We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Etrip
StayForLong
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
13
9
5
2
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
13
9
5
2
7
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

We had a great time here. The location was perfect, just a five minute walk from the prime Geisha spotting location in a quiet, pretty neighbourhood. The hosts were always smiling, friendly and helpful. We had a Japanese style room with a private bathroom. It was very clean with all basic resources provided. Perfect for a 2 night stop over in Gion! The walls were thin but luckily all the other occupants were quiet and respectful so we had no issues. You will probably need Google maps to find this place, but it's worth the effort!

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Rebecca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in this guest house. Amazing location and wonderful host. I would highly recommend it, everybody was warm and helpful.
The place is clean and it's beautiful. We were greatly surprised and we would definitely stay there again if we go back to Kyoto.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Navigator542847
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 July 2016

I really enjoyed my stay at this cute little guesthouse. It is in a great location and very cosy. It can get a bit squishy when there are a lot of people in there. It is a little bit annoying that the guesthouse closes from 11am to 4pm if you want to just chill after a big day of sight seeing ( or big night of drinking).

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dani S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 June 2016

We came in early and can only check in at 3pm. Hence we left the luggage at the front desk and was told to check in later. I already sent my details online. the location is hard to find. When we came back from sight seeing we got lost and could not find this guest house and ended up coming in around 10 ish which the host complained and later fine us 1000YEN saying it is the rules that we have to pay extra if we were to check in late and told us this rules have been informed ONLINE and through the booking which we felt appalled and disgusted and felt being fully taken advantage.

We arranged for the delivery of the SIM card to this guesthouse. However after contacting the vendor, they informed the guest house has already received it. When we inquired they informed he did not receive it. So to cut the long story Short, do not stay here.. as the host is DISHONEST and TAKE advantage of people.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pony8898
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 May 2016 via mobile

We had a great experience here last week when we stayed for five nights. As a couple we wanted a little bit more privacy and opted for a private room. This is a traditional old Japanese house with authentic paper walls, so, although we had no window, the light came streaking in as the sun came up. If the other guests are noisy then you will hear absolutely everything, but the hostel does have rules to try to keep things quiet.

Although the ceiling was very low in our room the futon was amazingly comfortable - we've never slept so well. There are a few communal showers downstairs and since we were always up at six to sightsee before the crowds bore down on Kyoto, we didn't have to queue once, and the bathrooms were all fantastically clean.

There's free wifi and a small kitchen if you need it. Just know that you can't stay in the hostel between 11am to 4pm, but gorgeous Gion is on your doorstep and its winding streets and hidden cafes are the perfect antidote to the exhausting rigours of sightseeing.

The staff were wonderfully friendly and helpful, the main guy doesn't speak much English, but it's a damn sight better than my Japanese and he did everything he could to help us find great restaurants and good onsen.

One minor quibble, it is rather hard to find - our taxi driver didn't know where it was and pretty much abandoned us elsewhere in Gion. If it hadn't been for the unfailingly generous and helpful locals (who used their smartphones to find it and walked us to the door!) we might still be searching now. Probably serves us right for being technophobes and not having a smartphone ourselves.

As hostel experienced go, we thought this was great!

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jong2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews