We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean basic hotel”
Review of Urban Hotel Kyoto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Urban Hotel Kyoto
Ranked #95 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
246 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Clean basic hotel”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

This is a business type hotel so don't expect anything fancy. The room is small, enough space for a full size bed, a small desk, and a small bathroom. However, the bed was really comfortable, the room very clean, and the room has everything you needed (complimentary tea, tv, kettle, etc.). The location is good too, 10 minutes walking from the Inari JR station (two stations away from Kyoto station), so if you have the JR pass it is very convenient.

I'm giving it 4 stars because you can hear water running through pipes at night, but mostly, because of the terrible wifi they offer. It is slow, hard to connect to, and it keeps disconnecting. Very annoying, especially when everywhere in Japan you can find lighting fast internet!

Nevertheless, I would stay here again. Good price, location, and comfortable rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where there is good wifi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saimonara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
アーバンホテル京都, Front desk Maruyama at Urban Hotel Kyoto, responded to this review, 16 June 2015
Thank you for your staying with us.

We are glad to seeing your comments.
Our hotel is located near JR Inari staion.
Fushimi Inari is in front of JR Inari staion
Fushimi Inari is the best sightseeing spot that was chosen by foreign visitor.
Bus stop to Kyoto station is in front of the hotel, we sell 1 day pass.

We improved Wi-fi connection in this year.
Now, connection is very comfortable.

In addition, now the rooms are under renovation.
Rooms look clean , new desk, new right,

If you have any plan to visit to Kyoto, we are glad to see you again.
Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    147
    108
    14
    5
See reviews for
37
99
79
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

we booked a room through agoda, which we got quite a low price for 2 persons in 2 nights. we arrived to the hotel was around 8 pm straight from kansai airport, which we were extremely tired. the staff is good enough to provide us free drink and their friendly attitude. the hotel is just a few minutes from a station named Fukakusa and quite near to a very famous temple, Fushimi Inari Shrine which is used to be the location of Memoirs Of A Geisha. the convenience store just located opposite to the hotel. the nearby cafe is also located few meters from the hotel. the hotel staffs are nice and friendly, they provide 2 pc to surf the internet which cost 100 yen per 10 minutes. the wifi near to the lobby is also provided. the room is quite spacious and small but cozy. the hotel just need to improve their wifi. its connection is not really wide to our room which is floor 5. overall, Urban Hotel is a great hotel apart of their wifi connection.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank syafiqah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
アーバンホテル京都, Front desk Maruyama at Urban Hotel Kyoto, responded to this review, 16 June 2015
Thank you for your staying with us and give us comments.

This year , we had improved wi-fi connection, so guests will feel comfortable.
We have construction of guest rooms in this year.
Almost all rooms are renewed.
We want to you like this !

If your friend or family come to Kyoto, please tell them about our hotel !
We are looking forward to staying with you !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baguio, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Good value hotel. It is located in a quiet neighborhood, few minutes walk to the train station and Fushimi Inari Taisha Shrine. Convenience store located just in front of the hotel. The room is small but clean and staff were polite and can speak English very well.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Joy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
アーバンホテル京都, Front desk Takashima at Urban Hotel Kyoto, responded to this review, 24 June 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our hotel is located near Fushimi Inari Shrine. Lots of people are coming to see it.
And also there are convenience store and some restaurants and around our hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. I hope you have a chance to come visit us again. Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This hotel is a very standard Japanese budget hotel. Small room and bed, but the room was clean and comfortable and quiet. The location is out of the centre of Kyoto, it is about 2-3 stops on the train from Kyoto station, but is within walking distance of the beautiful Inari Shrine. The hotel itself is a 10-15 minute walk to the nearest station.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miss_mvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
アーバンホテル京都, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Urban Hotel Kyoto, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
Thank you for staying with us.
How was your trip?
We hope you had a great time in Kyoto.
From our hotel, it is eassy to go to Kinki area, for example Osaka, Nara and Kobe.
Also, Fusimi Inaritaisha is wonderful place!
Did you go to the top of the mountain? From the top, you can look down the city of Kyoto.
We are looking forward to seeing you again!
Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

For me, the only image I had of Kyoto before the Japan visit was the vermillion gates of Fushimi Inari & it was imperative I stay close to it. This was my rationale for going with this hotel.

Yes it is budget. Which in Japan means a small but impeccably clean room. No frills like a swimming pool or spa. It still has a free but basic breakfast served in the morning. The staff, like most of Japan spoke very little English, but they were really very helpful.

Tips:
- go for the breakfast. It is decent & filling
- the inari station on the JR line is a 10 min walk. It has good connectivity to Kyoto, so JR pass will be your friend
- no good restaurant in the area which has an english menu, so make sure you are full before returning to the hotel
- there is a nice canal that is enroute to the rail station from the hotel, make sure you walk around it
- this is a peaceful residential area with a school which is 2 mins walk. So good for observing the culture & normal life
- there is a big grocery store right after the railway crossing, good to grab snacks, water and cold sandwiches/breakfast. it closes at 9 pm
- there are local markets near the shrine across the station. wander around & you will not be disappointed
- and don't miss the fushimi inari shrine, it is beautiful and very colourful. not to mention soothing. There is a long walk uphill, so have good walking shoes

Kyoto is very different from Tokyo, and it is a good idea to stay away from the crowds that you will encounter in Tokyo and most of the tourist attractions.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank zaki_mulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
アーバンホテル京都, Front desk Maruyama at Urban Hotel Kyoto, responded to this review, 16 June 2015
Thank you for your staying with us.

Near our hotel, there is a beautiful shrine which name is Fushimi Inari Shrine!!
It is very mysterious and fabulous, it is loved by many foreign visitors,

Stuffs are not good at English, but we try to communicate with guests every day !
We have English map , English restaurant map, English brochures and many description in English!
You are always welcome to Urban Hotel Kyoto.

There are convenience store, supermarket, bento shop near here.
You can reach JR/ Keihan /Subway station on foot.
It is very easy to visit sightseeing spot in Kyoto.

If you have any plan to come Kyoto , we are waiting you in the future !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Apart from the Ok location (only ecause is near Inari Taisha), this hotel is not very well kept or clean.
The room was small (which I don't mind as in Japan most rooms are not very large) but it was also dirty. When we entered it smelled as if the room hadn't been opened for months..

Not recomended

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Italian468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
アーバンホテル京都, Front desk Takashima at Urban Hotel Kyoto, responded to this review, 14 June 2015
Thank you for taking your time to our hotel.

And thank you for reviewing our property. I am disappointed to hear that you encountered some issues during your stay as it is our priority to provide a clean I would like to apologize.

But now, all of rooms are renewed, its become comfortable and newly ! you will surely like it I think.


Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on our Urban hotel Kyoto !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kyoto hotels

Mullumbimby
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We found this hotel to be quiet, comfortable and the service good. There is a bus that leaves from outside the hotel; as well as the nearby train station. One of the highlights of this hotel is the local restaurants nearby which are good value and allow travellers to experience local food and life. There is a cafe with the sign Lawsons in the street behind the Hotel. It is awesome and the couple there have been brewing coffee there for 40 years. The coffee is brewed traditionally and was the best we had in Japan.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 742janew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
アーバンホテル京都, Front desk at Urban Hotel Kyoto, responded to this review, 8 June 2015
Thank you for staying with us.

We made restaurant map(Japanese, English, Chinese) near here.
There are a lot of kind food restaurant, for example Soba, Yakitori , Chinese, and so on.

I know the cafe you said.
The coffee is very nice smell and tasty.

If you will come Japan in the future , we are waiting your booking!
Thank you very much!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Urban Hotel Kyoto Nijo Premium
City Center
Hearton Hotel Kyoto
Hearton Hotel Kyoto
#55 of 369 in Kyoto
689 reviews
City Center
Hotel Gimmond Kyoto
Hotel Gimmond Kyoto
#69 of 369 in Kyoto
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Smile Hotel Kyoto Shijo
Smile Hotel Kyoto Shijo
#136 of 369 in Kyoto
303 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Hotel Anteroom Kyoto
Hotel Anteroom Kyoto
#13 of 369 in Kyoto
482 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urban Hotel Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Hotel Kyoto

Property: Urban Hotel Kyoto
Address: 4-59 Fukakusa Nishiura-cho, Fushimi-ku, Kyoto 612-0029, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Southern Kyoto , Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Urban Hotel Kyoto 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban Hotel Kyoto is located a 10-minute walk from Fushimi Inari Shrine and a 5-minute walk from Fukakusa Train Station of the Keihan Line. Completely renovated in June 2015, all guestrooms are non-smoking rooms and come with free WiFi access. Parking is also available. Guest rooms offer both air conditioning and heating facilities. Each room is equipped with a fridge, an electric kettle and a TV with satellite channels. The en suite bathroom comes with toiletries and a hairdryer. Bicycle rentals are available at the hotel for guests who wish to explore the surroundings. The hotel also has a souvenir shop and a launderette. For breakfast, a Japanese-style and Western buffet is served at restaurant Kyo Wasabi, while the cafe & lounge Lavender offers a toast set. Tofuku-ji Temple is 20-minutes away, while Nijo Castle is 30-minutes away. It will take 40-minutes to reach Kiyomizu-dera Temple, the Heian Shrine and the To-ji and Gingaku-ji temples. Fushimi Ward is a great choice for travelers interested in temples, sightseeing and food. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Urban Hotel Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing