We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Hotel in Kyoto”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Ranked #40 of 396 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I spent 3 days on business in this hotel, and I highly recommend it. Location is just perfect, staff is very friendly and helpful and I must stress the interior design of the hotel which is quite elaborate and unique. This is bit surprising because Japanese hotels in Montereys price range are very similar, small rooms, small bathroom and boring colours... Monterey is different and its design is strange mix that I would define in two words as gothic-modernism. The minus for this hotel is lack of free parking space.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SailorNGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,094)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

533 - 539 of 2,094 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2013

Monterrey Hotel in Kyoto shows a dignity that few other places in the West have. The service is impeccable and yes, there is personnel that can speak in English. The rooms are beautifully decorated and clean, but not necessarily new. The location is very central, with just a few blocks away from the Nishiki market and very close to a subway station. Good, affordable restaurants are just everywhere near the hotel. I doubt you can find a better bang for your buck in Kyoto.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caracas_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in June. Lobby is quite nice adorned with a chandelier. Location is convenient (right next to a subway) and a couple of streets over there is a nice street filled with an array of restaurants and shops, further down there is an arcade. We often went to a great grocery store called Gourmet City in the arcade which we bought sushi and snacks for those times when we wanted to eat in our room. The area felt quite safe and lively as well.

For those on the JR pass, the closest station is Nijo - we caught the train to Arashiyama and the Fushimi Inari shrine from here. It is a 25-30 minute walk if you don't mind the exercise!

The room itself was ok - some of the furnishings were a little worn such as the desk. The desk had coffee rings which made the room look run down. Bathroom was ok as well, although interesting choice of design and colour palette. However the room was comfortable. For the price we paid, it was a good deal as it had wifi as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tracey2586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Reasonable accomodation for business travels or tourism. The location is convenient and close to the food market (great experience not to miss) and the shopping area with lots of shops and restaurants. The rooms are very small but clean. The reception offers support for local trips and sightseeing. Inside the hotel you can also find a restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cicci50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I stayed three nights in this hotel. The hotel is very good! The service is very good. The room is very clean, but a little small. I love the washing room very much. All of the staff are polite and have good manners. I think next time when I come to Kyoto again, I will still choose Hotel Monterey Kyoto as my hotel. And next time we will take our baby with us. Hope Hotel Monterey Kyoto will supply our baby with good service too. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

This hotel has it all: location, great value and great service. The rooms are confortable and extremely clean. The staff is very helpful and goes the "extra mile" to help you. The concierge was amazing helping us plan our sightseeing by showing us where to go and how to get there by using public transportation. I will definitely return to this hotel on my next trip to Kyoto.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ottavio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

A great hotel option in the centre of Kyoto. Walking distance to public transport. All areas of the hotel were modern and pleasantly decorated. Our room was clean, quiet and had a comfy bed. The room was quite small (you could only walk round one side of the bed). Free wi-if in all rooms. The only downside was the spa/pool on the top floor was only available for an addition fee approx 3000 yen. However overall the hotel offers excellent quality and great value for money. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monkey198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo
Shimogyo-ku
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Southern Kyoto
Almont Hotel Kyoto
Almont Hotel Kyoto
#25 of 396 in Kyoto
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monterey Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterey Kyoto

Address: 604 Manjuyacho, Karasumadori 3-jo Kudaru, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8161, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center , Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#8 Spa Hotel in Kyoto
#8 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#18 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: £70 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Monterey Kyoto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel that combines the best of Kyoto's stylish culture and Britain's traditional heritage. The design is based on the arts and crafts of Scotland, particularly Edinburgh, its ancient capital. In fact Kyoto and Edinburgh are not only sister cities in name, but they also share many traits such as the lively street atmosphere and traditional culture. This hotel expresses the relationship between the two cities through its traditional architecture and warm atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Agoda, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Monterey Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing