We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”
Review of Kikokuso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kikokuso
Ranked #77 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Sonoma, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love this place”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This charming ryokan was our introduction to Japan and set the stage for a wonderful visit. We stayed there three nights and have extended if we could. The Inn is well situated. We walked from the train station with luggage. It took about 15 minutes. Run by a family we were warmly greeted, carefully attended and never wanted for anything. The rooms were spotless and well appointed. I was very worried that the futon would be too hard but I managed just fine. Ironically the bed at the western style hotel we stayed at later was harder! The family bath was delightful. We chose Japanese breakfast and enjoyed the experience. One night we decided to have dinner. It was fabulous. I recommend this inn for anyone who wants to really experience Japan.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LWCSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    25
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
36
104
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Just enjoyed a very comfortable and clean stay at Kikokuso.

The warm and friendly elderly couple that runs the ryokan are excellent hosts, from the moment you check in, until they see you off. The rooms with the bathrooms were full, so we stayed in one without. We had a sink/mirror space to wash up before bed, and it was fine. (The shared bathroom was close by at the bottom of the stairs.

Our room was peaceful, comfortable and clean. The room had a small flatscreen TV which we did not use, and sitting area for tea. Futon's on the ground, and the quiet sound of the man-made Japanese garden/stream outside of the rooms was very relaxing.

The traditional breakfast in the morning was served downstairs. We ate on the floor in a comfortable room that we had to our selves.

The "hot spring" bath is part of the ryokan experience. They have a private bath room that was easy to book ahead of time. The bath was not as large as i expected, but there was more than enough room for the both of us. Very very clean.

The ryokan is within easy walking distance to the main Kyoto Train Station.

NOTE: "ryokans" are traditional Japanese Bed & Breakfasts.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SomeDood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My boyfriend and I came here last week on our trip to Kyoto, and Kikokuso was wonderful. The owners were extremely friendly and welcoming and made sure we were both comfortable and enjoyed our stay. Our room was very traditional and exactly what we were looking for when researching ryokans; we especially enjoyed the small balcony that overlooked the garden which we often found ourselves sitting at each night. Every morning we had breakfast, and the food (we had the Japanese breakfast) was delicious and very filling each time. The hot baths at night were a great way to relax and unwind after a long day of exploring Kyoto.

I would highly recommend this ryokan to anyone looking for a fantastic and friendly place to stay while visiting Kyoto!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KennyLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in February and this was by far one of the best experiences we ever had. The property was amazing and very clean, attention to detail was top. The entire staff was very friendly and went out of their way to assist you anyway they could. They even drove us to the train station on the day of our departure at 6am.

The food was another highlight. This is not your typical hotel or b&b meal. The meals are good enough to be served at a top restaurant. Overall, this was the best part of our trip to Kyoto and I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Spent 2 nights(daily of 5) in january. Fantastic attention by owners. Excellent food. Large traditional rooms w tatami mat beds. Vastly different experience to a hotel and would thoroughly recommend for a short stay(knees would not cope for long period sleeping/.resting/eating on the floor). Only downside is no credit card so for an expensive place a lot of cash is required

Room Tip: Choose the large room by th elfish pond which is right next door to the hot tub and the toilets as n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John19661966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

My wife and I visited Kyoto in October 2013. One of the places we stayed for one night was Kikokuso. We stayed in the large upstairs room with private bathroom. The most outstanding thing about Kikokuso wasn't its atmosphere (which was fantastic) or the food (which was delicious) but was the wonderful service provided by the family who run the establishment. From taking our bags when we arrived early and helping direct us to local attractions, to driving us themselves to our next hotel when we asked for a taxi to be called they made sure to provide outstanding hospitality and help you feel relaxed and treated specially. The location is convenient to Kyoto station although a bit out of the main district. However an easy bus trip takes you to many sites and attractions.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dy357lx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My wife and I, along with our 3 year old daughter, stayed at the Kikoku-So Inn, and it turned out to be the highlight of the trip. The service was over the top, and the food was absolutely outstanding. The Chef is deserving of a Michelin star. Foodies with families will love this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Motonago
#10 of 369 in Kyoto
350 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo
Shimogyo-ku
Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Honganji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Ryokufuso
Ryokufuso
#38 of 369 in Kyoto
224 reviews
City Center
Nishiyama Ryokan
Nishiyama Ryokan
#85 of 369 in Kyoto
342 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hokkaikan Ohanabo
Hokkaikan Ohanabo
#7 of 369 in Kyoto
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kikokuso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kikokuso

Property: Kikokuso
Address: Kawaramachi Shichijo Agaru Hitosujime Nishi Iru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8143, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten and Priceline so you can book your Kikokuso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kikokuso Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing