We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price and near railway station”
Review of Urban Hotel Kyoto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Urban Hotel Kyoto
Ranked #101 of 379 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Good price, good-enough comfort and friendly staff. This suburban hotel is close to station where access to Kyoto Station is convenient and quick. The in-house breakfast is also pretty good, and cheap enough.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfe-co2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

I was late booking and there was little choice in Kyoto itself and what was available was very expensive. This hotel is about 20 minutes on the JR line from Kyoto. Not a big deal as I had a JR rail pass. Trains run about every 10 minutes or so. They are crowded in rush hour. The hotel is steps away from the station. Not much in the way of dining in the area. Two convenience stores but no 7-11 for non-Japanese ATM cards. The room was quite basic but clean. Reasonable but slow Wi-Fi but the wired internet was fast with my Apple Airport Express. No English TV channels. Staff were helpful. There was a laundry room apparently but I did not see it. Given the same circumstances I would stay there again

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Phlogiston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed 7 nights. it was value for money hotel. Far away from the city center but not difficult to find the way to the Inari Station( 10 min walking). From there u get to the Kyoto station in about 5 min. Trains come very often. Dont forget to visit across the station the Inari Shrine.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Kwstios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

look i guess we got what we paid for.
this hotel is a 15-20 mins train ride (on top of the 10 min walk to station) from Kyoto's city centre, so if you want to be near the action, this hotel is not for you.
As you also might expect from it being a little far away, the staff are not at all trained in even the smallest amount of English - so if you need any assistance finding the temples or trains or food or anything, you wont find much help at the desk.
wi fi is non-existant, they charged us 200 yen (which is nothing) for a wi fi device that didnt work at all, and their computers cost 100 yen per 10 minutes, as long as you can type in japanese characters.
small room (but it was only $99 AUD) - hard bed with traditional japanese pillows.
would only recommend this place if you were on a budget, we only lasted a night.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

beware that the transport to the city is cumbersome: there's a bus very close but only runs once an hour. to make it more confusing, the bus has 2 directions from Kyoto central station - be extra careful to pick the right one.

there's a train station further away (10min walking) - not sure how often the train passes. it's particularily tricky to return at night. a taxi will cost about 2000 yen from the kyoto station.

the hotel is the typical japanese business hotel: tiny rooms, semi-double bed. a highlight is that the room window can be opened.

daily bus tickets for kyoto can be purchased from reception and are a good deal for 500 yen.

Room Tip: pick a high floor to avoid traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlorinDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We stayed 2 nights, after the overkill of tokyo this made it feel more japanese. Take the jr inari line from the vast and modern Kyoto station and walk into a more laid back Kyoto. The inari shrine entrance is just opposite the station and there are lots of little shops. We took the walk past the canal which had a row of cherry blossoms, the hotel was easy to find.
We did not get offered wifi and were only aware of the Internet computers at the desk that charge 100 yen per 10 minutes.
The breakfast was basic two big chunks of brioche ,egg and salad in the hotel coffee shop. We were travelling with friends who did not have that included when they bought their breakfast they got to eat it in the dinning room away from us which was a bit weird. But actually our breakfast simple as it was, was better.
Worth it, small room and slightly dated interior. I did find someone's t shirt under the bed so cleaning can't have been that thorough.
Overall I liked the slight quaint quality of it and the more suburban area it was based in.my on,y bugbear was the lack of wifi but this appears to have been a miscommunication at the desk as you can have wifi.
Would go again just to walk through the inari shrine early in the morning.

Room Tip: Tiny, quaint but quiet area and close to te inari shrine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrehorst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Typical small room in Japan. 10 min from Inari station. Close to Inari shrine which is very nice. Staff speaks some English. Very fast WIFI in the room. Newer hotel. Very bright and efficient. Restaurant on site.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clsned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Hearton Hotel Kyoto
Hearton Hotel Kyoto
#68 of 379 in Kyoto
737 reviews
City Center
Hotel Gimmond Kyoto
Hotel Gimmond Kyoto
#73 of 379 in Kyoto
594 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Sunroute Kyoto
Hotel Sunroute Kyoto
#66 of 379 in Kyoto
339 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto Shijo Karasuma
Southern Kyoto
Green Rich Hotel Kyoto Eki Minami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urban Hotel Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Hotel Kyoto

Address: 4-59 Fukakusa Nishiuracho, Fushimi-ku, Kyoto 612-0029, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Southern Kyoto , Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 379 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range: £40 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Urban Hotel Kyoto 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban Hotel Kyoto is located a 10-minute walk from Fushimi Inari Shrine and a 5-minute walk from Fukakusa Train Station of the Keihan Line. Completely renovated in June 2015, all guestrooms are non-smoking rooms and come with free WiFi access. Parking is also available. Guest rooms offer both air conditioning and heating facilities. Each room is equipped with a fridge, an electric kettle and a TV with satellite channels. The en suite bathroom comes with toiletries and a hairdryer. Bicycle rentals are available at the hotel for guests who wish to explore the surroundings. The hotel also has a souvenir shop and a launderette. For breakfast, a Japanese-style and Western buffet is served at restaurant Kyo Wasabi, while the cafe & lounge Lavender offers a toast set. Tofuku-ji Temple is 20-minutes away, while Nijo Castle is 30-minutes away. It will take 40-minutes to reach Kiyomizu-dera Temple, the Heian Shrine and the To-ji and Gingaku-ji temples. Fushimi Ward is a great choice for travelers interested in temples, sightseeing and food. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Urban Hotel Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing