We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxed vacation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sakura River Inn 1

Warning: professional photos taken with wide angle. Everything seems bigger.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Warning: professional photos taken with wide angle. Everything seems bigger.
Warning: professional photos taken with wide angle. Everything seems bigger. Warning: professional photos taken with wide angle. Everything seems bigger.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Warning: professional photos taken with wide angle. Everything seems bigger.
Warning: professional photos taken with wide angle. Everything seems bigger.
Warning: professional photos taken with wide angle. Everything seems bigger.
First room.
Warning: professional photos taken with wide angle. Everything seems bigger.
Warning: professional photos taken with wide angle. Everything seems bigger.
Warning: professional photos taken with wide angle. Everything seems bigger.
Warning: professional photos taken with wide angle. Everything seems bigger.
Warning: professional photos taken with wide angle. Everything seems bigger.
Warning: professional photos taken with wide angle. Everything seems bigger.
Warning: professional photos taken with wide angle. Everything seems bigger.
3D map of the apartment.
View from the room! Can you see the river under the balcony?!
Reading e mail from the balcony! Priceless!
Balcony under the Sakura!
Enjoy feed the ducks from the balcony!!
Takasegawa
You will arrive from there!
French restaurant 5 meters from the apartment
Entrance of the apartment!
Bedroom 2
New summer futons sheets from muji
Mirror in a toilet
Finally new gas stove!
Useful table under gas stove!
Water filter!
Japanese cups
New Kitchen stuff.
Corridor
Shower room.
Washing machine and soap
Marriage ceremony from balcony (with zoom)
Mayumi with our first guest. 21 march 2014
view from balcony
Just in case!!!
Don't miss to sign our guest book!
Bedroom 2
Living room.
Aroma Therapy.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mayz2000
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxed vacation”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The rental is perfect for a nice vacation, location is perfect for everything, shopping, restaurants, sight seeing, even for a walking around and relaxing. The facility itself is well prepared and clean, the owners were very nice and welcoming and helpful, they provide all necessary information about the area around, and gave us some useful tips we used it,.
I will definitely will rent again if I went back to Kyoto, and absolutely recommend it to friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The locaiton is perfect, and the River view
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmee M
Paris, France
1 review
“Quiet”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We have been travelling through Japan for two weeks, renting houses each time, and the Sakura RIver is our best memories : a nice nest, pretty, quiet, looking over a small river with ducks, a simple but cosy house, and Mayumi & Andrea charming , welcoming and warm people, helping us by showing the best the city had to offer. Those people have the japanese sense of welcoming combined with the italian warmness , which make them both exceptionnal guests !

Travelling group: En famille avec adolescent(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bryanmani...
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wanted to stay longer”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Everything about this place exceeded our expectations. The quiet setting in an amazing neighbourhood will let you wander aimlessly and always find something interesting. I should have planned better and stayed longer in Kyoto, as it's more along the lines of what we were looking for compared to Tokyo. The location couldn't be more perfect - the convenience store around the corner was handy our first night, the bus stop across the street brought us right to the train station, and Gion is great to explore for food.

The best part about this listing were the included bikes. Kyoto is so much fun to explore on bikes, and we managed to hit the Kennin-Ji, Toyokuni, Tofukuji, and Fushimi Inari temples while still having time to grab dinner and play pachinko before the night ended.

For those looking to visit shrines, I highly recommend going to Kennin-Ji early on in the day. It was a much more serene experience as there were barely any people there around 9am, compared to the insane amount of people at Fushimi Inari.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location was perfect
Liked least: That we couldn't stay longer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quiet, peaceful, clean, convenient”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Andrea & Mayumi are solid gold--exactly the kind of hosts you hope for. They both speak English, they're friendly, they met as at the location even though we were late for our appointment, they talked to our cab driver to give him directions, and they were helpful, kind, and available for the duration of our three-day stay.

We loved the apartment. The pictures they've posted here are very accurate representations of the place. The 2 bikes were super helpful for getting around the city, and we rented a third bike a few blocks away. We also enjoyed the small Japanese-style washing machine, which Mayumi patiently showed us how to use. Andrea and Mayumi were available by cell phone for our whole trip, and even gave us a pocket MiFi to use (not sure if this is part of the rental here, or just a personal favor they did for us).

The location is a on a tiny side street, so we initially had a hard time finding it since our cab driver didn't recognize the address. Make sure you print out a map or something to show the cab driver.

The neighborhood is picturesque. It's very quiet, near the river, very quiet, and the apartment itself is literally next to a quaint canal. There's a Korean-style bbq restaurant two doors down for some smoky, loud, local culture. We had a great time. Thank you Mayumi and Andrea!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, cleanliness, hosts
Liked least: Difficult to find (but that was our fault)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2014
Thank you Andrew!

Hope to see you again in a future!

Andrea & Mayumi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmsy777
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: La propreté des lieux, la disponibilité de Mayumi et Andrea, la tranquilité du quartier, la proximité avec les commerces et restaurants
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$280
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing