We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
“Great cozy apartment in quiet location near Gion”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property
First room.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
First room.
3D map of the apartment. View from the room! Can you see the river under the balcony?!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
19 reviews
First room.
3D map of the apartment.
View from the room! Can you see the river under the balcony?!
Reading e mail from the balcony! Priceless!
Balcony under the Sakura!
Enjoy feed the ducks from the balcony!!
Takasegawa
You will arrive from there!
French restaurant 5 meters from the apartment
Entrance of the apartment!
2 bikes free to use.
Bedroom 2
New summer futons sheets from muji
Mirror in a toilet
Finally new gas stove!
Useful table under gas stove!
Water filter!
Japanese cups
New Kitchen stuff.
Corridor
Shower room.
Washing machine and soap
Marriage ceremony from balcony (with zoom)
Mayumi with our first guest. 21 march 2014
view from balcony
Just in case!!!
Don't miss to sign our guest book!
Bedroom 2
Living room.
Aroma Therapy.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
henkjan_n...
Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great cozy apartment in quiet location near Gion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a really great time here. The apartment is exactly as described an well supplied with everything you may need. There is a portable WiFi device that works all over Kyoto. The apartment is clean and well located. It is not large but we slept here fine with the four of us. The soft sounds of the river next door reminded us of sleeping in a boat. There are plenty of nice restaurants and convenience stores nearby. Andrea was in Italy for family affairs, but Mayumi took all the time in the world to explain everything about Kyoto, the neighborhood and the apartment. Mayumi is extremely helpful and speaks very good English with a charing Italian touch. She arranged a stay in Myoshin-ji monastery for us and a rental car in Shodoshima, which was perfect. Mayumi provided us with bicycles for all of us, and cycling in Kyoto is easy and fun. Hope to be back one day!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location by the river and service by Mayumi
Liked least: Difficult....
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interested in this property?
Make Enquiry
Linn M
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing location, cozy little flat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Our stay with Andrea and Mayumi was great! They were so helpful answering any questions we had, and had even arranged for an extra bike for us. We used the bikes so much to get around.

The area was super central, with loads to see near by, and easy bus access to other parts of town (including the train station). The streets are narrow and cosy, with countless restaurants and bars. A great neighbourhood! Right next door is a Korean BBQ place Andrea and Mayumi recommended, and it was fab!

The flat was lovely, right on a little canal. The flat is small, but has every thing you need. It is clean and well kept. Thanks so much Andrea and Mayumi, we had a great time in your city!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The location and the hosts
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interested in this property?
Make Enquiry
Krigglez
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Apartment, Amazing Location, Amazing Hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Mayumi and Andrea are wonderful hosts, and our stay at their apartment was equally as wonderful! My three friends and I arrived at the apartment to find 4 bikes outside and a cute note on the door welcoming us. Mayumi and Andrea met us at the apartment, and they were both so sweet and helpful. They showed us around and explained everything so that there was no confusion abut anything, such as turning the lights on/off, using the washer, the shower, the wi-fi, etc. They had a bunch of maps of the city and circled different sites to see and also had bus maps for us, which were super helpful during our stay! The apartment was lovely and very comfortable for four of us. It was clean and had everything we needed. It was also plenty of space for the 4 of us. We loved the balcony on the little river and we all used the bikes everyday! Biking is my favorite way to enjoy a new city, and we were able to travel all over! The location is incredible - it's very central and there are so many things to see and do nearby, like the Nishiki market, a large river, amazing shops and restaurants. We were also able to easily travel to other sites, like Arashiyama (monkeys and bamboo forest) and some temples. And the bus ride from Kyoto Station was only 10 minutes! We couldn't be happier with our hosts and our stay. It was amazing in every way =) I hope to meet Andrea and Mayumi again in future travels!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The cleanliness, cute apartment, location, hosts
Liked least: Lights were difficult to turn on/off completely
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interested in this property?
Make Enquiry
Jenny F
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming Kyoto”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Great location, very clean, and great personal attention to detail by owners, who gave a personal tour of local neighborhood. Japanese style accommodation. Quiet street, yet very close to the center of the action.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interested in this property?
Make Enquiry
Ching L
1 review
“Cozy Feelings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I totally agree with all the previous reviews. This cozy apartment makes me felt like home. With the helpful information that Andrea gave us we were able to get around from food shopping to sight-seeing. There was a nearby river (I forgot the name of it) that I can take a morning walk and get some fresh air. Watching people fishing there and jogging was quite relaxing. I would definitely stay here rather than a hotel!

Thank you Andrea and Mayumi

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: location
Liked least: not enough cooking wares
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interested in this property?
Make Enquiry
Mayz2000
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relaxed vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The rental is perfect for a nice vacation, location is perfect for everything, shopping, restaurants, sight seeing, even for a walking around and relaxing. The facility itself is well prepared and clean, the owners were very nice and welcoming and helpful, they provide all necessary information about the area around, and gave us some useful tips we used it,.
I will definitely will rent again if I went back to Kyoto, and absolutely recommend it to friends.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The locaiton is perfect, and the River view
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interested in this property?
Make Enquiry
Edmee M
Paris, France
1 review
“Quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We have been travelling through Japan for two weeks, renting houses each time, and the Sakura RIver is our best memories : a nice nest, pretty, quiet, looking over a small river with ducks, a simple but cosy house, and Mayumi & Andrea charming , welcoming and warm people, helping us by showing the best the city had to offer. Those people have the japanese sense of welcoming combined with the italian warmness , which make them both exceptionnal guests !

Travelling group: En famille avec adolescent(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interested in this property?
Make Enquiry
Enter dates for more accurate prices
Book Now
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing