It is very overpriced; we felt it was poor value despite paying half-price on a Hotels.com deal. Our room was tiny and charmless, the bathroom merely adequate. There is noting to justify the exorbitant asking price; no-wonder they have to rely on deals to fill the hotel up.

Room Tip: Find a better hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hila5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Hearton Hotel Kyoto
Hearton Hotel Kyoto
#54 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
Southern Kyoto
Almont Hotel Kyoto
Almont Hotel Kyoto
#21 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#33 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Vessel Hotel Campana Kyotogojo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aranvert Hotel Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aranvert Hotel Kyoto

Property: Aranvert Hotel Kyoto
Address: 179 Higasikazariya-cho Gojodori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8107, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aranvert Hotel Kyoto 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Ebookers, Rakuten, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aranvert Hotel Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyoto Aranvert Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing