We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy house for friends and family”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Kyo Machiya Miyabi - Kiyomozu, exterior
Shofu-an entrance
'Tokonoma', alcove
Yasaka Pagoda
Kodaiji temple, Spring
Kiyomizu temple, Autumn
Ninen-zaka, Winter
A cat in the alley, imagine of Kyoto
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Emma E
2 reviews
“Cosy house for friends and family”
Reviewed 15 October 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We booked this house around 6 months before arriving and the hostes were so helpful with payment and giving directions on how to travel smooothly to the house. The house is perfect for a traveling company with 4-5 people and the house is located in a quiet area with about a 20 min walk to the nearest shopping street. We were a couple of friends who were traveling for 3 weeks so this place really helped us. We had a house with a washer for our clothes and living space where we could be together.
I recommend this place if you're visiting kyoto and want that traditional feeling and a great place to stay in.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise500
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Unrivalled excellence”
Reviewed 10 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

4 adult members of my family and myself stayed at Shofu-An for a week the beginning of May. What a delightful property! Close to Kiamizudera and a short walk to Gion and surrounds. The location was excellent. Everything was provided at the Machyia and we were very comfortable. We loved our "Japanese roof-top beer garden" as we called it; assembling each late afternoon to recall our adventures for the day and plan the evening. Due to a mix-up with our booking, we had to vacate in a hurry but we were located in another delightful property belonging to the group near Karasuma Oike station. All done with the excellent help of the property owners. Would definately consider this property again and highly recommend it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roobee62
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent location.”
Reviewed 8 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This was a very lovely and tidy place to stay. Mariko made us so welcome and extremely helpful (a special thank you for helping us out on our last day). Great location to all the best sights in Kyoto.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscoe_33
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Great spot”
Reviewed 11 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Great location in a quiet street. The building manager Mariko was fantastic and was so helpful. Our two teenage daughters loved the apartment as well. Nice to have some space after the confines of Tokyo.

Thoroughly recommended.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whatskatz
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
“Travel back in time without compromising on modern comfort”
Reviewed 29 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We had a real good time in Shofu-an. Being located very conveniently to do a lot of sightseeing by feet and really dive into old Kyoto at times where most of the tourists are already gone. It's also good place for coffee-lovers as a Nespresso machine with free capsules is provided and this hidden gem is very nearby: http://www.arabica.hk/#cafe-kyoto
Mariko recommended us a very oishii oil-soba place 1 mins by foot, where we went back frequently.
It's definitely a perfect location, if you want to experience a traditional stay in a townhouse without having to compromise on modern comfort (two real beds, very nice bathroom). We enjoyed especially to have a living room with nice inside garden and balcony to hang out and recover from sightseeing. All of that for a more than reasonable price.

I would choose this property again any time!!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
280claude...
Roanne, France
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
Google Translation

Travelling group: En famille élargie
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing