We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (463)
Filter reviews
463 results
Traveller rating
372
69
16
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
372
69
16
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate onsenbamboo forestkaiseki dinnermassage chairryokan experienceprivate hot springprivate open air bathtogetsu bridgetenryuji templebeautiful ryokantatami mat roomhozu rivertime slotbooked directlyamazing hospitalityrelaxing stayryokan staff
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 463 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2017

My stay in Arashiyama Benkei was most memorable. The hospitality is high commendable. I strongly recommend family of 4 and above to stay at the premium residences. It is new and comes with quality bedding, toiletries and a personal onsen. The landlord is detailed in very aspect. I was happy that they were able to customised my meal as I was a vegetarian. Overall a 5 star experience and must visit again.

Room Tip: The rooms are clean and comfortable. Comfortable bed and apparels. For fun, I dressed up in the Yukata, full geared all provided. Was a nice experience.
Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LanFong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benkei-staff, 広報担当マネージャー at Arashiyama BENKEI, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Dear LanFong,

Firstly, we are truly appreciate with you to select our annex
"Benkei Annex ARASHIYAMA Premium Residential Inn"
which was opened early April this year with the concept of New BENKEI style accommodation
"Like a living in the special place ARASHIYAMA with private hot springs"
It is a modern residential style accommodation, and fully equipped for a "living" as you have mentioned in your review.
We are really pleased to receive your review and knowing that you have enjoyed your stay. It is designed for the mid to long stay, and for group of guests like a family stay as you have mentioned as reccomendationa.
Thank you very much again, and we hope to seeing you and welcome you again here at Arashiyama Benkei and our annex.

Yours sincerely,
Arashiyama Benkei

"Which BENKEI style, would you prefer to stay??"
『TRADITION』
Experience of authentic "ryokan" service and hospitality
-Arashiyama Benkei-
OR
『MODERN』
Like a living in Arashiyama with luxury private "onsen".
New residential style accommodation with private onsen, make you feel like your luxury holiday home.
-Benkei Annex ARASHIYAMA Premium Residential Inn-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

This ryokan has one of the best locations in Arashiyama. It faces the river and has good views. Surrounding the ryokan is easy access to shops and restaurants.

The ryokan will welcome you with green tea and sweets and you will be delighted with morning coffee/tea too. Room wise, it was rather small (as compared to the other ryokans I have stayed with the same price) and my room had no shower facilities. Fortunately, we were offered 45 minutes private usage of the outdoor bath facilities. This was a nice and relaxing touch for my husband and I after a long day of walking. Food was fantastic! Loved the exquisite display and wide variety of food for breakfast and dinner. The yukatas were very comfortable too.

If there are suggestions for improvement, here it goes. In the website, it was indicated that car transport was available for transport to and fro the JR train station and ryokan (approximate 1.2km) On the day of arrival, we called the ryokan and to our disappointment, we could not get transport. It was a public holiday and there were huge crowds on the streets, which was acceptable. However, on the return date, we requested for transport and were turned down. We were too given the same reason. It was not a public holiday that day and the streets had much lesser people. I suggest that the website should indicate transport only available to ryokan’s discretion. By indicating in the website to offer transport, it would mislead guests and provide false hopes. 1.2km is not that short distance if you have luggage and there is no proper pavement on the streets.

I was reminded through email approximately three times (various sources) to provide a review here. This should probably be cut down as it would seem like the ryokan is providing services not out of sincerity but to score great on TripAdvisor.

Nevertheless it was an overall pleasant stay. thanks to all food and room attendants!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GwennSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benkei-staff, お客様担当マネージャー at Arashiyama BENKEI, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Dear GwennSingapore,

Firstly,
Thank you for choosing our ryokan for your recent trip in Kyoto.
We are very much pleased to know that you have enjoyed our ryokan, location, wide variety of Japanese course meals, Arashiyama hot-springs, traditional service and hospitality.
In retards to your downside, we really respect your point of view, and we have already request our web team to add the word for the conditions of pick up are depending on the driver's availability. And we apologies for made your inconvenience.

Thank you again for your kindness,
and all of our staff are looking forward to meet you again here at "Authentic Ryokan" Arashiyama Benkei.

Yours sincerely,
嵐山辨慶
Arashiyama Benkei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

The beautiful river view was excellent. The amenities in the ryokan was superb too. Kaiseki dinner was splendid and beautifully served (Please make sure you have an empty stomach before the kaiseki is served. It is a 10 course meal)

Room Tip: Love the room and the yukata prepared.
Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank carricklee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benkei-staff, 広報担当マネージャー at Arashiyama BENKEI, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Dear carricklee,

Firstly,
Thank you very much for choosing our ryokan for your recent trip in Kyoto.
And, we are truly pleased to receive such a kind review and your wonderful impressions about our ryokan.
It was our honor and pleased to serve you with an authentic Japanese ryokan experience with its hospitality.
Your kind recommendation is our source of being a "ryokan".
Wishing you all the best and hoping to welcome you again.

Yours sincerely,
Arashiyama Benkei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

Arashiyama Benkei indeed prepared an impressive ryokan experience to welcome the guests. From the moment of arrival, we were received outstanding service from the attentive service crew.They were so coureous and hospitable to take care all of our needs.

Hozugawa room - The room we stayed in a traditional setting with tatami floor mats and Hinoki wood. This come in a contrast of antique western furniture and modern equipment that set you with utmost comfort stay. The green wind that crosses the courtyard outside the window and the moment in the calm Japanese space give you the ease of mind instantly.

Having in-room onsen bath with a healing garden view let you fully relax and revitalize where you can enjoy soaking in the Arashiyama hot spring water all day long whenever you like during the autumn season. We also very much enjoyed the private outdoor onsen bath that gave you the traditional experience to soak in a big wooden tank that offer a different view.

Another highlight of the stay was the 11 course meal Kyoto style kaiseki dinner served - truly a delightful experience. The seasonal ingredients were used to prepare each dish offer you the freshness of taste. Never missed out the authentic Japanese breakfast that offer you with sumptuous serving too.

One night of stay here didn't seem enough and would love to return again in the near future. The price is definitely worth the value. Highly recommend!!

Room Tip: Choose the room come with in-room onsen bath for the accessibility and privacy
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank felifantacia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benkei-staff, 広報担当マネージャー at Arashiyama BENKEI, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Dear felifantaci,

First of all,
Thank you very much for choosing our ryokan "Arashiyama Benkei" for your journey in Kyoto.
And, it was our honor to serve you an unique cultural treat with traditional atmosphere.
By reading your review, we are truly pleased that you have fully enjoyed your stay which contents traditional room, Arashiyama onsen bath and the meals with seasonal taste.
As we are ryokan as well as serving traditional Japanese cuisine with full of ideas, providing "Benkei Style" course meals, your review is really a valuable thing for our source of service.
We thank you so much for sharing your moments during your stay at our ryokan, and we hope you to visit Japan, Kyoto and select our ryokan again for your special occasion.
Best wishes,
Arashiyama Benkei

*Please check our annex "ARASHIYAMA Premium Residential Inn" which is located at 50m back of our main building. It has 2 new residential style rooms with private onsen bath which are specially projected by Arashiyama Benkei.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

This is one of the more expensive ryokans in Arashiyama, just a short train ride from Kyoto Station. The ryokan is everything you would expect of a top-notch ryokan in terms of location, service, amenities, onsen facilities and dining. They have staff proficient in English, and agreeably let us keep our luggage with them before the official check-in time.
The public bath wash area was well-equipped with all kinds of toiletries, including those for after-shower care, and this was important because to my horror, I had found just before leaving on our trip, that the room we had booked (through the Ryokan Collection) had a toilet, but no shower! This was not evident when I settled for the room that they said could sleep 2-3 people which to my mind was what best met our need, since it was just the two of us. I was told by the staff on check in that the ryokan's 2 smallest rooms had no shower facilities, so please establish upon booking that your room has in-room shower if you are particular about that. It did mar our enjoyment of the stay, considering what we were paying.
Apart from that, touches like pyjamas in addition to yukatas, little gift bags, a personalised welcome note in the room, and willingness to accommodate our request to have our dinner in the dining room instead of in our room, helped to make up for that inconvenience.
Our room faced the river and all the activities going on over there, but at the expense of privacy, especially when you go during busy periods like we did. Interesting to check out their attached Premium Inn which would be attractive for families and longer stays, and come with private baths.

Room Tip: Check that your room has a shower. The rooms for 2 and 2-3 persons do not. "Bamboo" room is supposed to be good.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lilacfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benkei-staff, 広報担当マネージャー at Arashiyama BENKEI, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Dear lilacfields,

Thank you for your previous visit to Arashiyama Benkei.
We are delighted with your review and we'd very much like to appreciate that you have chosen our ryokan for your wonderful Japanese living experiences.
We are truly pleased to know that you have enjoyed staying our ryokan overall.
As you have mentioned in your review, we have 2 guest rooms which are the river view with toilet but not with bath or shower room. All of the reservation site should've been shown that room condition, but some of the reservation site might be shown differently according to their system, so your point of view is really valuable for us and for the world travelers who could consider of choosing our ryokan for the Japanese style living experiences.

One of the uniqueness of ryokan are the several types of guest rooms.
We have both traditional and modern (Benkei Annex) guest rooms suited for family.
Thank you for mentioning about our annex ( ARASHIYAMA Premium Residentian Inn ) We hope that you will select our ryokan or annex for staying different guest room.

All of our staff are looking forward to meet you again here at "Authentic Ryokan" Arashiyama Benkei.

Yours sincerely,
嵐山辨慶
Arashiyama Benkei

Benkei Tips;
Get the best out of "ryokan"
In a "ryokan", you can get more out of the basic necessities in life; food, shelter and clothing. An experience different from the common hotel.
A Ryokan is an accommodation facility original to the owners taste, influenced by Japanese culture, style and feel, and the service of this unique accommodation cannot be found anywhere else in the world except Japan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews