We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“APA Villa Japan deal killer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
APA Villa Hotel Kyoto Ekimae
Ranked #177 of 373 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Albany, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“APA Villa Japan deal killer”
Reviewed 12 November 2012

First off I loved Japan, the people and Kyoto. This hotel has one terrible issue - BLACK MOLD!! I have photos. The tiny (but tall) tub enclosure is just set in with no calck or molding so the walls get wet and are totally covered with black mold. The hotel location is great, the rooms are tiny - the AC doesn't work and the beds are rock hard. But onlt the black mold is to total deal killer. I would never stay again!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Exergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    87
    76
    23
    12
See reviews for
16
65
53
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Got a chance to spend 2 nights at this hotel.
The best thing for this hotel is the location, which is a walking distance (5 min) from Kyoto station. There are 2 convenient stores closed by.

However, the hotel is not that big. Also, the staffs have limited English skills. I haven't tried their breakfast, but it seems that the choices are not that interesting.

The room size is small, but acceptable in term of pricing and clean. The amenities are all good as well. I think I will go back again in the future.



There are 2 convenient stores closed by.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rt97a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

The room is very very tiny, we didn't have a nice sleep at all as the room was too tiny. I would not recommend to other travelers!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dear c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kyoto hotels

Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This hotel's lobby was incredibly... tiny! I couldn't bring along with my stuffs to the reception counter during arrival due to the lobby was fully occupied with luggage! With the presence of rude mainland Chinese, I got the feeling of going inside a refugee camp! With the help of partner, I hardly finished my check-in procedures and got my room.

However, the room was quite Tiny! After bringing our luggage inside, we didn't have enough space to walk! There were many dust on the carpet too!! I think the best part of this hotel was the location only since it's quite near Kyoto station.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rolandlwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ampang, Kuala Lumpur
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Nice and good place to stay, nearby to KYOTO train station by walking distance. Shopping leisure and don't forger to visit imperial palace at KYOTO.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azlan_7511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Don't think that a semi-double room is a double. Its not. The bed is like a wide single bed and not enough room for two normal size (not big) adults to get a decent nights sleep in.
The hotel location was great though and the staff were helpful so we were happy with the hotel in general, just wished we'd gotten a bigger room

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guest360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights on a 2-week trip between Tokyo and Kyoto. The location is very convenient, directly outside of Kyoto train/ subway station and a major bus hub. Inside the train station and Isetan department store right above the train station, there are all kinds of restaurants and shops. Great food on the 9th to 11th floor (take the big escalator there!) There is a big tourist information center inside the train station, too.

The hotel room is not clean enough for Japanese standard, though. dusty on the headboard and desk. They make you stick some papers on the slippers to wear them, i.e. not sanitized every day! Stained carpet and wallpaper not clean. These are really easy to improve but simply not done.

Amenities: Shiseido branded shampoo/ soap/ conditioner are provided. Internet connection is available in the room and the computer station in the lobby was okay. There was also a convenient store nearby and Seatle's Best Coffee in the lobby. Walking distance to Higashi Honganji Temple (one of the building there is under construction until 2011 now).

Of all 3 similar chain business hotels we stayed in, Washington Hotels, Toyoko Inns, and APA Villa hotels, I think APA is the worst one due to cleanliness, and I sincerely hope they can improve it.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleBackpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
APA Hotel Kyoto Ekimae
APA Hotel Kyoto Ekimae
#317 of 373 in Kyoto
109 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori
Southern Kyoto
Ibis Styles Kyoto Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Tower Hotel
Kyoto Tower Hotel
#67 of 373 in Kyoto
549 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto
Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto
#78 of 373 in Kyoto
512 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
#50 of 373 in Kyoto
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to APA Villa Hotel Kyoto Ekimae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about APA Villa Hotel Kyoto Ekimae

Property: APA Villa Hotel Kyoto Ekimae
Address: 533 Shiokoji-cho, Shichijo-sagaru, Higashinotoin-dori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8212, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku , Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 373 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — APA Villa Hotel Kyoto Ekimae 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Rakuten, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your APA Villa Hotel Kyoto Ekimae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apa Hotel Kyoto Station Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing