We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing, Beautiful Home and Location”
other travellers have booked this property
Yasaka Pagoda in Gion's Ninen Zaka area  (A minute walk from Kiyomizu Machiya Inn)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Yasaka Pagoda in Gion's Ninen Zaka area  (A minute walk from Kiyomizu Machiya Inn)
View from our Lane Entrance Wall Gallery (Left) in front of our Lane Entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Yasaka Pagoda in Gion's Ninen Zaka area  (A minute walk from Kiyomizu Machiya Inn)
View from our Lane Entrance
Wall Gallery (Left) in front of our Lane Entrance
Lane Entrance to Kiyomizu Machiya Inn
Front View of Kiyomizu Machiya Inn
Front Door
Entrance
Entrance
Fully Equipped Kitchen
Full Kitchen
Dining Area
Sitting Area
Full Bathroom with Washer/Dryer
Unit Bath and Shower
Toilet (Japanese Hi-Tech Toilet TOTO)
Hallway
Western Bedroom (Sleeps 2)
View of Yasaka Pagoda from Japanese Room
Winter View from Western Bedroom
Japanese Style Tatami Room (Sleeps 2:  We provide top quality futon beds.)
Japanese Bedroom (2F)
Patio beside Japanese Room (2F)
View from Japanese Room
Patio
Den (Sleeps 1:  We provide top quality futon bed.)
1F Floor Plan
2F Floor Plan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lins12081
Hailey, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing, Beautiful Home and Location”
Reviewed 29 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We very much enjoyed our time at KMI. It's close to so many wonderful Kyoto sights and just steps away from Yasaka Pagoda. It's also a 10 minute walk from Kiyomizudera. The house is warm and comfortable while maintaining the charm and character of the traditional machiya. I was hoping to get a taste of old Japan without knowing yet that we'd be staying in the area that takes you back to old Japan. If we are fortunate to ever return to Kyoto I would not want to stay anywhere else!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Beds harder than what we're used to. But very much adaquate
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaPhillip...
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Fabulous house and location”
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband, myself and 23 year old daughter spent 5 nights in this delightful Machiya by the Yasaka Pagoda. Cobbled alleyways surround it and a real traditional feel. It was a perfect place to stay. Extremely quiet at night, comfortable, well stocked and well managed. The management company were on call and made a couple of restaurant bookings for us and ordered taxis etc. The main Gion area was only a 7 minute walk away. Mornings and evening were quiet from the tourist crowds. Great coffee shop , '%Arabica' a stroll away. Highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and quiet
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse B
1 review
“Best Stay in Japan I've Ever Had”
Reviewed 18 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

I am a foreign researcher living in Japan, and I needed a place to stay in Kyoto with my parents (both over 65-years-old) when they came to visit me. I can positively say that we couldn’t have picked a better place to stay: Kiyomizu Machiya is the perfect location from which to base your Kyoto vacation. I’ve stayed in the city many times, and I’ve never had an experience like this. Highlights include:

- the machiya itself is gorgeous. While still very-much a traditional machiya building inside and out, it also has all the modern conveniences one would expect and beyond: full cooking facilities, excellent temperature control, great free WiFi internet, a big TV with tons of channels for when you need to relax from the day, washing machine, great sound insolation between rooms upstairs and downstairs, and an epic bathtub. Yet it still feels and looks like traditional Kyoto, because it is!

- My parents slept in the modern beds upstairs, while I slept on the traditional bedding in a beautiful tatami room, also upstairs. It was incredibly comfortable for all of us, and again, lots of sound insolation.

- I can speak and read Japan but my parents cannot, and they could still use everything, because there is a great guide in the machiya in English on how everything works. After a day out sightseeing, it was the perfect comfortable location to come back to: everyone can have their space, yet also relax/eat as a family. Perfect in the mornings as well.

- The location is unparalleled: down a side street full of machiyas, right next to the Yasaka Pagoda, down the cobbled street from Kiyomizu Temple. This is a legendary neighborhood that has filled novels, paintings, and stories about Kyoto for centuries. Surrounded by traditional shops, restaurants, tea rooms, and attractions, this is the real deal for people who want to experience traditional Kyoto. People in traditional dress walking the street, random street fairs and shrine rituals, and due to the proximity to Gion, actual geiko (geisha) and maiko going about their day!
I think it speaks volumes that in the mornings when we would head out to sightsee, everyone else would be coming up the road in our direction to see the area in which we were living! Every night we’d take a walkabout the local area, and would always end up staying out for hours because of something happening we didn’t expect: a shrine procession, geisha serving tea at Yasaka Shrine, a modern art exhibition on the street, you name it!
There is a supermarket and a number of convenience stores for any and all shopping needs, right next to the bus stops close to the machiya.

- The machiya is located in an excellent place for sightseeing all over Kyoto. Anyone who has spent a day in Kyoto knows that the subway system is small and not very convenient for many places, and that Kyoto station is actually quite far south in the city, rather than close to the center. The best way around is bus, and the machiya is less than five minutes’ walk from major bus lines. No reason to be intimidated: again, there’s English in all the buses, and all you need to do is pay the set fare when you get off (we just used our PASMO/SUICA cards from Tokyo, all of which work in all Kyoto metro).
It is the perfect place from which to start the day: we traveled all over Kyoto and beyond, and never once felt like we were in an inconvenient location. Quite the opposite!

- Setting up the reservation was excellent; Trevor and Akemi are wonderful, receptive, and very reachable. They answered all my questions immediately, and were understanding when my PayPal account was initially having issues. As staying at the machiya was a surprise for my parents, Trevor and Akemi even left us a gift! They were great to work with and the consummate hosts abroad. The management agency on-site, including check-in process, are great as well. We were checked-in in less than 5 minutes, and at the machiya 15 minutes later!

All in all, the Kiyomizu Machiya played host to the best vacation of my parents’ (and my) lives, and it really played a huge roll in that. I’ve spent years in Japan, but I have never resided at a place like this. It’s something quite special. For ANYONE who is really interested in the most authentic of Kyoto experiences – submerged in traditional culture – and the most comfortable of bases from which to operate, I recommend the Kiyomizu Machiya. Especially families, couples, and groups of adults.

Kyoto has innumerable great places to stay, but I can say with 100% accuracy that the next time I am lucky enough to visit, I will be returning to the Kiyomizu Machiya. It’s that special!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location and how comfortable the machiya is
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiwijpeg
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just the most fabulous Kyoto base camp”
Reviewed 25 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Machiya for six nights and can't imagine a better place. The house itself is everything you could dream of - Trevor and Akemi have truly put so much into restoring this building, equipping it to be totally up to date while retaining its traditional heritage and charm. We slept in the large Japanese style bedroom, our friend in the adjacent large European style twin bedroom. All beds were warm, generous and very comfortable. It was super to have yet another bedroom that we could use as a dressing room to keep cases and clutter hidden away! The Machiya is located down a short pedestrian lane just off the heart of the wonderful heritage streets leading to the Kiyomizu-dera temple. Right amongst the very best of Kyoto but still quiet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So much - but location has to be the winner by a whisker
Liked least: That we had to leave after only six nights
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gratefule...
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kyoto at its Finest”
Reviewed 16 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A truly historical convenient location next door to the famous Yasaka Pagoda, Ninenzaka street and road to Kiyomizudera. Everywhere we walked there were temples, Gion and the Geikos / Maikos, great neighborhood restaurants, local grocery convenience stores..shopping, sightseeing and Kyoto culture.

Walked to major shopping districts to: Nishiki market, Takashiyama and Daimaru department stores ( check out their basement food/basement courts).

Just down the hill are the local bus stops and the subway station is 1/2 mile. Taxis are everywhere near the Pagoda.

This is our second Machiya in Kyoto we rented. It is the best, well equipped kitchen, winner Panasonic laundry washer drying machine ...used a lot, great big Japanese soaking tub with instant gas Rinnai water heater...so so relaxing . The owners beautifully restored the structure, wood floor and updated the fixtures and appliances. There are little artistic touches of decoration and true expert Japanese carpentry.

A Big TV with English channels kept us company and the Wifi a godsend keeping in touch with internet....the property management provide an emergency cell phone.. which I used twice.

We will rent this Machiya again...the owners are awesome, kind, generous with their time and concerned that our 10 days would meet our expectations. Yes our expectations were surpassed! Just a glimpse of life as a Kyotoite.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and convenience of renting a whole house.
Liked least: Had to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eyalp133
Israel
1 review
“Excelent house , great location and great house”
Reviewed 13 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

House is located in great ocation in Kyoto , just near Yasaka pagoda.
the house is well maintain with every thing you need .
overall we had great experience and it is highly recomanded

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;