We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, lovely hotel in Kyoto!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Ranked #39 of 407 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We just returned from staying at this hotel in Kyoto and found it to be a lovely place to stay. The rooms were of a good size, the king size bed was huge (we could have slept diagonally in the bed!) and the location right in central Kyoto near a subway stop. I used the hotsprings as well located in the top floor which had an amazing view of Kyoto to contemplate as I relaxed and unwound from a day of visiting temples and exploring Kyoto. The staff were very friendly as well, helping make reservations and advise on the best way to travel around Kyoto. Would definitely recommend this hotel to others as well!

Room Tip: Choose a high room to get a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Minesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

378 - 384 of 2,109 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

Excellent!!!
I visit Monterey 2nd times.Last I visit Monterey UMEDA in 2008.
I enjoy the excellent service quality at Monterey.
Not only the location is very convinenable for customers,but also the price is kindly for the passenger.
Just a little suggestion: If you can provide free coffee at lobby,It is wonderful.
However,wish to visit again next time!!!


  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank achii8086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

This very elegant hotel is closed to the shopping area so location is very good and also 10 minutes by taxi from Kyoto station. Hall, restaurant are very luxory. Rooms are nice: not amazing but comfy, quite huge for Japan standards and well equipped (hairdriers for women). Wi-fi available. Carpet on the floor, which I don't like, but clean room on the whole.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FashionWineDotMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I loved everything about this hotel. The location is great - close to many tourist attractions, restaurants and shopping areas, plus easy walking distance to subway and trains. The property itself is lovely. Upscale decor, spacious rooms, good service. We ordered champagne glasses to the room and they were delivered within 10 minutes. Staff were also happy to store our bags after we checked out.
Booking tip: I found that booking directly through the hotel's website was the best price. Check the direct price before using a booking engine such as Agoda - you may be surprised.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel lobby is small and simple. Rooms are small and a bit outdated. Staff are friendly. If you lose your room key, you have to pay 1000 yen. It is a short walk to the bus stop and subway. We bought a 500 yen bus card that is unlimited for a day. This can be purchased at the front desk.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank ellygan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

In general a good hotel. Rooms are a bit small for European standards. But I really have to complain about the staff. My girlfriend and I went to the Spa area. Actually the fact that there is a pool in the hotel was one of the main reasons why we booked the hotel. Unfortunately you have to pay extra every time you enter the Spa area.

We were also not aware that the Spa area is not mixed - means they have separate facilities for men and women. Anyway, after realizing this we left the Spa soon. The staff at the desk asked us why we leave and we explained them that we did not know that the spa is separated.

The staff laughed about what we were saying. I can imagine that it may be funny for them, but anyway I would have expected a more professional behaviour. We replied to them that it may be uncommon for them, but in Europe it is pretty standard that the facilities are shared, so there is no reason to laugh at us. After I said this they laughed again.

Afterwards we went back to our room. A few minutes later a man called on our phone and asked if we had a problem with the Spa. We explained him again. And he started to laugh and put us on hold. I hang up. A few minutes later a woman called us and asked us again if there were any problems with the Spa.

Anyway, of course you need to be aware that there are cultural differences between what you are used from home and Japan. But I have never ever expected such a rude behaviour by hotel staff before. So, quite unprofessional behaviour. And, bear in mind that this is an "english hotel" in Kyoto. So, I would have definitely expected more from an upscale hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Luxurious and comfortable hotel, with great amenities, restaurants and a nice spa... it even has a church inside!

Rooms are not too big, but OK for japanese standards, everything is really clean and the hotel staff is always friendly.

Great location! Walking distance from many touristic attractions, the center of the city and some amazingly authentic restaurants and bars!

It is worth paying the extra price and spending here two or three nights, after spending the entire day visiting temples and walking around you will feel much more comfortable here!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Cotermin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Centre
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo
Shimogyo-ku
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
City Centre
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Shimogyo-ku
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto Shijo Karasuma
Southern Kyoto
Almont Hotel Kyoto
Almont Hotel Kyoto
#25 of 407 in Kyoto
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monterey Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterey Kyoto

Address: 604 Manjuyacho, Karasumadori 3-jo Kudaru, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8161, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center , Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#8 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#8 Spa Hotel in Kyoto
#18 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: £60 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Monterey Kyoto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel that combines the best of Kyoto's stylish culture and Britain's traditional heritage. The design is based on the arts and crafts of Scotland, particularly Edinburgh, its ancient capital. In fact Kyoto and Edinburgh are not only sister cities in name, but they also share many traits such as the lively street atmosphere and traditional culture. This hotel expresses the relationship between the two cities through its traditional architecture and warm atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Rakuten, Agoda, TripOnline SA, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Fastbooking, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Monterey Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing