We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“in the heart of Kyoto”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Ranked #33 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“in the heart of Kyoto”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Did a little research before booking this hotel, it was close to the station which provided a hassle free travel. The room was clean and staff are friendly. They took the liberty of bringing my luggage to my room because I went out and explored the city. They were kind enough to give me directions as to where I can go for a meal because I did not take the hotel breakfast buffet. Overall experience was wonderful because of the way they welcomed you and bid you a safe travel to your next destination.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayeza Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    783
    932
    204
    43
    23
See reviews for
400
737
328
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City
Level Contributor
378 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

The location of this hotel is very good, it is walking distance to the subway station and walking distance to shopping areas and many restaurants. The room is clean, not very big. Breakfast is just OK, very small selection of western options.
Decoration in the common areas tries to look english.
Breakfast area is not cozy or inviting. It is a big hall and you have to wait to get a place.
Free wifi. Interior view from room.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viajeramx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

The staff were all professional in rendering their service. The rooms were clean and well -maintained though a little small if you have big luggages.

The water temperature while taking a shower goes hot and cold without warning. Their air conditioning is so hard to figure out so we don't know if it was functioning well or just has the wrong settings. The only English channel which is bbc is dubbed in Japanese!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redrose1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

This hotel has a great location being a short stroll to the subway and shops/restaurants nearby.

The rooms are large, clean and tidy, with staff polite and helpful (they spoke fluent English). Breakfast at the hotel is a nicely laid out buffet with a selection of Japanese and Western foods, though kids might find few things to their fancy.

The only real issue with the hotel is value, however that is a very subjective thing.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeDubs114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Very nice hotel with good location beside subway and nice bar. The superior room has a huge bed! Hotel is nice and quiet
Breakfast needs big improvement..We favoured starbucks across the road.
Kyoto is so beautiful..loved the visit.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

I lost my camera on the way to a visiting temple & got back to hotel double check as I thought if it's possible to leave it in the room. I sought the staff in lobby help where is nearest policy station for reporting the lost. She is really good to write down the case in Japanese as she believe the local police not really able to communicate in English & then she took initiative to call the temple & the bus office. Finally, I get back my camera in the bus company's office with her help to communicate the situation & provide details how to go to the office to collect it. Feel thankful to her help & high standard of service!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YLLuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I was visiting Kyoto for the first time and a guidance to select a hotel near Karasumaoike. And this was really good decision. Short distance to every place: subway, bus stop, major tourist places and the market streets.
Personnel (lot of them) was very helpful all the time and in case some of them didn't speak English they still managed to find out the solution for my problems. I had my breakfast at hotel and it was great. So wide selection of Japanese and western style food to choose. I liked a lot of that a little bit cool room as it gave me good sleep under the duvet.

Room Tip: I needed to have an adapter for my electronics but you can rent those for free from charge from rece...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnsKuukkeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#14 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,831 reviews
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#32 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monterey Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterey Kyoto

Property: Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Address: 604 Manjuyacho, Karasumadori 3-jo Kudaru, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8161, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center , Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#12 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#18 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Monterey Kyoto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel that combines the best of Kyoto's stylish culture and Britain's traditional heritage. The design is based on the arts and crafts of Scotland, particularly Edinburgh, its ancient capital. In fact Kyoto and Edinburgh are not only sister cities in name, but they also share many traits such as the lively street atmosphere and traditional culture. This hotel expresses the relationship between the two cities through its traditional architecture and warm atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Rakuten, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monterey Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing