We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Machiya Residence Inn, one of a kind experience”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
SGS1
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Machiya Residence Inn, one of a kind experience”
Reviewed 23 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed at the Machiya Residence- Tokiwa. What a treat. Being lovers of Japanese architecture, we found the aesthetics of the traditional machiya unsurpassable. Our residence was well located , clean, very comfortable and quiet. The staff at check in was very helpful. We will definitely book through Machiya Residence Inn when we return. The experience is one of a kind.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2015
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that your stay with us at Tokiwa-an helped to make your trip to Kyoto a one of a kind experience! The architecture of the traditional Japanese machiya is quite beautiful, isn't it? It's uniqueness and aesthetics is what makes these architectures stand out from other architectural styles around the world -- we are glad to hear that it met your expectations!

We look forward to accommodating you in the future, and hope to make your next stay even more memorable!

From,
The staff members at Machiya Residence Inn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travellin...
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Lovely retreat and well located”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I am always nervous about making payment before I arrive at an accommodation and I can assure travellers that Machiya Residence does what it says it will. They provide instructions as to how to find their offices (but we did get lost...I don"t recommend the underground route of you have luggage - it involved impassable stairs) where you check in and can arrange to have your luggage transported tot h Machiya. Their communication is outstanding..

The Machiya is exactly as described on their website.. It is closer to transport that we imagined and we loved having our wee retreat to come back to after a busy day. We found travelling around Kyoto was easiest on buses, though in our time we used JR lines, the subway and the other train lines as well. The place was spotlessly clean and serviced during our stay and we would certainly return. We enjoyed the fact that this Machiya (unlike many others for rent) had couches to sit on. The bathroom is lovely and the bath a delight to soak in. There are many many eating options nearby or just across the river.

There are a few small matters that in might view stopped me for rating this 5 starts. We had paid, I think, top dollar, so I am being a touch more fussy than I would be on a cheaper property. I'm not sure what you could cook in the limited cooking facilities except for something very basic. We did boil eggs. The coffee maker is difficult to use and create hot coffee with. The WIFI was patchy and we gave up using it. I also think that in rainy season that it would be anise touch to supply some umbrellas as these were supplied at all the hotels, Ryokans and Inns that we started at during out three weeks in Japan. OH...and there wss a yappy dog living next door - but this is a town house and you have to accept some neighbourhood noise.

But overall none of these things are a deal breaker nor would they prevent us returning to this exact Machiya, nor from renting from his Company again. We LOVED Kyoto and definitely want to return and think this location is perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2015
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad to hear that you were able to relax and enjoy your stay with us in Azuki-an while in Kyoto. We apologize if our directions were unclear on how to get to our check-in office. Thank you also for your various advice on how we could improve our machiya. We will take everything into consideration when striving to improve our services for better quality in the future. We have a number of machiya ranging in locations through Kyoto, all providing different tastes of life here. Thank you again, and we hope you have a chance to try out some of our other machiya in the future!

From all the staff at Machiya Residence Inn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent P
Brussels, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“The perfect lodging in KYOTO”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Perfect location: close to downtown but in a quite area
Beautiful house, very clean (cleaning service every 3 days) and well furnished
Excellent service 24/7 (reachable by mobile phone): very helpful and friendly - 5 stars
We are very demanding regarding lodging and we were not disappointed. The price is reasonable considering the service and the house.
The perfect way to discover the amazing city of KYOTO.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House & service
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2015
Thank you for your kind review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us in Azuki-an. We attempt to provide a traditional taste of Kyoto that allows you to melt into daily life here, all while having modern conveniences for your comfort and relaxation. Our staff are all pleased to hear that we passed muster in regards to requirements for lodging, and only hope to keep improving our services in the future. Thank you again, and we hope you will consider us for your stay again if you ever come back to Kyoto!

From all the staff at Machiya Residence Inn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giulia C
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2016 for a stay in March 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Posizione e ambiente
Liked least: La scala... Ma non grave
Travelling group: Compagno/a
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2016
Dear Giulia,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with Machiya Residence Inn! We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at the "Anzu-an" machiya house, and that you were able to relax comfortably as if it were your own home! We apologize for the confusion regarding parking available at the house, as none of our machiya houses currently provide any parking-- we will be sure to correct this information on all of our sites. Again, we are so pleased that your stay with us made your time in Kyoto even more memorable.

We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you to our city again in the near future!

Kind Regards,
The Machiya Residence Inn Kyoto Staff
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing