We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing!”
Exterior view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior view
Living room, with interior garden Living room with sofa, table, and floor cushions
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Exterior view
Living room, with interior garden
Living room with sofa, table, and floor cushions
An antique hibachi from early Showa period, which we turned into a coffee table
Living room tokonoma (alcove) - a special architectural feature
Fully outfitted kitchen, with dining table
Kitchen table
Bedroom #1, double futon on tatami mats.
Bedroom #1 tokonoma - special architectural feature
Antique globe light (one of many antique light fixtures)
Sudare (bamboo blinds)
Bedroom #2, with double bed
The view of Kenninji, taken from the upstairs window!
Entrance to bathroom (shower with full bath tub)
High capacity washer/dryer
High-tech toilet
Our quiet street, which has no through traffic. Amber House Gion is on the right
Kenninji, the Zen temple immediately neighboring us
Miyagawa-cho, another geisha district 10 minutes walk away.
Near Kiyomizu Temple, 15 minutes walk away.
Maruyama Park, 15 minutes walk away.
The heart of downtown, 15 minutes walk away.
Hanamikoji Street, 5 minutes walk away. The heart of Gion.
Kiyomizu Temple, 20 minutes walk away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Nadeeya L
1 review
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This stay was amazing! The house is beautiful, super clean, perfect interior! It was the best experience in a ryokan i could think of. I would go there anytime soon!
We got a lot of help from the hosts, great tips about where to eat and just felt at home there! I would recommend it to all of my friends! Loved my stay there!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
draws1
Santa Barbara, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amber House made our stay in Kyoto one of the best vacations I can remember”
Reviewed 10 January 2017 for a stay in October 2016

Without a doubt, Amber House is Kyoto's best location for easy walking, or transiting to all the special places, districts, historic shrines and parks this magnificent city has to offer. Our two week stay was a delight - the house is quiet, cozy, and well outfitted, the staff couldn't be more helpful, it is really beyond belief.
I read all the reviews, and they are accurate, and say it all - I would recommend Amber House without a doubt - we plan to return. Rich U

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl A
1 review
“Possibly the best place to experience Kyoto”
Reviewed 11 December 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I have stayed in 2 of Curtis's place in Gion (Both at the Amber house and the Gion house, on 2 separate occasions) and i would really love to recommend both places to stay.

The location is really convenient within walking distance from major tourist attractions and yet without the usual ruckus that tourists bring. The accommodation is in a quiet part of the neighbourhood with friendly neighbours around and a handy grocery shop round the corner.

Kyoto is known for its temples and shrines, and having Kenninji just next door would really add to the experience. Imagine waking up the calm morning chants from the temple - there's no better way to start your mornings than that.

The houses are very well equipped with everything thing you will possibly need and very clean and well kept too! Lovely and spacious too!

The friendly people working with Curtis are very helpful and kind too. If you would need any help during your stay, they would be the go to person! I had the privilege of meeting Curtis himself on the morning before my departure which was a very nice touch.

I look forward to coming back to stay the next time i'm in Kyoto :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the furnishing of the house
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a small family”
Reviewed 21 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We stayed in this condo for a week in November of 2016. Everything was as advertised: two spacious bedrooms on the second floor, living room and kitchen on the second, plenty of closet space, very clean. Location is perfect: in the center of touristy Gion but in a quite alley so you get the best of the both worlds. A lot of attractions in the walking distance. I would definitely recommend it

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaiVal
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Each time we stepped inside this beautiful house, it was like stepping into another era.”
Reviewed 21 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

From the tatami mats, to the sliding doors, we loved every part of this house! It had been beautifully restored, and I loved walking on the tatami mats, so smooth and warm, with modern conveniences like heaters and air conditioners hidden cleverly behind timber facades, so as not to spoil the traditional feel. My family of 4, with two boys aged 8 and 9, stayed for 8 nights at Amber House. We arrived quite late on a Saturday night, but the directions we were given were excellent, so we located the key and entered the house smoothly. Saki, or Junko, from Guest Services, had left a little origami crane and a halloween pumpkin on the coffee table to greet us, much to the delight of my 9 year old son. We set off the very next day to buy origami paper, and he was folding Samurai hats that evening! Both my sons loved this house, I thought they would be too young to appreciate the many beautiful and traditional features, but they surprised me! They loved all the little areas, cupboards, nooks and crannies, tatami mats are perfect for children to play on. Having no television turned out to be wonderful for them, they explored and used their imagination instead. A lovely touch was that an iphone was provided for guests to use, and our boys used it to google origami tutorials, and check the weather, and we used it to text Junko or Saki, if we had questions. They would always reply within minutes, and the office is just one street away, so we felt very well taken care of, they were both lovely. Outside the door is the heart of Gion, with beautiful architecture and gardens everywhere you turn. The only downside of living in such a beautiful house, is that each time we would step out, our boys would pester us to return to the house so they could 'relax'! Thank you Curtis, Junko and Saki, we will always treasure our memories of Amber house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The traditional details.
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ezagoruik...
New York City, New York
1 review
“Perfect house perfect location”
Reviewed 11 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

My family and I stayed at the Amber Gion house for seven nights. Great location with fabulous atmosphere of old Japan. Junko, the local manager, is wonderfully helpful. She gave us local monthly journal with all current tourist information in it. It was very helpful. We would happily return. The i-phone was a very helpful addition and wi-fi worked. Couldn't want for much more in terms of a comfortable & relaxing place to stay. So pleased to have stayed at Amber House over a boutique Kyoto hotel - a much better option for getting an experience of Japanese life. A little gem. Zen temple behind Amber House added to the atmosphere & was a beautiful temple to visit. Being in a cul-de-sac made it very quiet at night. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne V
Brussels, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Just fantastic, don't hesitate a second!”
Reviewed 24 October 2016 for a stay in July 2016

After 3 months, we still look back at this stay with nostalgy.

The house was great: dead end street at the back of a great temple garden, busses nearby, just the right place to mix temple visits, enjoying book reading on the steps of the door, self cooking, and the town night life!
Perfect equipment in a MAGIC old house, wash machine, airco, bath and shower - 100% authenticity mixed with modernity.
And we had the chance to meet the owner, on top of it!

We dream of going back ....

Anne, Jan and Zeno (14 years old)

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing