We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
£63
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Trevor R
Nottingham, United Kingdom

Unusual highly relaxing hotel 5 minutes walk from Kyoto Station.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Apr 2024
An unusual architectural style with open-air central relaxation area and bar/cafe. Added atmosphere with fire pits and a retractable cover for rain. All day access to coffee (grind your own choice of four bean types!) And beautiful Japanese/European breakfast.
Unconventionally, there is no toaster but the handmade little sandwiches more than compensate. 'Public' onsens (for hotel guests), sauna and highly effective massage chairs available all day.
All rooms have a balcony.
A free welcome drink every evening. Live solo artist music in the evenings.
It goes without saying that, like all Japanese hotels, the staff were very helpful and courteous.
All together a very relaxed and relaxing hotel only 5 minutes walk from the main railway station. Smashing.
Date of stay: April 2024
Room Tip: Don't miss the massage chairs and onsen in South building.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
£101
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.1 miles from Sakura Terrace The Gallery
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Deluxe Twin
Tripadvisor
£39
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 miles from Sakura Terrace The Gallery
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
£55
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
0.4 miles from Sakura Terrace The Gallery
Free Wifi
Free parking
【蓮花の湯】瞑想の湯(男性)
Tripadvisor
£94
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.5 miles from Sakura Terrace The Gallery
Free Wifi
Restaurant
新特別室RIKYU 庭
Tripadvisor
£57
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
4.9 miles from Sakura Terrace The Gallery
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    £139
  • Priceline
0.2 miles from Sakura Terrace The Gallery
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £228
  • Priceline
1.9 miles from Sakura Terrace The Gallery
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Rakuten Travel
    £70
  • Priceline
0.7 miles from Sakura Terrace The Gallery
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £152
  • Priceline
1.9 miles from Sakura Terrace The Gallery
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £195
  • Priceline
1.5 miles from Sakura Terrace The Gallery
Restaurant
Room service
View more hotels in Kyoto
Reviews (1,308)
Filter reviews
1,308 results
Traveller rating
758
420
68
28
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
758
420
68
28
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews welcome drink every night public bath kyoto station ibis hotel free coffee west exit hachijo exit lounge area each guest hotel guests balcony fireplace onsen sauna sakura english
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,308 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2024

I'm currently here. I just checked in yesterday so my list isn't comprehensive. However, first impressions are what I'd like to share and there's a few things I'd want others to know before booking. For reference, I booked on Agoda and the property had an Exceptional rating of 9, with over 10,000 reviews. I'm paying ~$200/night USD for a 5th floor room with a deck.

Pros:
- Great location. Just a few minutes walking to Kyoto Station, Aeon Mall, and a handful of shrines & temples
- Free cocktails every evening and nice lounges and fire pits to hang out
- Good breakfast options
- Free onsite laundry
- Free massage chairs in the lobby

Cons:
- There seems to be some kind of plumbing issue on property. There is a HORRID odor coming from guest room bathrooms. I'm experiencing it in my room and also overheard other guests complaining to management about the same issue. The front desk staff appeared disingenuous when the issue was brought to their attention, but there's linen/upholstery spray provided in the room, so a FUNK that permeates the air and surfaces has likely come up before.
- The bidet doesn't work unless your room card is inserted in the key activated electric box. Wondering if there's causation here with issue #1
- Really hard mattresses and pillows
- The free onsite laundry is in high demand and there are only two washing machines and four dryers. No reservations are possible, so expect a long wait to use this amenity.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 March 2024

We stayed 3 nights here. It is closed to the Kyoto Station so very convenient. The staff was friendly and the room has a small balcony and is clean.

The rooms have interior opening doors to a opened atrium instead of a hallway. The room is small with a small sitting area. A little dark for me.

They have happy hours and very good and reasonable priced restruant.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 412GoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 March 2024

Great hotel conveniently located right by Kyoto Station. Free coffee and tea are available throughout the day, and you also get a welcome drink at night. Hotel restaurant was decent, too. But what really made the place stand out was the public baths—it was such a joy to be able to go downstairs each day and relax in the bath and sauna before bed. Also appreciated the no kids—made it a quiet and peaceful spot.

Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kalila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 December 2023 via mobile

Booked total of 3 rooms in North wing for family of 6 adults.
Hotel accommodated our request to have all 3 rooms on same level.
We had nothing but the best from Sakura Terrace The Gallery
Location is a short 3mins walk away from Kyoto Station
It’s a breeze to get around to anywhere; be it by train, bus or on foot
There’s 7-11 a minute walk away for late night snacks
Free welcome drinks from 5 to 10pm
Free laundry
Free use for massage chairs
Free hot drinks 24/7
Wide selection of local and international food for breakfast from 7 to 10am with indoor and outdoor seating
During cold season best to pen down your room number and wait for restaurant staff to call your room when your table is ready
Otherwise you can sit around a campfire with fleece blankets provided
Friendly and helpful hotel staff especially front desk and restaurant
Special thank you to Akiko-San from front desk for helping with baggage transfer from Sakura Terrace The Gallery to our hotel in Osaka
Definitely will return when we are back in Kyoto

Room tip: For cold season to wait in the room once table is ready for breakfast Best to make a quick trip to restaurant and write down your room no.
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ImmaZack
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 November 2023 via mobile

Lousy hotel staff spoiled the entire stay.

Everything about the hotel was perfect including the close proximity to Kyoto station (5mins walk) and the amenities provided. Room wasn’t the biggest but adequate.

However one hotel staff decided to spoil the stay but not being helpful & played ignorance to resolve a situation that I was caught in , decided he does not want to offend any guest but me , so he did nothing not even apologetic for not able to handle the situation right .

I request minimum service from the hotel staff and this is what I got in the end , through out so many different hotels I stayed in. What make it worse, it happened in Japan, famous for top notch service.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank XinYi0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews