We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Ranked #38 of 376 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights to attend a conference at Kyoto International Convention centre. It was a very comfortable hotel and a very good location. Just 10-15 minute walk to the best nightlife neibourhoods of Kyoto and 5 min walk to the metro station. The staff are all very helpful and polite (like everywhere else we visited in Japan). To be honest it is difficult to find something negative about this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AK_pilot4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,066)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

360 - 366 of 2,066 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

This hotel is quite impressive on the inside! Rooms were smallish, but stylish and clean. What was a bit disappointing was that the coffee was not included, instead you had to pay for it on check out. The staff were are all very friendly and helpful, but most of the staff's English are extremely limited, which led to a few misunderstandings. They do have helpful charts with restaurants and bus routes to the attractions, which came in handy.

Breakfast is mostly Japanese, with a limited choice of western food.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Euterpe_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We just returned from staying at this hotel in Kyoto and found it to be a lovely place to stay. The rooms were of a good size, the king size bed was huge (we could have slept diagonally in the bed!) and the location right in central Kyoto near a subway stop. I used the hotsprings as well located in the top floor which had an amazing view of Kyoto to contemplate as I relaxed and unwound from a day of visiting temples and exploring Kyoto. The staff were very friendly as well, helping make reservations and advise on the best way to travel around Kyoto. Would definitely recommend this hotel to others as well!

Room Tip: Choose a high room to get a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Minesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Excellent!!!
I visit Monterey 2nd times.Last I visit Monterey UMEDA in 2008.
I enjoy the excellent service quality at Monterey.
Not only the location is very convinenable for customers,but also the price is kindly for the passenger.
Just a little suggestion: If you can provide free coffee at lobby,It is wonderful.
However,wish to visit again next time!!!


  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank achii8086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

This very elegant hotel is closed to the shopping area so location is very good and also 10 minutes by taxi from Kyoto station. Hall, restaurant are very luxory. Rooms are nice: not amazing but comfy, quite huge for Japan standards and well equipped (hairdriers for women). Wi-fi available. Carpet on the floor, which I don't like, but clean room on the whole.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FashionWineDotMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I loved everything about this hotel. The location is great - close to many tourist attractions, restaurants and shopping areas, plus easy walking distance to subway and trains. The property itself is lovely. Upscale decor, spacious rooms, good service. We ordered champagne glasses to the room and they were delivered within 10 minutes. Staff were also happy to store our bags after we checked out.
Booking tip: I found that booking directly through the hotel's website was the best price. Check the direct price before using a booking engine such as Agoda - you may be surprised.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel lobby is small and simple. Rooms are small and a bit outdated. Staff are friendly. If you lose your room key, you have to pay 1000 yen. It is a short walk to the bus stop and subway. We bought a 500 yen bus card that is unlimited for a day. This can be purchased at the front desk.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank ellygan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo
Shimogyo-ku
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
City Center
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Shimogyo-ku
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto Shijo Karasuma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monterey Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterey Kyoto

Address: 604 Manjuyacho, Karasumadori 3-jo Kudaru, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8161, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center , Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Kyoto
#8 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#12 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#18 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: £71 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Monterey Kyoto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel that combines the best of Kyoto's stylish culture and Britain's traditional heritage. The design is based on the arts and crafts of Scotland, particularly Edinburgh, its ancient capital. In fact Kyoto and Edinburgh are not only sister cities in name, but they also share many traits such as the lively street atmosphere and traditional culture. This hotel expresses the relationship between the two cities through its traditional architecture and warm atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monterey Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing