We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank goodness for tripadvisor ”

Tiger Gyoza Kaikan Shijo Karasuma
Ranked #106 of 15,905 Restaurants in Kyoto
Neighbourhood: City Center
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: City Center
Reviewed 21 June 2016 via mobile

Without tripadvisor we would never have walked down the tony backstreet off the main road to find this. So glad we did. The dumplings are amazing ! We ordered 4 different dumpling types to start. Each plate is 6 dumplings at c550Y per plate. The black dumplings filled with pork and beef and the boiled pork with spicy sauce were amazing as were the fried pork and greens. We were intending to order a main each as well but we had 3 more dumpling dishes and just one noodle dish, With four bets the total was 8000 and we were very happy at that

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank 239alisonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

161 - 165 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2016

Sat at the counter, watching our food being prepared. Loved all four types of gyoza we ordered - especially the coriander and the spicy version.

Good service, fun place, tasty food, good value - excellent.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sinecure
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 June 2016

Staff was super friendly and offered us an English menu when we sat down at the counter, but were still cool with us attempting to order in Japanese; we ordered four different types of gyoza (perfect for two hungry people) and loved all of them -- cook time was super fast. The Dan Dan Gyoza was the best!

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JessicaB1765
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 May 2016

The reviews are right on. We tried 10 different types of Gyoza, and although there were some differences of opinion about which ones were best, it was mostly individual taste that made the difference. They were all excellent. The staff was quite efficient and friendly, and language was not an issue.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GeneDoc57
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

Ended up here by accident after I was shut out for second night in a row from a place recommended by my hotel. Sat at downstairs counter, so can't say what upstairs dining area is like. Watched everything made at cooking station opposite counter. Gyoza were excellent and vegetables cooked perfectly and deliciously seasoned. Couple next to me ordered a large bunch of dishes and said they were great. Shared some of their gyoza with me. Reasonably priced.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank ALA150
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Tiger Gyoza Kaikan Shijo Karasuma also viewed

 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Tiger Gyoza Kaikan Shijo Karasuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.