We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Mr Whisky
United States

Serene location, family friendly.

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 May 2024via mobile
We only had a single night at this tranquil hotel in Kyoto. Incredibly family friendly with activities for our daughter and accommodating staff. Everyone knew our name and our needs were anticipated and met throughout the entire stay. Only wish we had more time!

Location is good for walking to many areas, but for the major temples/gardens you’ll likely need to grab a taxi (which takes mere moments to arrange).

The restaurant was delightful, and breakfast covered all possible options. Recommended.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£203
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £203
  • KLOOK
    £155
  • Hotels.com
    £228
0.7 miles from The Ritz-Carlton, Kyoto
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£51
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £49
  • Agoda.com
    £46
  • Expedia.com
    £54
0.5 miles from The Ritz-Carlton, Kyoto
Free Wifi
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Hotel Tou Nishinotoin Kyoto

£74
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £87
  • Priceline
    £65
  • Vio.com
    £69
1.7 miles from The Ritz-Carlton, Kyoto
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£141
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £161
  • KLOOK
    £85
  • Priceline
    £143
2.0 miles from The Ritz-Carlton, Kyoto
Free Wifi
Pool
£137
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £152
  • Skyscanner.com
    £81
  • Expedia.com
    £137
2.2 miles from The Ritz-Carlton, Kyoto
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£78
Fully refundable
  • Rakuten Travel
  • Agoda.com
    £56
  • Priceline
    £61
2.3 miles from The Ritz-Carlton, Kyoto
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£182
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £203
  • Agoda.com
    £97
  • Rakuten Travel
0.8 miles from The Ritz-Carlton, Kyoto
Restaurant
Room service
【蓮花の湯】瞑想の湯(男性)
£89
  • Priceline
    £86
  • Expedia.com
    £84
  • Rakuten Travel
1.8 miles from The Ritz-Carlton, Kyoto
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£74
  • Priceline
    £67
  • Agoda.com
    £60
  • japanican.com
    £81
2.2 miles from The Ritz-Carlton, Kyoto
Free Wifi
Free parking
新特別室RIKYU 庭
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Ryokan Yamazaki

£69
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £76
  • Vio.com
    £62
  • Rakuten Travel
4.3 miles from The Ritz-Carlton, Kyoto
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kyoto
Reviews (1,667)
Filter reviews
1,667 results
Traveller rating
1,360
188
58
26
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,360
188
58
26
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la locanda sushi chef beautiful hotel kamogawa river japanese restaurant lobby lounge tempura hotel experience concierge desk favorite hotel four seasons western breakfast nishiki market rc zen origami gion
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,667 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2024

Stayed here a couple weeks ago. Beautiful property in an ideal location with amazing staff who clearly take pride in their jobs. My luggage had been missing and, at that point, Haneda airport's baggage services were unresponsive for days. Well, Midori in Guest Services managed to track it down and get answers for me next day! Breakfast was very high quality; they nailed the flavours of both Japanese and American options, so you won't go wrong with whatever you pick. Don't hesitate to book here!

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thermodynamism
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 April 2024

So disappointed with our stay here. The hotel is really let down by poor service and lack of staff who can speak with English or Japanese.
We were checked in,after travelling for 24 hours, by Maya who did not bother to tell us if/when our room was ready. Upon asking at the front desk we were informed “housekeeping is in your room and it will be ready in 2 hours”. Once we got to our room it took another 45 minutes and 2 calls before we could get our luggage.
Travelling with a teen, we tried to order a milkshake from room service. Again, staff did not speak Japanese and only broken English. She asked “would you like warm or cold milkshake” before calling back and informing she would try and find out what a milkshake is. In the end someone showed up with a wineglass of ice-cream.
Breakfast was generally poor. Took over 10 minutes for 2 tiny pancakes for the teen and an undrinkable hot chocolate. Unless you like eggs, very limited options available and again language issues with many of the staff speaking only Chinese and limited broken English.
Did not use the concierge but the porter desk was useless. As they were unable to ever secure a taxi we just gave up and booked though Uber to save ourselves the hassle.
The property has aged well and rooms are decent, however, the hotel is totally let down by extremely poor service.
Check in 0/10
Breakfast 1/10
Porter 0/10
Room 8/10

For the price you pay here, I would suggest staying at The Mitsui, Four Seasons, Six Senses, or Park Hyatt, all of which are renowned for good service.

Room tip: Stay elsewhere if you would like good service, this Ritz is run by trainees.
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frohandjj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mio Osaki, Other at The Ritz-Carlton, Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2024

Dear frohandjj2,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us at The Ritz-Carlton, Kyoto. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience while staying with us. We regrettably learned that your experience of staff service was below our standard.

Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and we sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations. I have shared your feedback with all leadership team to ensure the necessary guidelines are in place and reviewed to prevent the similar feedback from occurring in the future. We do sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused you while you were with us.

Once again, thank you for your stay and valuable feedback.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2024

Lovely hotel with nice amenities. All was well until we tried to make dinner arrangements with the concierge at 9am for that night. The hotel recommended several restaurants and assured us they would serve seafood (I don’t eat meat).

Throughout the day, the concierge would contact us to let us know seafood was in fact not served at each restaurant and would offer other options (that would also end up not offering seafood).

Finally we get back to the room in the evening and no reservations anywhere, with two hungry little kids. We attempt to go eat in the hotel restaurant and were told it’s fully booked (if we’d known it would be our only option for dinner that night, we would’ve booked it in the morning). We wasted the entire day waiting on the concierge to come through and they left us hanging, only to be told the hotel couldn’t accommodate us for dinner - with two hungry kids and the clock ticking toward bedtime.

Not a good look for a family-oriented hotel.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank TheWeekender93
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mio Osaki, Other at The Ritz-Carlton, Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2024

Dear TheWeekender93,

Thank you for taking your time to share your valuable feedback to us.
We apologize for any inconvenience cause. Your valuable feedback has been shared to our concierge team and we will do our best to improve our service in the near future.
Once again, thank you very much for your stay and feedback.

Regards,
Mio Osaki
Quality Manager
The Ritz-Carlton, Kyoto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2024

Location is outstanding. We were in a room with a view of the river and the adjacent walking path. The concierge was helpful and the rooms were spacious and well appointed. While there was a great deal of closet space in the suite we stayed in, there was a curious lack of drawer space. One drawer in the close was largely taken up by a safe leaving very limited storage The side tables to the king bed had one small drawer each. While we stayed for several days and called a few days in advance we were not able to get spa or massage appointments at any workable times which was disappointing given the amount we paid for the room. If not for these flaws I would rate "excellent" so instead I am rating "very good"

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelGuy1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 April 2024

I don't tend to write reviews but felt compelled to after my last stay. I had a wonderful time with a five night stay at RC Kyoto with my fiancé on the 5th floor (city facing view) during the last week of March. While I didn't get an upgrade despite being a Titanium Elite, the amenities and service more than made up for it. I want to give a big shout out to Benya, on the guest recognition team. She went out of her way multiple times to make sure our stay was unbelievably smooth. Benya checked in on us, asked us about our day, and made us feel like we are part of the family. Regrettably, my fiancé and I didn't have time to say our goodbyes to Benya on the day we checked out. Benya is a gem. Her alone would've made me want to select RC Kyoto for my next stay.

I also want to thank Eriko from housekeeping. While we never got to meet her in person, they do a splendid job. Every detail was on the mark, every single day.

Also a big thank you to the Operations Manager who sent us Pierre Herme treats. Those came in handy when we just needed a little pick me up from our long days exploring Kyoto.

Room tip: As titanium elite, you can choose in-room dining instead of going to the restaurant for breakfast. Menus are similar enough.
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mokstarr7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews