We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excelent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Ranked #36 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Tienen, Belgium
Level Contributor
129 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“excelent hotel”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

excellent hotel with fine service on a top location in the city centre. Great vallue! Decoration was a bit dark for my taste but that's only a detail.Matrasses could be softer but that's a typicaly Japanese problem

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benquintens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,997 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    785
    941
    205
    43
    23
See reviews for
403
744
329
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

After roaming around all the main attractions in Japan, we headed to the last city in our itinerary 'Kyoto'. Took a train from Kyoto station towards.
This hotel is 3-5 mins walking from Karasuma Oike Station or Karasuma Station (almost equidistant). The hotel is very very good, european style hotel. Super clean and beautiful. They offer great service and the price charged is very economical. This hotel by far as the best we had during our Japan trip. VEry well located, walking distance from main stations and shopping areas and malls.
The biggest plus is the room size, the biggest and at least 70% larger than the previous hotels we stayed in (if not double) with WIFI in room (included)

This is by far the biggest hotel we stayed in and staff knew english very well and were very helpful.
We booked this in an offer, at $75/night it is certainly a steal and difficult to beat not only in Japan but in any other part of the world .....

Location: 5/5
Hotel 4/5
Room: 5/5
Food: 3.5/5
Value for Money: THIS IS IT !!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anubhav C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

In typical Hotel Monterey chain style, very clean, organized and "European" hotel in a great location, with great service and at a really economical price. The combination can't be beat. Close to subway and bus lines. In fact the subway is a minute or so away. It is walking distance from the Imperial Palace as well, and from Shinjo Dori, the main shopping street with connections to everywhere.

Was a triple room, with ample room for the 4 of us. Funky wallpapers and colour combinations in the bathroom.

The only down side is that if you are hungry at night, restaurants in the area close early, and the hotel doesn't have room service.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahs4y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

A well located hotel for most of the sites to visit. The staff were very helpful with tourist information and always had a smile for us. We would recommend this hotel very highly. I note on TripAdviser that some complain about the size of the rooms, but come on, you only sleep there!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StanglCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I got an excellent deal on this hotel through Expedia. I signed up for a very small room -- 20 m2 -- in order to keep the prices down. It was worth it. All of the amenities were there -- a deep bathtub, soft cotton pajamas, an air purifier, fine green tea for the morning. The staff was remarkable: sweet, helpful, and extremely professional. The hotel is spotless. I would absolutely stay here again; I was struck by my good fortune staying here at such a reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StregaElisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Monterey_Group, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Kyoto, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear StregaElisa,
Greetings from Hotel Monterey Kyoto.
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your voice with us.
We also would like to extend our gratitude for your kind compliments of our facilities, amenities and services.
It is uplifting for us to receive such compliments and it helps us further improve our service qualities.

For your information, on our own hotel website we offer the best rates along with various stay plans and detailed hotel information. Please visit the site at your convenience.

Thank you once again for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Sincere regards,
Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This hotel is close to close to Karasumoike subway. Look for subway exit number for the hotel, turn right, pass Kyoto art centre. Ask for map for suronding area. There is a big food and night market near the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jphoea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed in triple room, and Room was quite spacious for 3 of us. Room was clean and was serviced every day. Kettle was handy so we can have hot drink in the room. One minor feedback, there was no coffee provided, however this was complemented by Uji Japanese tea. Overall we were very happy with our stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mellymd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#16 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,882 reviews
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#33 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monterey Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterey Kyoto

Property: Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Address: 604 Manjuyacho, Karasumadori 3-jo Kudaru, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8161, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center , Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#12 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#18 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Monterey Kyoto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel that combines the best of Kyoto's stylish culture and Britain's traditional heritage. The design is based on the arts and crafts of Scotland, particularly Edinburgh, its ancient capital. In fact Kyoto and Edinburgh are not only sister cities in name, but they also share many traits such as the lively street atmosphere and traditional culture. This hotel expresses the relationship between the two cities through its traditional architecture and warm atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Rakuten, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monterey Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing