We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere, great service, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Ranked #10 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago Illinois
Level Contributor
149 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, great service, great location”
Reviewed 23 March 2013

My wife and I have toured Kyoto about 10 times, most interesting city in the world. We have stayed at several Kyoto hotels but find this the best. I'm writing because some seem cool to the location of the Hyatt and like the Granvia's station location. Hyatt is within a short walk of Chishakuin (great paintings), Yogenin (more great paintings), Kyoto National Museum (old and stuffy, under construction, but fine exhibitions) and Sanjusangendo (great National Treasure sculpture), all places to top off a day of touring. the Hyatt entryway is beautiful particularly at night. I think this a superbly managed hotel with a welcoming atmosphere and great lobby design.

Room Tip: Lowest floor (one below the lobby) has great views of the garden, very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyotocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,313
    676
    180
    49
    22
See reviews for
566
1,015
153
154
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Taipei
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

The Hyatt chain for most part has always exceeded my expectations. If I have to pay a lot for a room, I am going into the hotel with a fine tooth comb and expecting the best in all categories. Alright, back to the hotel. Hyatt Kyoto is one of the newer hotels in Kyoto but architecturally, it was built to coexist with the old buildings around ancient Kyoto. So outside appearance, it looked quite dated However inside the room, it was modern and clean and well-designed. The good. Im a stickler in cleanliness but Hyatt+Japan hospitality=super clean. Bed was just right. The water system in the shower was very good. Hot and strong. Okay, the negatives. The room, however, was very very small. The windows in the room was very small, almost like prison windows. I can't comment on the restaurants since we did not use it. In summary, if I ever go back to Kyoto, I would definitely stay there. The price was expensive but compare to a Ryokan experience, a hotel is still more affordable.

Room Tip: There's really no view but I would say facing the inward Garden is slightly better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed there 2 nights with my husband and our 2 daughters (2 years old and 7 months). From the station it can be a bit difficult to find the (free) taxi, but no problem if you have been to Kyoto a few times.
Before our arrival the manager called us to confirm the baby bed we had requested was ready. It's the 1st time ever a manager does that, which we were pleased of.

Upon arrival ( beautiful hall), we were told we had to wait 10 mn- which I wasn't very impressed with because of the kids being tired- but the minutes went by pretty fast and the atmosphere made us relaxed almost instantaneously.

Bedroom: small with a baby bed but we moved it next to our bed and felt better. The design of the room is exquisite, and we liked the bathroom. Everything really modern,And they had put a diaper bin in the toilets- a must for parents with 2 kiddies still on diapers!

Breakfast was good, nothing fancy but enough choice for a well-balanced start before visiting.

Staff was very polite and helpful.
We had dinner in the trattoria and food was divine- plus they didn't mind our girls ( but we made an early booking,at 17:30)
Next day we bought 2 really nice cake from their pâtisserie-scrumptious...

This hotel was a nice week-end get-away: everything went smooth, but even though they didn't mind our children, it is definitely more geared towards couples and business. But if you don't mind a challenge-go with your kids!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fleurdecerisier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
263 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

It kind of far from kyoto eki(station). However, the bus around kyoto is very convenient (better than local subway). They have great rooms with great services. Those services are better than Hyatt in USA. They will even lead you to the room, introduce me the room, and have lots of good benefits. If you are on the honeymood, they would treat you a nice red wine like what I got treated this time =) Like this hotel, but this hotel is no cheap comparing to other hotels =)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ypwalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

The room was clean, roomy and comfortable. Everything was very modern and it becomes plain and lack of Japanese characters. The good thing is there is a bus station just in front of the hotel and can take you to any attractions in the city by bus. The hotel is very pricey for those who spend most of the day outside but also not much things to do inside hotel or the surrounding area.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wiwiwi2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013 via mobile

Wow! What an experience! The rooms were fantastic, clean, roomy, new and sunny. The staff were so helpful and the concierge new it all. At one point she went to the station to book tickets for us- something we definitely would not expect her to do!

The food and beverages were great- breakfast was brilliant and the Italian restaurant was so warm and inviting. The staff were attentive and the food spectacular!

The bar was something out of New York- there was a great selection of wine and cocktails.

Everything that we requested was a como dated and nothing was too much!

It is worth every penny- the subway is close an kyoto stationary 10 minute was or 700 yen taxi. There is a great temple next door well worth a visit!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BentleyRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanazawa, Japan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

i spent a night here last month and was very impressed by every aspect of this hotel. The room was roomy and perfectly appointed. I did have trouble connecting to the wifi, but they sent someone up immediately with an individual router and problem solved. As my room faced the ain road and it was a Saturday night, there were some traffic sounds, but by midnight, it was quiet enough not to interfere with my sleep. The complimentary breakfast (part of the room) was extensive and varied, and kept me full and energized for hours. I think what most impressed me, however, was that the hotel's manager made time to come to my table and greet me personally, ask after my stay, etc. Can't remember the last time that happened outside of a tiny B&B in the Scottish Highlands! I was able to walk many places from the hotel, and the front desk was very helpful with directions, suggestions, and so on. Overall, it was a flawless stay and I look forward to returning later this year.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room toward the back to further eliminate street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#15 of 366 in Kyoto
2,827 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 366 in Kyoto
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#20 of 366 in Kyoto
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kyoto

Property: Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Address: 644-2 Sanjusangendo-mawari, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0941 , Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#4 Spa Hotel in Kyoto
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
#10 Family Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Kyoto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Rakuten, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kyoto Hotel Kyoto
Kyoto Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing