We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kyoto Daiichi Hotel
Ranked #208 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Decent for a short stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Not a bad hotel for a short stay. The room was quite small but it's not like you visit a city to spend all day in the hotel! There is no wifi in the room, only in the lobby. The staff speak English and are very friendly.
The more convenient thing about this hotel is that there is a frequent shuttle bus (every 15 minutes) that runs to and from Kyoto station (3 minutes drive). I think the bus doesn't run between 10:30am and 1:30pm though, and at night, but the hotel will inform you when the bus runs.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChiC1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    45
    53
    7
    4
See reviews for
9
21
21
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay
Level Contributor
108 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Decent 7-level hotel located about half km directly south of Kyoto Station (10 minute walk). Friendly staff; English skills vary greatly depending on staff member. They will go to great lengths to help.

To get free in-room Wi-Fi, ask for it and they will give you a router to plug into the LAN cable that is in the room.

Minimal amenities (no coffee or food), but there are vending machines on the 2nd floor. They also provide free loaner umbrellas, which come in very handy.

Biggest drawback (other than the room being small) is the likelihood that your room will smell heavily of cigarette smoke. Fortunately, the windows open.

Direction from Kyoto station: Exit the south side of the train station. There is a hotel shuttle outside McDonalds (Hachijo West Side Exit), just wait outside McDonalds and watch for a small bus with the hotel name. You can also walk 10 minutes by crossing the road at the traffic light and walk strait through the small road till the next 4-lane road (Kujo dori), turn right; hotel is half a block west.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenBayJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
97 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Do you like living in small, enclosed spaces with no electricity or services? You may enjoy this hotel. I was trapped here for a conference until I bailed out and booked into the Westin with Starwood points. It was awful:
- Noisy - walls are paper-thin and if you're near the elevator you're screwed
- Temperature control appears to have been an oversight - you're stuck with ambient temperature
- Power - good luck if you need plugs to power your computer or reasonably effective internet access

Room Tip: Just avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alphabetsoup2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kyoto hotels

Los Banos, Philippines
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Stayed here for a 1-week business trip. I enjoyed walking from the hotel to the Kyoto train or bus station every morning... it's just about 5-10 minutes walk. But there's a free shuttle service to and from the hotel which is available every 15 minutes... and will take just take you about 3 minutes to get to the hotel/station. The room is clean and spacious... I like the modern style of the room. Also, this hotel is near convenient stores, supermarket and restaurants. During free time, I go to different places for sight-seeing.. especially the temples around Kyoto. You can ask the hotel receptionists for directions.. they are very friendly and reliable. I would definitely consider staying in this hotel again if given the chance.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DT_Wandering_Feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

I have stayed in a small double room for 4 nights from 12 Nov 2013 - simple, clean hotel without the luxury.

What I really like is that I only need to walk out the Kyoto station building exit and the hotel shuttle bus will send me right to the hotel in just 2 minutes! The frequency is very frequent- every 15 minutes- to and from hotel/Kyoto station (check with the hotel website on the time schedule) and always on time- which I am impress with their punctuality.

Direction - from Kyoto station, look for sign to get to the Hachijo West Side Exit and you will see 2 exit direction - left and right, take the escalator to the left side down to street level you will see McDonald ahead. Just wait outside McDonald and look out for a small bus with your hotel name and just hop aboard. You can also take a 8 - 10 minutes short walk to your hotel by exiting at the right side stairs, cross the road at the traffic light and walk strait through the small road till the next main road, you will see your hotel to your right.

Location: Hotel in Kyoto station area is a very convenient base as getting to/from KIX airport or Osaka and also Tokyo (Shinkansen) or Maibara (I went to Toyosato at Shiga prefacture) direction and also the subway to many sight seeing stops. It also houses shopping malls and many restaurants and eateries with not expensive yet quality food for your meal. I bought bread for my breakfast and bath salt at the stores near the Hachijo West exit.

The bus station just outside Kyoto station has bus to most of the must go sight in Kyoto. Remember to get your one day 500yen bus card. It is definitely worth the money.

- checking in is strictly after 3pm for most hotel in Japan but you can safe keep your luggage at the front desk

- room is smaller than what I expected after reading past reviews, especially for those who have larger luggage but can be manageable

- bed for me is good enough for four nights of comfortable sleep

- small bathroom with bathtub (similar size with other business hotel I stayed in Tokyo and Osaka, so no complain about this) and it is clean and I enjoyed my bath with bath salt as usual every night :)

- wireless and computer available only at lobby, so I used my own wireless router connected to the LAN cable in room, it works fine.

The only one thing I don't like is I stayed on the smoking level and the cigarette smell is strong though they provide air freshener in the room. Try to request for non-smoking room if you are non-smoker, though I think they have limited non-smoking room.

Overall, I am happy to stay in this hotel for its convenience and affordability, at the same time a comfortable and safe stay.

Room Tip: Bring your air freshener if you don't like cigarette smell and cannot get a non-smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frankie6731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
425 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

I was having problem trying to find a hotel room in kyoto during the weekend of November 16. Daiichi was one of the few that still had a semi-double room for that Saturday. Naturally I reserved the room.
This hotel is located on kujo which is with of the Kyoto station. My husband and I followed the hotel's direction to get on the hotel shuttle bus at the south side of the station. It was only a 5- minute drive and to the hotel.
With that said, the location of the hotel is not as convenient as the others which are located north of the station. Most of the sightseeing activities and restaurants are located to the north of the station. We had problem trying to flag down a taxi in front of the hotel so we returned to the Kyoto station and took a taxi from there.
The check-in process was smooth. I was offered the morning breakfast choices and I paid for them in advance. I was given my receipt immediately after I paid with my credit card. Very efficient.
I had reserved a semi-double room. It was very small;even smaller than the double room at Toyoko inn (a no-frills) business hotel chain in Japan. The bed could barely fit the both of us. We had 1 piece of 26- inch luggage each. I could not open mine flat while the 2 of us were in the room. The hotel needs some serious TLC as there was fallen paint in the room and the hallway. Even though I had asked for a non-smoking room I still felt like the smell of smoke had been trapped in the room since the room had not been updated for so long.
Despite all that, everything worked in the room.
Breakfast was served at the restaurant next door. I took the Japanese breakfast set which came with rice, miso soup, salmon, natto, tofu, tea and coffee.
Beggars cannot be choosers. Overall, Daiichi hotel had served it's purpose as a place to provide accommodation for the 2 of us over an extremely busy saturday in Kyoto. For one night the room was adequate. I would not recommend staying here if I could find a room north of the station.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank singinggigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Old hotel with limited facilities, though the coin laundry is nice. Very small rooms. No place to put anything other than a small bag. Bath is small. My room had been a smoking room, and it stunk! The hallway smelled of smoke and mildew. The shuttle to the station is handy, but does not run between 10 am and 2:30 pm.... Did not care for the hotel at all.

Room Tip: Avoid smoking rooms and smoking floor if you are not a smoker. Avoid at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JFrankling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Southern Kyoto
Green Rich Hotel Kyotoeki Minami
Southern Kyoto
Kyoto Plaza Hotel
Kyoto Plaza Hotel
#262 of 366 in Kyoto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
APA Villa Hotel Kyoto Ekimae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Tower Hotel Annex
Kyoto Tower Hotel Annex
#227 of 366 in Kyoto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Ibis Styles Kyoto Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyoto Daiichi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyoto Daiichi Hotel

Property: Kyoto Daiichi Hotel
Address: 45 Higashi-kujo Shimotonoda-cho, Minami-ku, Kyoto 601-8047, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Southern Kyoto , Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #208 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kyoto Daiichi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Agoda, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kyoto Daiichi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing